We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay- excellent restaurant, amazing staff!”
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europa
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Innsbruck
Reviewed January 16, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Europa for our honeymoon and had a fabulous experience. The room was a good size for all our ski equipment and there are secure ski lockers by the entrance. The ski bus also picks up right in front of the hotel several times a day so this was very convenient for us. Our package included breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant. As we had never been to Austria before the waiters were always very good to explain dishes to us and even suggest items to sample. We were always greeted by name in the lobby and restaurant throughout our week long stay. This hotel is very central to downtown sites and attractions so we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. I hope we can return here someday!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lpoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 988 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2008

I stayed here on night in conjunction with a conference. As it was rated as a 5 star hotel I had expected something special. The reception intially sent me up to a room that had not been made up -no big deal, but a sign of things to come. Once I got my room it was a 3 star standard. Dark wooden panels, dirty wall to wall carpets, very basic bathroom with a shower in the bathtub but no shower curtain (ie water all over the floor), old worn out TV that showed porn on the movie channel (already a sign that it is not 5 star hotel), wireless internat connection that did not work in the room most of the time. The best thing with the hotel was the breakfast that was a buffet (4 star standard) in a giant ballroom.
This hotel is a good 3 star hotel. No more, no less.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ThaiAdmirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPiscopo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2017

Dear “ThaiAdmirer”,

Thank you for your review. We apologise for your inconvenient stay and would like to make it up to you in due time. We agree that at your time of travel, the hotel did not reflect the perception of a 5 star hotel. At the same time we would like to point out that the rating of 5 stars is also to a large degree connected to services (i.e. 24 hour room service) and features (i.e. 24 hour business centre) which a hotel has to offer. This shall not derogate your critique and we assure you that we take your review very serious. As mentioned before we are currently renovating the property and the new rooms are an enormous improvement as you might see in the pictures which we uploaded.

With kind regards, Arthur Guelfenburg, GM, Grand Hotel Europa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Europa whilst attending a conference in Innsbruck. I must say that this hotel was not my first choice anyway (I would have prefered the Goldener Adler which was cheaper), but thought that my stay might be better when found out that the Europa had 5 stars.

How naive!

The staff was very pleasant, my room big and my bed comfortable.

Now for the rest. The wireless internet connection did not work in my room (404) and there was no wired broadband, so I had to result to the phone line (with modem); not great on a business trip! I also used the business center for the internet, but it is adjacent to the bar where people smoke. That is another problem: smoking is allowed in the bar and restaurant and this is rather disgusting.

My room was very hot (despite turning off all radiators) and the only way to cool it down was to open the window. The road outside is extremely noisy.

The TV was antiquated and the remote control really flaky.

Finallly, the lighting in the room was rather poor.

This hotel is 3-star or 4-star at best, certainly not 5-star.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KarinemUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPiscopo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2017

Dear KarinemUK,

Thank you for your review. We certainly agree with your perception of the hotel in October of last year. As a five star hotel one of our strengths is and has always been, as you described an excellent service attitude. For the hard ware, we also have to admit, that a lack of investment over several years resulted in a product that did not always match the high expectations of our guests in the past years. After a long analyse and planning stage, in which we use comments like yours, we started to renovate the property in 2008.


With kind regards, Arthur Guelfenburg, GM, Grand Hotel Europa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Our family of 5 stayed here in January 2008. The location is across the road from the train station, so great if that's how you are travelling. Unfortunately, from the street it is not a good look - very busy and grimy.

Inside it is 'faded old European' which is fine, except the rooms are too. For the price and star rating, our 'delux' rooms were NOT. They were dark and small. I cannot imagine what the standard rooms were like. How would we even know if we got the delux standard we paid for?
In addition, we had enjoyed our previous hotel (Gersberg Alm in Salzburg) so much that we stayed there an extra night. We rang this hotel and told them we would be a day late and obviously still OK to pay for the un-used rooms here. Still, when we arrived, neither of the 2 rooms we booked were ready. Given that we had already paid for them, this was awful!

That said, the kids voted the breakfasts here the best of our 4 week trip. Staff in the restaurant were lovely - helpful and friendly and a real asset to the hotel/We also ate in the (more formal) restaurant for a lunch and for dinner. Service and food were great - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kriselda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPiscopo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2017

Dear Mrs Kriselda,

First of all we would like to thank you for your review. To start with the positives, we are happy to hear that the service and the breakfast and the restaurant in general are consistent with your perception of a five star hotel. It’s especially nice to hear your kids reaction, since they are often the most honest guests.

Yours sincerely, Arthur Guelfenburg, GM Grand Hotel Europa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We chose this hotel for our winter vacations as it was positioned as "only 5 star hotel in Innsbruck" Actually I've never been so disappointed from hotel as that time. Very uncomfortable rooms,
and we asked for 1 king bed in fact we got two single beds pushed togerter.
Bathroom is so tiny that it's problem to have shower, moreover they cut off heating for nights and also once we hadn't hot water in morning. We didn't find sleepers in our "5 star hotel" and I had to ask staff to provide us with sleepers for THREE DAYS days!!! Absolutely crap place. Overpriced and outdated.
Only positive thing in the "only 5 star hotel", it was breakfast and of course mountains around.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indigo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Spent three nights at the Europa Tyrol, and it was a very enjoyable experience. The hotel is located opposite to the main station in Innsbruck and is only a short walk to the shops and the Golden Roof which is at the heart of the city. The hotel is actually connected to the main railway via a tunnel which offers exclusive use for guests.
The rooms were immaculate, and very nicely furnished. My room had a typical Tyrolean feel which resembled a log cabin. The rooms were rather compact, however were sufficient. The bathroom was quite large and had a bath/ shower. My room however did not seem to have any ventilation in the bathroom and it did become rather damp and hot. The bedroom was air conditioned which due to the lovely weather was a godsend.

The staff were all polite and would tend to every need. The bar area was clean and modern looking. The restaurant area was very authentically furnished in a typical Tyrolean fashion. The restaurant served Tyrolean cusine, so every guest is likely to experience a new culinary delight. The selection for breakfast was huge and would satisfy even the fussiest of eaters.
The hotel had free internet connection, which was an added bonus.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay and a hotel I would definitely return to if i'm ever fortunate to visit Austria again.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nickky177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Me and a friend stayed at the Grand Europa in February for 3 nights. We didn't feel that this hotel was 5 star standard more 4 star, but it was clean, comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. All the rooms had a very alpine feel but the beds were quite small, single beds whereas would expect double beds in a 5 star hotel.

Breakfast in the hotel was quite nice, quite a lot of variety but felt that the breakfast rooms were quite dark.

One of the reasons we chose this hotel was that it had a sauna and steam room, which we thought would be nice to use after a day of skiing. Steam was not in use when we went but the sauna was nice.

Its an ideal location if you're planning on travelling around as it is literally opposite the train and bus station. Arriving from the airport we got a bus to the hotel. The fare was less than a pound and it took about 20-30 mins.

Insbruck is a very small medieval town probably only need a day to see it and shopping and restaurants in the area is not much too shout about.

We went to Salzburg for a day to go on the Sound of Music tour. If your a Sound of Music fan definitley recomend it as it was great very entertaining and your get to see a few of the sights in the movie such as the house, abbey, church, gazebo etc.. It was a 2 hour trip from Innsbruck to Salzburg and the trip was a 4 hour tour bookable from the information centre at the station.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KentTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.2 mi away
TC Hotel
TC Hotel
#13 of 72 in Innsbruck
2,048 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#8 of 72 in Innsbruck
1,375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adlers Hotel
Adlers Hotel
#9 of 72 in Innsbruck
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#3 of 72 in Innsbruck
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
0.4 mi away
The Penz Hotel
The Penz Hotel
#4 of 72 in Innsbruck
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Address: Suedtiroler Platz 2, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Innsbruck
#5 Family Hotel in Innsbruck
#13 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range: $133 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Europa 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europa is a top hotel in Innsbruck, Austria, and one of the most impressive hotels in central Europe. The hotel’s location makes it perfect for exploring Innsbruck, and the beautiful surrounding countryside. The location, modern amenities and stunning decor make the hotel highly regarded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Innsbruck
Grand Resort Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing