We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, tasty food, good beer”

Stiftskeller Innsbruck
Ranked #15 of 449 Restaurants in Innsbruck
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, tasty food, good beer”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A nice location, simple but warm. This restaurant is located in the heart of the old area of Innsbruck close to many major tourist attractions. The menu offers the typical Tyrolese food, good taste, good price. The house beer is very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oanaeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    1,069
    368
    101
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good beer, good such, great location”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We were attracted by the location and the simple look of the tables of this restaurant in an old building part of the historic palace and we were positively surprised.

The menu offers the typical Tyrolese food for reasonable average price. We had the wurstel, both spicy and normal, and liked it. The beer is very good. The inside dining rooms are rather charming and should be great to visit in winter.

If you visit the old town in Innsbruck then this should be a natural stop for you to enjoy a good beer.

The service rather fast and efficient , better than many other places we visited in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherwood forest
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beerkeller”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

serving typical austrian beerkeller food at resonable prices the place was absolutly packed out always a good sign when looking for some where to eat. Very fast service the staff were attentive and good great beer at good prices

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lmpottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Terrific Food, Great Location”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This restaurant is located in the heart of the old area of Innsbruck close to many major tourist attractions. My family and I liked this restaurant so much, we ate there twice during our three day stay in Innsbruck.

The menu has a good variety of food at a reasonable price. This was the first time I ever had spaetzle and I liked the meal so much that I started looking for this dish at other restaurants in other cities on our trip. I liked the crispy onions on top. The dish had a nice balance of cheese to noodles. Everyone in my family enjoyed what they ordered both times we ate here.

There is a large outdoor seating area in a prime location to enjoy watching people walk by. There is also a large indoor seating area with interesting statues in the dining area.

We had excellent service and our waiters spoke English. We would go to this restaurant again if we return to Innsbruck.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anonyme Island, Seychelles
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Food is a shame, do not go there !”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Saturday afternoon, a hot in the way to the mountains...
We decide to sit in the garden and to have a beer , and than decided to stay and to have dinner:
Beer was OK, but the food was the poorest I had in Austria for years...
We had : "tiroler gröstli" : it was dry , only potatoes and some extra dry soup meat in cubs (!!) no taste at all with a "tired" cabbage salad. I suppose they use the meat cubs for the soup as well..
My compagnon had "haus gemachte spätzle" , cold and some fried ognions on top ( cheese!!?).
I "complain " to the very tired , older than she was looking as, waiter and she try to confirm the poor cook abilities....
Do not go ther to eat, it is really a tourist attrape and it is not cheap at all.
The terase is looking to a city wall, so no nice atmosphere at all !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stiftskeller Innsbruck also viewed

 
Innsbruck, Tirol
 

Been to Stiftskeller Innsbruck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing