We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family run, culinary alpine sanctuary”
Review of Hotel Bierwirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bierwirt
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Innsbruck
LondonWagner
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A family run, culinary alpine sanctuary”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

A stay to remember: for it's excellent cuisine and extremely friendly owners and staff members!!!!!
As a native innsbruckian living abroad for the past quarter of a century I am always delighted to head back to my roots, as a guest and.....tourist. Usually we stay central but this time booking was mad late and we had no choice left but to book into bierwirt-what a great choice it turned out to be. Nothing, absolutely NOTHING can be faulted about this place! Alright, the corridor was, at times, loud and busy first thing in the morning-but that really has got to be the only not so perfect aspect. Breakfast was heavenly and plenty, service first class, location still fine although not central (make use of a big shopping centre 5 min walk away) and the atmosphere in the hotel was extremely welcoming.
We went there over New Year and can recommend this place highly....we shall be back, for sure!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonWagnerWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    56
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
15
53
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We travelled to Innsbruck with another couple and had booked the Hotel Bierwirt by phoning them directly. It is located slightly outside the city centre however we were expecting this and the area that is in is very quiet. You can't hear the motorway at all during the day or at night.

The hotel was very busy as they were preparing for New Year visitors arriving. The front desk staff were friendly and checked us in promptly however we were told that our room was in the building across the road. The main house is a typical Tyrollean B&B with a nice bar area and warm friendly feeling. The "other" building however is more like a youth hostel. The first room we went to was run down and although clean wasn't what we would expect from a 4 star B&B. In fact, none of us can understand how this is a 4 star B&B, not that it was a particularly bad experience we have all stayed in a large number of Pensions, B&B's and hotels across Austria, France and Switzerland and this was by far the most disappointing for the money. We asked to move to another room which had damp mould on the ceiling. Finally we felt more comfortable with the 3rd room at the front of the house. Unfortunately there were no rooms available in the main house and we did not get to see if they were any better.

The two positive experiences we had was, number one, the fantastic help we received from the young female receptionist. She was very friendly and helped research some New Year parties in the city. Taking the time to help us was extra appreciated as the hotel was very busy with people arriving and drinking at the bar. The second was the breakfast buffet. There was an excellent selection which was well prepared and set us up nicely for the ski days.

After 2 nights at the Hotel Bierwirt we felt we were paying far too much for a run down room in the annex. The hotel manager was also pretty rude whenever we had questions. Overall we wouldn't recommend this place to anyone and certainly wouldn't stay again. For the money I'm confident you could find something much better in the city centre or nearer the skiing.

Room Tip: Ask for the main house as I'm sure it's better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarrell112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A New Years trip to Innsbruck was made that little bit more special by the homely atmosphere the owners provided. Yes the bar staff at times were quite relaxed when busy but this was made up for by the 'special touches' provided to us by staff that made us feel extremely welcome. Austria has no rules on smoking in public places so whoever comes here must be prepared for a relatively smokey bar. However, the non-smokers can take solace in the smoke free areas in the restaurant. Overall, I can thoroughly recommend this hotel and would be more than happy to return here in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berny710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The largest B&B room we had on our trip. Great accommodations including a few English channels on TV. Our room had a pull out bed included so it would sleep 4 without asking. Our room did not have the best view but others did if you got lucky but all in all the best room we found while in Innsbruck. Not a four star hotel but a four star B&B with a great restaurant. We did stay at other B&B (Hotel Kappler treated us very bad and would not recommend) and checked out a few others but this was the best in the area. There is a bus stop outside of the hotel with easy access to the center of the city. A great breakfast was included with the room. Ask to see the room first, if you don’t like it ask to see a better one. Some do not have views and some are not all part of the main hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, with the best view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel can we give our recommendation both for Innsbruck visitors as well as people looking for a comfortable road trip overnight place to stay. We stayed there on our way to Italy from 26 to 27.07.2012.It is located right beneath the Inn valley motorway (no noise) in Amras, a small village-like suburb of Innsbruck. The overall impression of this Tyrolean village hotel is that it's above average , Excellent food and service from personell and local local folks were using the restaurant when they wanted to have a nice dinner The hotel's restaurant is very good and alsothe breakfast buffet. From the bus stop across the street the city centre is well connected.
Romatic double room but no AC, so windows had to be fully opened.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DagDrammen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hotel is a solid recommendation both for Innsbruck visitors as well as people looking for a comfortable road trip overnight place to stay. It is located right beneath the Inn valley motorway (no noise) in Amras, a small village-like suburb of Innsbruck. The overall impression is that of a solid, above average Tyrolean village hotel catering not only to tourists but also to the local folks when going out for a nice dinner or reserving a room for the family celebration. My wheelchair accessible room was large -- almost too large, some of the furniture was too big and too high to reach from a seated position. The hotel's restaurant is very good indeed, so is the breakfast buffet. From the bus stop across the street the city centre is well connected.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhineRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Our group stayed at the Bierwirt for a skiing weekend, and we throughly enjoyed our stay. We especially enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfast each morning. The hotel staff was great and helped us make travel arrangements to the ski areas.

The hotel is near the highway, but I did not hear the traffic even though the window was open.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w12jarjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
8.6 mi away
Tyrolis Hotel
Tyrolis Hotel
#34 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kapeller Innsbruck
Hotel Kapeller Innsbruck
#5 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Leipziger Hof
Hotel Leipziger Hof
#12 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#19 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#6 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alphotel Innsbruck
Alphotel Innsbruck
#29 of 75 in Innsbruck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bierwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bierwirt

Property: Hotel Bierwirt
Address: Bichlweg 2, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bierwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the majestic peaks of the Nordkette mountain chain, the Hotel Bierwirt is the ideal starting point for a holiday or business trip in Innsbruck. Given its ideal location, this traditional hotel is very popular with motor bikers and business travellers. To the south, only 3 km separate bikers from the Brennerbundesstrasse state road with its legendary Schonberg windings. The Happ family has been offering a tasteful setting for funeral gatherings for many decades. As is customary in Austria, friends and family members gather after the burial to honour the deceased together. A great deal of attentiveness and individual care is offered by this traditional hotel to help relatives on their difficult journey into the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bierwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gasthof Bierwirt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing