We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innsbruck - Old Town”

Altstadt von Innsbruck
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$116.77*
and up
Private Tour: Innsbruck and Swarovski Crystal Worlds from Salzburg
Ranked #2 of 94 things to do in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Innsbruck - Old Town”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Small but spectacular - framed by the mountains - well worth the trip! gave 4/5 because it is quite small.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank byronsteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    868
    583
    80
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful old town area but extremely difficult to find a non-smoking restaurant!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely area of Innsbruck surrounded by snow-capped mountains. Sights were of little interest to us as we were staying in the city for the purpose of skiing. Christmas lights and markets added a magical touch. We ended up sitting in our room most nights as we were appalled by the amount of people smoking on the streets and in restaurants and bars. Whilst we enjoyed the Christmas market food and the food at FloJo's there was very little variety if you wanted something other than Austrian or Italian food. Delicious bakeries selling fresh bread and pastries were abundant which was a plus. I certainly am glad that I travelled to the old town of Innsbruck but one night and one say is enough. I probably wouldn't return due to the eating out/smoking situation which my husband and I found absolutely revolting.

Helpful?
1 Thank felicity1739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming Old Town”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Innsbruck is a lovely balance of old and new. The current shops are tastefully presented within the structure of the Old Town. Enchanting place surrounded by snow capped mountains!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank therollingsteyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My favourite city”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I love Innsbruck, especially at Christmas time. The market is one of the best in the world with lovely stands and a great atmosphere. Innsbruck is such a friendly city but unfortunately most tourists in the winter go straight through to ski resorts and miss the city completely. Definitely recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Glennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“very beautiful old town”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

very nice place to walk, with little streets, good shops, restaurants (and desserts!!). We went in December, so enjoyed the Christmas markets, and the hot wine. The town looks specially nice when the sun has just set and the mountains have that special blue light, really nice place to spend a weekend.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MariMichelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altstadt von Innsbruck also viewed

 
Innsbruck, Tirol
 

Been to Altstadt von Innsbruck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing