We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow what a burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ignite Cafe - MOVED

Ignite Cafe
Cuisines: Seafood, French, American, Mediterranean, Canadian
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fort Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow what a burger!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just a few doors from my office is the Ignite Cafe. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but we decided to give a local business a shot. I ordered the seared tuna salad and my wife ordered the burger on the menu. The salad was literally one of the best I have ever had, and my wife could not finish the beautifully massive, home-made scrumptious burger. I definitely benefited from that! It was like getting cool urban fare in the cafe down the street... totally surprised in Langley. I have now been back a few times with friends and haven't yet had a disappointing experience. I'd say - you have to try this little spot... worth it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmacsuburban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
langley, bc, canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“little gem”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Best spot for lunch. A great and changing seasonal menu. Dinner Friday and Saturday only. Prices are also very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llsanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a great find”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We were going out with friends for dinner and they suggested we try this cute little cafe, run by the chef and his wife. They are only open for dinner on Friday and Saturday, but they are open for lunch Tuesday-Saturday. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals and will definitely return. It would be a great place to meet a friend, have a glass of wine and share some appetizers. Try it - you'll like it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
205 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Finally a Vancouver style eatery in the heart of downtown Langley”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Fabulous food, great menu, with a combination of seared tuna to pork tenderloin. great service, not intrusive but available. The presentation is so urban chic with a ethnic twist. Excellent portion size! Parking is at a premium, so consider parking in the Langley City Hall parking lot and walk across the street, Very reminicent of Yaletown but without the sky high price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Local Gem - Dining here is a MUST!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I've eaten here for lunch a few times since local owner Dan purchased the cafe from a previous owner. He changed the name, gave it a face lift and created his own menu. What a great little restaurant - perfect lunch place and also available for dinners on the weekend (make a reservation - seating is limited). I've broken down my review into 4 categories: Food, Service, Atmosphere and Price.

FOOD

The food at Ignite is always delicious (soup of the day is sooooo good!!). Dan sources ingredients locally and always has the freshest produce. He makes all of his soups, sauces and dressings from scratch and it shows - the taste is always superb. I recently had lunch at Ignite and my group tried the french onion soup, potato leek soup, the Ignite Burger (topped with avocado, proscuitto, yummy flavoured mayo and stuffed with provolone cheese), the Cajun Chicken Sandwich (topped with delicious cajun seasoning, avocado, delicious spiced mayo, roasted red peppers with a full chicken breast (thats right - a full chicken breast that is perfectly cooked - none of these pre-processed chicken patties here), and the daily special - Roasted Chicken Panini. All of these sandwiches were served with fresh greens topped with an absolutely divine homemade vinaigrette.

The only downside (if you can really call it that) is that there aren't any fries with the burger! But honestly, given the size of the burger, unless you have a HUGE appetite, you won't even miss them. And probably if you talked really nice to Dan he would whip you up some kind of potatoey goodness to go along with the burger!!

Overall rating: 5/5 for the food!

SERVICE

I've got nothing bad to say about the service here. They check back to your table regularly to make sure you have everything you need. Dan usually comes out to check on the tables even if he's got a server on staff that day - thats what makes it special and makes the service so great. Its always personal - Dan remembers you and he'll take care of you when you're in his place.

Overall Rating: 5/5 for the Service!

ATMOSPHERE:

This cafe is cozy and makes the perfect lunch place. Not the most ideal location (its pretty hidden on a side street and street parking can be hit or miss) in the older area of downtown Langley, but the food makes it more than worth checking out!

I haven't noticed any music on at the cafe each time I've been in - it would add a nice touch to have some music playing while customers were there otherwise if there are only a couple tables of customers it can be a little awkward when you can hear everyone elses conversations!

Overall Rating: 4/5 for the Atmosphere!

PRICE

Prices are super reasonable at Ignite. You get a huge burger for only $11! Considering the locally sourced, fresh, healthy ingredients used in preparing the food, you're getting a bargain here. Wine is also reasonably priced here - starting at about 27/28 per bottle.

Overall Rating: 5/5 for the Price!

As you can see, I like this place. So do my co-workers and my friends. I'll be back and I would strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a great lunch place (or weekend dinner place) in Langley.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EKR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ignite Cafe also viewed

Langley, British Columbia
Fort Langley, Langley
 
Langley, British Columbia
Fort Langley, Langley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing