We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & location”
Review of Hotel Mondschein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mondschein
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We booked a double room with panoramic view of the old town (worth the small amount extra cost) for 3 nights. The room is on the small size (#41) but perfectly adequate, well appointed and very clean. The hotel is very old (1473) but nicely updated. Parking is free, but the garage is small and spaces tight; nevertheless it worked out fine for us. If you have a large vehicle, it might not work for you. Breakfast was excellent and the location is wonderful, close to the bridge into the old town, about a 3 minute walk. Next time we would book a longer stay as 3 nights is minimum to explore the city and surrounding areas - this is an excellent home base to explore Tyrol more extensively than we did.

Highly recommended – we would return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug47travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear guest, we are very pleased and want to thank you for your nice review on our hotel! Regarding parking: we offer free parking to all guests who book their room directly with us. We know about the limited spaces in our garage, but we have a person who helps guests to park their cars. We hope to see you again and send you our very best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mondschein
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 727 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very comfortable, well appointed, clean & quiet (when window closed).

This hotel is well located a short stroll across the river from the Old Town & easy access to the funicular & other transport. We walked back to our hotel from the olympic ski jump. Pretty much a straight line across town - less than 1/2 an hour, no hills and an opportunity to see more of the city & shopping. There is a good laundromat a few doors down the road.

We were on the 3rd floor with river views - just stunning! Waking up to views of snow capped mountains is a delight! We had a centre room which was large enough for us. The corner rooms are larger.

(Unfortunately the lift was not operating during our stay - only really an issue with the luggage)

Buffet breakfast was very good also & a lovely, original environment.

Room Tip: Request a room with river view & on higher floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karmun7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest, thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy to hear that you did not only like our hotel but also the city of Innsbruck and hope that you had a good trip back home and that you will come back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here about ten years years ago in the same room and enjoyed this visit almost as much as the first time. There was no visible change in the decor and it was still classically nice. The staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was also good. This is right on the river, so it is in a great location, but parking is a little harder. They hotel has a garage which is nice, but it is behind the hotel on a one way street. Will definitely stay here if the opportunity arrises again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FDW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear guest, thank you so much for taking your time and writing such a nice review after your stay with us! It is a big pleasure for us to hear that you had a really good time here. We know that our garage is a little narrow and parking especially with a big car is not easy sometimes, but we are still glad that we are able to offer a private garage to our clients, which is a really important thing when you stay in the very city center. We also offer help to park the car, and it works well now. We wish you a Happy Easter and hope to see you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The stay in Innsbruck was extremely pleasant. I had a single room, it was very warm and cozy. Everything was very cleaned, the room was silent and perfectly adobed. I had a wonderful sleep, clean sheets and very nice mattress. I had breakfast in the hotel, there was a good choice, both sweet and salty. The staff of the hotel was very nice at every level, everybody was just very helpful! I warmly suggest this hotel, for any kind of trip in Innsbruck.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlando14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear guest, we thank you very much for your friendly review and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We certainly try our best to make our guests feel as well as possible, and when it works, we are just happy!
We send you our best regards from Innsbruck and hope to see you again at the Mondschein!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have been to Austria many times decided to stay in Innsbruck the room was first class quiet very clean and nice and warm after a day out in the cold, bathroom very clean and modern furnishings clean and pleasant, one of us were under the weather for a few days, the house maid was quiet remarkable in here help over this time well above the call of duty we were very impressed could not find fault would go back at the first chance .B W + SV Davies Wigan Lancashire U.K.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear guests, we just received you lovely review on our hotel and want to say thank you so much! For all of us it is really important to make our guests feel really comfortable and at home, and when this is appreciated, we are happy! We hope to see you again at he Mondschein and send you aour very best regards from Innsbruck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had a very successful stay at this hotel with my wife in February 2014. Located just minutes across the river from the Old Town and within easy reach of trams, buses and a 15 minute relatively easy walk to the railway station. Also only a short walk away from the Congress Station for the Hungerburgbahn (Do visit Nordkette. We went to the top twice - once with very limited visibility, once in bright sunshine with blue sky).
The complimentary hotel breakfast served in very nice restaurant on the first floor each morning was more than acceptable with a wide range of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cake, cold meats, cheese, eggs, bacon etc. It set us up well for each day ahead.
Staff very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating, even allowing us to check in to our room early (1130 a.m.) when all we had intended to do was drop off our bags until usual check in time. Very impressed. Also called for a taxi for us on departure with minimal waiting time.
Useful tip for exploring - Consider purchasing the Innsbruck Card for either 24, 48 or 72 hours. Offers access to many obvious tourist sights and includes one ascent, one descent on all Innsbruck area cable cars including those for the Nordkette.

Room Tip: We had a third floor room one back from the front which benefitted from good soundproofing as a resu...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here two nights while visiting Innsbruck with our son. Our room had a wonderful view of the old city and the mountains. The hotel was located close to the bridge that led to the old city, so it was very convenient. The room was large considering there were three of us. The staff was very helpful. The price was reasonable.We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearljamfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear guest, we really want to thank you for your friendly review on our hotel and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a good trip back home and would be pleased to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#7 of 74 in Innsbruck
1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 74 in Innsbruck
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#6 of 74 in Innsbruck
855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#4 of 74 in Innsbruck
548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adlers Hotel
Adlers Hotel
#10 of 74 in Innsbruck
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondschein

Address: Mariahilfstrasse 6 | 6020 Innsbruck, Innsbruck 6020, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
#5 Family Hotel in Innsbruck
#7 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
#14 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range: $116 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mondschein 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mondschein is set in a great location, just across the river from the Old Town and close to the myriad attractions, restaurants and shopping facilities. The hotel has 31 rooms in different room categories, including family rooms and 1 family suite. All rooms are comfortably furnished and provide all amenities needed to make your stay a pleasant one. All guests can enjoy the complimentary breakfast buffet served each morning or relax in the welcoming bar for after-dinner drinks. Attentive service and a friendly, family atmosphere characterize the style of the house and guarantee your well-being! The main train station and the airport (INN) are only a few kilometers away from the hotel. Garage parking is available 100 meters behind the hotel, for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mondschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mondschein
Best Western Innsbruck
Innsbruck Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing