We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy but Comfortable”
Review of Hotel Mondschein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mondschein
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

While my single room was very small, it was cozy. I had a nice bay window in my room that made the room seem larger than it was.

The room was clean. The breakfast buffet was good. The Altstadt was within walking distance. I also enjoyed being right next to the scenic Inn River.

The (slight) negatives with the hotel include the cramped parking garage and the fact that my room's window wouldn't fully latch shut.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingBadger00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear guest, we thank you very much for writing a review - it is very important for us that guests let us know what is working fine and what should be improved. Regarding our parking garage: we know that spaces are small, but we do have a person who helps people to park their cars. The window latch you described has already been fixed. We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 737 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

Once we got over the minor parking issues we had a most enjoyable stay at this small, intimate hotel. Situated a few yards from the Old Town explains the parking limitations. Anyone who expects a large multi-story car park in an old European city is delusional. Breakfast more than adequate. Worth the money, would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lafineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear guests, thank you for taking your time and writing a review on our hotel! You are perfectly right - parking is really a difficult thing in our medioeval cities, but our hotel fortuantely has a private parking garage with 24 parking spaces closeby, which is really a big advantage!
We are glad that you liked your stay with us and hope you had agood trip back home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights here, and it was a great choice of hotel. We had requested an early check in, and the room was ready when we arrived. It is conveniently located, just across the bridge from the town centre. The wifi worked perfectly. The best surprise was that the bathrooms are really modern and large with a bath tub! The buffet breakfast was good. Though it's good to remember they don't have a restaurant or room service. Just a cute bar! And the hotel has a really nice old world charm to it, that matches the vibe of Innsbruck. The staff is helpful and polite, and they even give you a free postcard, and will help you with getting it posted if you ask! So that's a wonderful touch. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear guests, we really want to thank you for your friendly words on our hotel. We always try to do our very best to keep our customers satisfied and it is a real pleasure for us when our guests leave Innsbruck with a positive impression. This morning we had snow on the mountains around Innsbruck, it looked incredible! Maybe you have the chance to come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed over night. We had a long train ride from Venice and this was a good place to stop. We did take a taxi. Our room was large and had a nice view of the river and old town. The street was busy but the noise level was ok. Pleasant reception and good suggestion for dinner. We ate at the Otto--- in old town. It was wonderful. Breakfast was good. Nice stay----.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade for a slight price increase. Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBugTampaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear guests, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and also your dinner at Ottoburg. We send you our very best regards and hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed for one night in June 2014.

We chose the Hotel Mondschein because we wanted a hotel in the centre of Innsbruck but close enough to the train station to walk. It took about 15-20mins walking, but it was easy walking, no slopes/hills.

The room was fine, very clean and had everything we needed. The wifi worked perfectly and was free. The bathroom was very big and included a bath which could fit two people in comfortably.

The breakfast was great, plenty of choice and was self service. The breakfast room is really nice and old with great views over the river and the centre of Innsbruck.

We were very pleased with hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brown9952173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear guests, we received your lovely review just a few minutes ago and want to thank you sincerely for your friendly words! We hope to see you again and send you our best regards from Innsbruck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were not looking to spend a fortune here and intentionally chose a hotel that was mid-priced. But our first impression was poor. It's unfortunate because this hotel is a picture postcard from the outside. Pink and adorable sitting at the base of the alps, it is literally featured in postcards of Innsbruck. However, it is very small and the finishes are tired and worn. The staff was a bit grumpy and not particularly welcoming either. Our room and bath were very small, although the large picture windows opened out over the river and it was clean. The towels and linens were scratchy and thin. Breakfast was included in the room rate and served buffet style. The waitress was also grumpy. But the food was a decent selection of typical Austrian fare. We loved the coffee, soft boiled eggs, jams and breads but avoided the meats. The best I can say is that the location was excellent. A short stroll across the river and we were in the historic section of town with access to all the sights. And it didn't break the bank.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river. Rear rooms are dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear guests,
first of all we thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations. Our house was built in 1473 and obviously has an internal structure which can never be as spacious as in a newer building.
We are also very sorry that your impression our staff's friendliness was not very positive and ask you to accept our sincere excuses in case you felt uncomfortable.
Thank you for your positive remarks on our breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is situated on the river just outside the old part of town in Innsbruck, the hotel itself is a little pink building first impressions outside don't do this place justice the lady on reception (Hilde) was such a lovely lady she was polite attentive to detail explained to us on the map where specific things were situated and was probably he nicest reception staff we'd encountered on our travels !

The room was spacious, had ample room for storage had a tv a good and easy to use safe this room was perfect for us, the bathroom was big bright and tidy shower gels were provided towels clean and plentiful I was impressed and didn't expect this from the outside.

The location is good here although the side of town from the train station the 10-15 minute walk is worthwhile to see the beautiful architecture and the amazing breathtaking views supplied by the alps.

Breakfast was plentiful with amazing choice and good quality food again, I couldn't eat here as I was taken a back by the amazing view of the alps from the breakfast room. A perfect and ideal location for which the be based while in Innsbruck.

Room Tip: Pay the supplement and get a river facing room…
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moses1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, which makes us feel really happy! We all love to do our job and it is good to hear that our guests seem to enjoy this. Very best greetings from Innsbruck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Innsbruck
Hilton Innsbruck
#13 of 72 in Innsbruck
2,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#7 of 72 in Innsbruck
1,349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 72 in Innsbruck
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#6 of 72 in Innsbruck
868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#2 of 72 in Innsbruck
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondschein

Address: Mariahilfstrasse 6 | 6020 Innsbruck, Innsbruck 6020, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
#8 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
#14 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range: $116 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mondschein 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mondschein is set in a great location, just across the river from the Old Town and close to the myriad attractions, restaurants and shopping facilities. The hotel has 31 rooms in different room categories, including family rooms and 1 family suite. All rooms are comfortably furnished and provide all amenities needed to make your stay a pleasant one. All guests can enjoy the complimentary breakfast buffet served each morning or relax in the welcoming bar for after-dinner drinks. Attentive service and a friendly, family atmosphere characterize the style of the house and guarantee your well-being! The main train station and the airport (INN) are only a few kilometers away from the hotel. Garage parking is available 100 meters behind the hotel, for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mondschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mondschein
Best Western Innsbruck
Innsbruck Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing