We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location For Sightseeing”
Review of Hotel Grauer Bar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grauer Bar
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Innsbruck
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect Location For Sightseeing”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is a few minutes walk to the old part of the city. The Tyrolean Folk Art Museum, Court Church, and Imperial Palace were all located on the same street as the hotel. Hungerburgbahn was a few minutes walk from the hotel. This takes you to the Alpen Zoo and offers great views of the city. The bus stop for the Sightseer bus is directly across the street from the hotel. This bus takes you to several of the attractions that are farther out of the area such as Ambras Castle, Bergisel (ski jump), and the bell museum. There are many restaurants, shops, and the Golden Roof all just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Since it was very hot when we visited in June, we would take breaks from our sightseeing and walk back to the hotel to rest in the air conditioning before going out again. It was a perfect location for what we wanted to do and the air conditioning was much appreciated.

One of the best features of our room was that it was designed with seals on the bottom of the main door to the room which made the room soundproof from any noise in the hall. We had a room for three people, so there was another door that separated the bathroom area from the bedroom area. That also had a seal to keep it soundproof. This was an outstanding feature of the hotel and kept our room very quiet. Another unique feature in the bathroom was that it had heated tiles on the floor. Our room was fairly large compared to other hotels we stayed in while in Europe.

We had a free full breakfast included with our stay. There were many items to choose from, and the choices changed each day we were there. There were hot and cold items on the buffet including many breads, eggs, fruits and cereals.

The front desk staff was friendly, helpful, and spoke English.

There was a wonderful pool on the fifth floor of the hotel with amazing views of the mountains. We felt that this was an outstanding value for the money, and we would choose this hotel again if we return to Innsbruck.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    376
    160
    64
    34
See reviews for
198
279
48
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The views from the room were superb and changed hourly with the light. The room itself was spacious and pleasant, but the really great thing about the hotel was the roof pool and jacuzzi on the roof, again looking on to the mountains, only in Innsbruck. At the end of a very warm day walking, the pool tuck the heat right out and the jacuzzi relaxed the muscles. Breakfasts were also good, even if the staff were grumpy!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor 4 with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay but found some of the reception staff not particularly helpful. We were not told about the Innsbruk card (even though we later saw an advertisement on the counter) when we asked what to do in Innsbruk. A little noisey on the Friday night - even though it was university break! Rooms were lovely, breakfast great and rooftop jacuzzi Amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location of the Grauer Baer made it very easy to access all of the highlights of Innsbruck. The rooms were roomy, very clean and amenities sufficient for the purpose. You are there afterall to visit the town and its attractions. Would stay there again if we are ever lucky enough to visit Innsbruck again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szigetvar, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was participating an academy, I stayed there for 5 days, and I liked it very much. Maybe not every room is in good shape with wonderful view (as some of my colleagues told me), but I was at the 5th floor, in a nice room with balcony with view to the town and the mountains. It's a good starting location for sight seeing, traveling up to the mountains by cable car or for shopping, taking photos in the historical town. I recommend this hotel but ask for a good room!

Room Tip: 5th floor. Nice view, and spa and fittness room are close (for example 552 is wonderful)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomasso_dhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed one night here rooms were shabby no kettle in room beds were very uncomfortable room service on per order extra charge 5 euro tv had no good channels I would better to look for other hotel the windows were small with the view of the wall of other building no mountains nothing very poor quality rooms

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rakesh385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nicely located very near the Golden Roof, huge rooms and clean, nice and big toilets. But the plan of the hotel was quite confusing. The lifts stop at half floors and you may have to search around. Nothing to view from the room as it was overlooking a wall of another wing of the hotel. The location is very nice--just two minutes walk from the Golden Roof and the main square. The city is so beautiful that you feel good when you walk around. We reached on a Wednesday evening and enjoyed a beautiful band at the square.

The dinner was very good --we enjoyed the garlic bread, potato roast and the chicken.

Buffet breakfast was also lavish and great.

Room Tip: ask for rooms overlooking the main road for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacemusafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#7 of 73 in Innsbruck
1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 73 in Innsbruck
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Innsbruck
Hilton Innsbruck
#14 of 73 in Innsbruck
1,917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adlers Hotel
Adlers Hotel
#9 of 73 in Innsbruck
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Penz Hotel
The Penz Hotel
#4 of 73 in Innsbruck
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grauer Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grauer Bar

Property: Hotel Grauer Bar
Address: Universitaetsstrasse 5-7, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Innsbruck
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
#13 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grauer Bar 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Grauer Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grauer Bar Hotel
Grauer Bar Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing