We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
Review of Hotel Grauer Bar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grauer Bar
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Innsbruck
Monterrey
Level Contributor
225 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is very close to the center of the city. We had arrived to Innsbruck during the afternoon and walked to have dinner. The hotel is very clean, a little old fashioned and conservative, but for the price and one night it was perfect. There is AC in the hotel, free WiFi and the bathroom is very clean.
What I did not like was the breakfast. There was not a lot to choose from and the restaurant is very small for so many rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zazyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    368
    159
    64
    33
See reviews for
195
274
47
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

good place to stay, close to city center, sometimes shows in front of hotel, good value and FREE wifi here. Only con is to make sure you are in the 2nd or 3rd floor instead of Z2 or Z3 floor, or you gonna have trouble for your luggage

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ytwytw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Location, location, location. Just keep repeating that. Because the rooms aren't all that clean, and the hotel is noisy and you get the feeling that it's been a while since they maintained anything. Our room had numerous stains on the carpet and it may have been a prior smoking room at some point. I never took my socks off while walking on the carpet, it was gross. Our travel agent listed this as a premium hotel. Far from it. It's not a dump, but it's not anywhere near the other hotels we stayed at by Sheraton and Schlossberg (and a far cry from the Sacher). So maybe we got spoiled, but this seemed like an 'average' Ramada or Holiday inn (in a US metro area), in a really awesome location. The a/c never seemed to get cold enough for us, either. So you have to get over the stains and aged feeling of the rooms and use it for sleeping and go explore Innsbruck. The staff wasn't rude, but wasn't overly friendly either. There was only ever one person at the desk whenever we went there. If we go back, I will look elsewhere, as I didn't feel this was a four-star hotel. Breakfast was good, though; worth getting if it is included in your room fee as ours was...just get there early to avoid the crowd.

Room Tip: Maybe ask to see your room beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTSCOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is a few minutes walk to the old part of the city. The Tyrolean Folk Art Museum, Court Church, and Imperial Palace were all located on the same street as the hotel. Hungerburgbahn was a few minutes walk from the hotel. This takes you to the Alpen Zoo and offers great views of the city. The bus stop for the Sightseer bus is directly across the street from the hotel. This bus takes you to several of the attractions that are farther out of the area such as Ambras Castle, Bergisel (ski jump), and the bell museum. There are many restaurants, shops, and the Golden Roof all just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Since it was very hot when we visited in June, we would take breaks from our sightseeing and walk back to the hotel to rest in the air conditioning before going out again. It was a perfect location for what we wanted to do and the air conditioning was much appreciated.

One of the best features of our room was that it was designed with seals on the bottom of the main door to the room which made the room soundproof from any noise in the hall. We had a room for three people, so there was another door that separated the bathroom area from the bedroom area. That also had a seal to keep it soundproof. This was an outstanding feature of the hotel and kept our room very quiet. Another unique feature in the bathroom was that it had heated tiles on the floor. Our room was fairly large compared to other hotels we stayed in while in Europe.

We had a free full breakfast included with our stay. There were many items to choose from, and the choices changed each day we were there. There were hot and cold items on the buffet including many breads, eggs, fruits and cereals.

The front desk staff was friendly, helpful, and spoke English.

There was a wonderful pool on the fifth floor of the hotel with amazing views of the mountains. We felt that this was an outstanding value for the money, and we would choose this hotel again if we return to Innsbruck.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The views from the room were superb and changed hourly with the light. The room itself was spacious and pleasant, but the really great thing about the hotel was the roof pool and jacuzzi on the roof, again looking on to the mountains, only in Innsbruck. At the end of a very warm day walking, the pool tuck the heat right out and the jacuzzi relaxed the muscles. Breakfasts were also good, even if the staff were grumpy!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor 4 with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay but found some of the reception staff not particularly helpful. We were not told about the Innsbruk card (even though we later saw an advertisement on the counter) when we asked what to do in Innsbruk. A little noisey on the Friday night - even though it was university break! Rooms were lovely, breakfast great and rooftop jacuzzi Amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location of the Grauer Baer made it very easy to access all of the highlights of Innsbruck. The rooms were roomy, very clean and amenities sufficient for the purpose. You are there afterall to visit the town and its attractions. Would stay there again if we are ever lucky enough to visit Innsbruck again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#8 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
0.3 mi away
The Penz Hotel
The Penz Hotel
#2 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Innsbruck
Hilton Innsbruck
#14 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#4 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grauer Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grauer Bar

Property: Hotel Grauer Bar
Address: Universitaetsstrasse 5-7, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Innsbruck
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
#13 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grauer Bar 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Grauer Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grauer Bar Hotel
Grauer Bar Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing