We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great city”
Review of Hotel Mondschein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mondschein
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wonderful lady at the front desk. Fantastic breakfasts in great setting on the second floor. Wonderful historic hotel building across the river from the Old City, right at the foot of a bridge crossing. The room was spartan, but clean and comfortable. The free parking is behind the hotel, up the really narrow street as you cross the bridge. We did not know this, so ended up paying for parking in a garage across the street. We were a bit surprised how all the local eateries close down in the afternoon. Had to adjust our late afternoon lunch time. A must do: hike up to the funicular at the zoo (or catch it in town), then take the ride up the mountain. It's two rides all the way to the top. We had a wonderful snack at the very top--strudel and cafe and cocoa. Very special. Innsbruck is a beautiful city!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolkteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear guest,
it is wonderful to hear that you liked your stay with us and also liked so much the city of Innsbruck! Thank you very much and we really hope that other travellers will appreciate our hotel as much as you did. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 737 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is great for exploring Innsbruck and the view (if you have a room towards the city center) is very nice.
The room, bathroom, service, breakfast, building,... is ok, but the price/rate is too high for the standard the hotel offers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luise2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for writing a review! We are sorry to hear that you found our rates too high. Please consider that our rates include full breakfast and a free garage for cars or motorcycles, a service which no other hotel in Innsbruck center is offering! There is also a possibility to get discounts up to 15% booking in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Clean and nice looking. Good beds. Attentive staff. Good breakfast but if you arrive near closing time, much is gone. If you arrive by car then you must try the free hotel parking garage. You can continue reading only if you have a small or medium car. Enter the garage backwards and position the car in front of the lift. Yes, a lift, once in a lifetime! Open lift door, press button for basement and you will find several free spaces there. For exit, the same procedue in reverse.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ResenarSverige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your lovely description of our parking garage! Sometimes it is getting a bit narrow, but usually our guests do appreciate very much the fact that we offer a garage completely free of charge!
We hope you had a good trip back home and send you best regards from Innsbruck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I can't add anything more than other contributors have written regarding this excellent hotel. Location and staff are exceptional. Would highly recommend. Receptionist who greeted us when we arrived provided such a great welcome and the attention to detail regarding the location of the garage was superb. Very old building but the newly refurbished bathroom was excellent. Great combination of old and modern.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerry2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

.... and we cannot do anything more than say thank you for your friendly words and hope to see you again some day in the future!
Best regards from Innsbruck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel has great location, Old Town is just crossing the street... Staff is very friendly and helpful.. Room is very nice with all facilities we could need, including air conditioning... Free internet access is nice, as well.. Very good value for Money... I certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustAT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for recommending our hotel to other travellers, we really appreciate this and will certainly do our best also in future to satisfy our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a very clean, friendly hotel. It is close to the center of Innsbruck and within walking distance of all the sights. Staff are friendly, helpful and courteous. The only drawback is that there is a road running behind the hotel that is very noisy late into the evening. Other than that, it was a very restful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieQ616300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you so much for writing a review on our hotel! We are very glad to hear that you liked your stay. Regarding the street noise: we also offer rooms (room type Classic) facing a small internal courtyard. These rooms are absolutely quiet, but obviously do not have a view.
Thank you again for coming, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great place to stay while you are in Innsbruck. Perfect location, just across from the bridge to the old town. Breakfast was included. Staff was courteous. The lady helping with the breakfast even gave some toys to our toddler to keep her entertained while we finished up our breakfast. Room size was decent with good amenities. There is an elevator also. Unfortunately their parking lot was full (only 8 spots!) but we were able to find street parking.
Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogo_travel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondschein, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking your time and writing a revies w on your stay at our hotel! We are very glad to hear that you had a good time with us! Just a short comment on our parking garage: we do have 24 parking spots on 2 floors (the downstairs floor is accessible with a car lift, suitable only for smaller cars up to 2000 kgs). We hope you had a good trip back home and send you best regards from Innsbruck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Innsbruck
Hilton Innsbruck
#13 of 72 in Innsbruck
2,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#7 of 72 in Innsbruck
1,349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 72 in Innsbruck
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#6 of 72 in Innsbruck
868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#2 of 72 in Innsbruck
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondschein

Address: Mariahilfstrasse 6 | 6020 Innsbruck, Innsbruck 6020, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
#8 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
#14 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range: $116 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mondschein 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mondschein is set in a great location, just across the river from the Old Town and close to the myriad attractions, restaurants and shopping facilities. The hotel has 31 rooms in different room categories, including family rooms and 1 family suite. All rooms are comfortably furnished and provide all amenities needed to make your stay a pleasant one. All guests can enjoy the complimentary breakfast buffet served each morning or relax in the welcoming bar for after-dinner drinks. Attentive service and a friendly, family atmosphere characterize the style of the house and guarantee your well-being! The main train station and the airport (INN) are only a few kilometers away from the hotel. Garage parking is available 100 meters behind the hotel, for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mondschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mondschein
Best Western Innsbruck
Innsbruck Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing