We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect choice for our stay in Austria.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gasthof Badl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gasthof Badl
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hall in Tirol
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect choice for our stay in Austria.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Gasthof Badl was recommended to me by someone who had stayed there, what better way to find somewhere ? I contacted Sonja, the proprietor, and she could not have been more helpful in arranging our stay.
Our holiday to Austria was to celebrate our Golden Wedding anniversary, we have visited the country several time in the past and it has always been our favourite destination, this time has to be the best.
We had a lovely room, with balcony, facing out to the best view you could imagine, the river Inn in the foreground, and mountains as a backdrop, wow !
Sonja had arranged for the most fragrant flowers we have ever smelt to be placed in our room, and a glass of wine on our arrival, what a welcome !
All the staff we so friendly and efficient, especially Max and Margit in the restaurant, we had some wonderful meals and good chats with them.
Each day Sonja recommended places she thought we might like to visit and gave us lots of ideas on things to do, you don't get that in the larger hotels.
After our ten day stay it was a wrench to leave, it was like saying goodbye to family, we could not have found a more perfect destination.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces out across the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    62
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
141
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were recommended the hotel by the tourist information office in Hall-in-Tyrol. The location is perfect, a leisurely 10 minute walk across a wooden footbridge into the centre of Hall - which is a beautiful old town.
The hotel is right next to a river and has easy access to the main road to Innsbruck.
Our room was facing the river and featured an attractive balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We wanted a place to layover for a couple of nights to settle our jet lag a bit but also see some sights near Innsbruck. We were not disappointed. We were directed to Gastohf Bahdl through a guide book that gave it good reviews. It was quite and very comfortable with easy pedesestrian access to the old town. The typical European breakfast was nicely served and we enjoyed a nice conversation with another traveler from the USA in keeping with the ambiance of a B & B.

Room Tip: We recommend the river view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I think we finally found the perfect place! This small hotel in this beautiful small town near Innsbruck was all we could have asked for -- and more! Due to floods in another area of Austria we had to make a quick change in our itinerary. We therefore arrived at the Gastof Badl a day earlier than we originally had reserved. Nevertheless the staff could not have been more gracious in making the necessary arrangements to accommodate us, even though they were nearly fully booked. The two nights we originally reserved turned into a a wonderful three-night stay.. The regional cuisine in the dining room was delicious -- especially the lake perch. Beds and rooms were very comfortable and clean. The hotel is in a quiet area of Hall in Tirol -- across the Inn River -- yet it takes no more than ten minutes over the nearby footbridge to reach the center of this beautiful Medieval town. If you desire a day in Innsbruck the train will whisk you there in about 15 minutes. Our group of four seniors has made a number of trips to Europe, and we all agreed this place is as good as, or better than any place we have ever stayed. I hope we can return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at this gasthof. Our room was clean and attractive with a wonderful view of the river and the mountains. A short walk across a wooden bridge leads you to the beautiful medieval town of Hall in Tirol. Frau Steiner is very hospitable and provides useful information about villages in the area to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Five years ago four of us visited Hall in Tirol and stayed at Gasthof Badl. We enjoyed the experience so much that on our second trip to Europe it was the only place we repeated our visit.
This family run hotel is fantastic. They gave us the same rooms we had been in the previous visit (at our request) and our stay was just as good. All email correspondence was so welcoming and friendly! As are most of the staff at this hotel.

If one is arriving by train and dragging large suitcases, its a fairly long walk (and confusing, make sure to get good directions)

we had second floor river facing rooms, facing the river Inn, really the most beautiful view, of the river and snow topped mountains.

Hall is such a beautiful spot in Austria. And there is plenty to do in and around there, even if you are just visiting for a few days as we were. One can easily get to Innsbruck by train too.

There is only one minor complaint that we had. At breakfast on our first morning the hostess was very irritable and stomped around in heavy shoes. We asked for English tea and received Earl Grey- I happened to smell it and she came rushing over and chastised me! the second morning the very friendly daughter was there and the whole atmosphere was different.

Breakfast was quite basic compared to other hotels we had stayed in, but if one looks at the great rate the hotel charges, its not surprising. Very good value for money, and we would recommend it without hesitation.

one tip- they do a fantastic, super quick, and reasonable laundry service!

Room Tip: River view rooms are a MUST
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Before our stay this family-owned gasthof sent a very welcoming email. When we got there the parking was easy and the gentleman at the desk welcomed us, answered our questions, even got us some ice and a wine cooler. The rooms have beautiful views of the river and mountains and the atmosphere is very relaxed. We walked across the wooden footbridge to the old town and it was mostly closed (Saturday afternoon) and they had a running race through the city and a beer tent set up. The rooms are big and very clean, the bathrooms are extremely well maintained and spotless. We ate a delicious dinner at the hotel restaurant and the provided a very large breakfast buffet for guests. I would highly recommend this hotel for a quite place to stay. There are walking trails which, if we had time, we would have loved to have walked. As we left the next day the woman at the counter gave us directions to the highway, which was easy to find. Only downside, and it was small, is that the wifi signal did not reach to the balcony. I would have liked to sit outside looking at the gorgeous scenery and checking email, etc. Inside the room it worked perfectly. I would recommend this for families, friends, solo, couples.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pisapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hall in Tirol
0.9 mi away
Austria Classic Hotel Heiligkreuz
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Engl
Hotel Goldener Engl
#3 of 7 in Hall in Tirol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.6 mi away
4Rest Hotel Hall
4Rest Hotel Hall
#6 of 7 in Hall in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Kapeller Innsbruck
Hotel Kapeller Innsbruck
#5 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
5.6 mi away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#4 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gartenhotel Maria Theresia
Gartenhotel Maria Theresia
#4 of 7 in Hall in Tirol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Badl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Badl

Property: Gasthof Badl
Address: Haller Feld 4 | 6070 Ampass, Hall in Tirol 6060, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Hall in Tirol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hall in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Badl 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gasthof Badl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Badl Hotel Hall In Tirol
Gasthof Badl Hall In Tirol
Gasthof Badl Austria/Hall In Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing