We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have the famous torte chocolat”

Cafe-Restaurant Sacher Innsbruck
Ranked #2 of 11 Dessert in Innsbruck
Price range: $4 - $29
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The elegant and iconic Café Sacher in Innsbruck is in the Hofburg Imperial Palace and it exudes old world Habsburg atmosphere with modern touches brought in with a 2011 refurbishment. The café is a successful combination of a wine bar, restaurant & café. It offers the opportunity to sample some Original Sacher-Torte but there are also many savoury dishes and a fabulous wine list. In the summer the quiet interior courtyard of the palace is a great venue for sampling some of our extensive selection of cocktails and liqueurs. Host Alexander Klapps and his team treat their guests to outstanding culinary delights. The combination of a café, wine bar and a high-class restaurant offers an impressive choice of creative and delicious dishes, combining innovation and tradition, accompanied by a fine selection of wines.
Cerritos, Ca
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Have the famous torte chocolat”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Do not miss having a sacher torte and a coffee. They will even sell you the menu as a momento of you trip. The Austrians have the best pastries and you should not think of your waistline when sampling these delicious goodies. You will look for the flavor when you are back in the states so be sure to savour and enjoy.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank LizC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    281
    126
    80
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“So elegant”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We went to Café Sacher in Vienna and it was ok. However, the one in Innsbruck is so nicely decorated, comfortable and they play music by Mozart. The service was correct. We had a Sacher coffee ( the one that comes with the chocolate liquor ) and a hot chocolate. That was incredible, the taste of the chocolate was the best ever. The price was very good if you take in consideration the place and atmosphere. And of course, a Sacher Torte to take home too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marga2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
1,064 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 740 helpful votes
“Excellent Place.”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just a few steps from the "Goldenes Dachl' at the Imperial Palace, this cafe served inviting tasty chocolate specialties. This is the home of the world famous and Original Cafe Torte. We were not able visit the Cafe Sacher while in Salzburg but here in Innsbruck, i should not miss this.

Elegant place and the hangout of old and the young as i saw it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MijnlieverdFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The home of the origional Sacher Torte!”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

It's like going back in time when you walk into this kondetori! For the experience it is a great one off, but I wouldn't necessarily go there on a regular basis. It is expensive, but a real treat & very interesting from a historical point. The chocolate cakes are of course the best & you are welcome to buy any size of them to take home with you for a present for your loved ones - but this of course comes with a price!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaBirtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I have eaten at the Sacher in Vienna, and expected something special here.
There was only one other table occupied, and they had taken the one table I had specifically booked in person earlier that day. Annoying enough, but then for the rest of the evening we were largely ignored while staff permanently hovered around the people they obviously knew in the window table.

We were offered an apology and a free Sacher Torte, but the evening was a letdown with poor service.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lingwood-Watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe-Restaurant Sacher Innsbruck also viewed

 

Been to Cafe-Restaurant Sacher Innsbruck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing