We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Relaxed Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Apsley Ski Lodge
Ranked #180 of 3,111 Tirol B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, Relaxed Place”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just returned with a group of friends after a fantastic trip. Great atmosphere with welcoming and friendly owners and staff full of advice and tips. Tom one of the joint owners ] ferried us over to one of the ski areas and acted as our guide for no cost at all. The chalet is located a 5minute walk from the lifts or transfer locations.

Whilst the breakfast was basic it was more than ample with cheeses, hams, bread, cereal, fruit juice, but the evening meal is fantastic, the best we had in Niederau or any catered accommodation; the chef is a genius and for €10 (it may be cheaper if you pay all at once as oppsed to ad-hoc like we did) it's literally unbeatable

Fantastic all round and i'd gladly come back again. My only advice is stay away from the 'Unicum' shots; they will literally make you go blind for an unspecified period of time.

Thanks Andy and the rest of the London Crewe.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unicum

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy19811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Just got back from a week at the Apsley and can't recommend it enough. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel completely welcome by the amazing staff, all very friendly, helpful and easy to get on with. The lodge is really well situated with the local lifts only a 5 minute walk away and loads of ski areas a short drive. The best part though was the food, nothing better than coming back from a long day skiing to be greeted by a cup of hot tea and Marek's delicious home-made cakes. The evening meals were also amazing, nowhere else in the resort offered such a variety at such good value. In short, head to the Apsley Ski Lodge - great people, great place. Thanks to all for a fantastic week!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The rooms were basic,beds very low to the ground,made it difficult to sit and put boots on and off and only one chair.Radiators luke warm,Very poor lighting,towels thin and small.Only ONE plug socket for the whole room,this was situated half the way up the wall by the door.There was a shelf underneath,just large enough to hold a mobile phone.Beds never made properly,no hairdryer,shower gel etc.We did have liquid soap and hot water.
The food was disgusting.First night,main course,a cold bowl of penne pasta per person,you helped yourself to a bowl of tomato sauce.Second night,main course,tomato sauce with bits of fish in it,this was called Fish Goulash with potatoes.Third night,main course,tomato sauce with baked beans,served with glued rice.Desserts were a joke,two tiny pieces of swiss roll,or a finger of apple tart etc.
Breakfast,cheap bread,a few warm rolls,had to be up early to have one.Concentrated orange juice,foul coffee,thin slices of cheap cheese and a cold meat?There were NO fresh vegetables ,fruit or joghurts.We had to eat out after three days.
WiFi useless,guests had to go to the Internet Cafe every dayto collect e-mails etc.
The bar was very overpriced,a glass of wine in a good Hotel was 2euros 30,the Lodge charged 4euros.We have travelled all over the world and have never stayed in a place like this before

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hatters2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApsleySkiLodge, Manager at The Apsley Ski Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Normally, it is our policy to reply in general to these type of reviews, but as we know who you are and are not surprised by this and any subsequent reviews related to your group we will make it slightly more direct, detailed and specific. Furthermore, we will be as professional as possible in response to what we feel was an inaccurate and unfair review, but we have to be honest, it will be hard as many in the village of Niederau including the Ski Hire shop, Ski School, Ski Photography department (who complained to me about your parties behaviour), and us breathed a huge sigh of relief when your group left.

1) I agree, we do have basic rooms. Which is why we keep our prices low. Are you aware you paid €28 a night with breakfast and full evening meal?

2) We have an excellent chef. He cooks wonderful meals (see other reviews). On day 2 of your stay, your group informed us that our meals were too complicated and they wanted chips and nuggets. Although it pained my chef to produce this dross, you asked for it, you got it. That I'm afraid is your parties fault.

3) I'm sorry we only had one chair in each room, it must have been a massive inconvenience,

4) I don't deny it, our wifi is a bit sketchy. We are all about getting on the mountain and don't put a huge emphasis on use of internet. Most of our guests come to a ski lodge to ski, which you didn't, so I'm sorry you didn't have the coverage you needed. I wasn't aware there was an internet cafe in Niederau, but now I do, I may have a word with them to get discounts for guests if they struggle at ours. thanks for the tip.

5) Your room had two plug sockets. One by the mobile shelf and one under the mirror.

6) Austrian beds are low.

7) I think it's reasonable for guests to bring there own shower gel. You may have scent preferences and allergies for example.

8) Our towels are 800gms and new this season.

9) Cold meats, cheese and semmels are the staple austrian diet. That's what we provide. your group didn't dislike it so much that it prevented them from taking 8-10 rolls out on the mountain each day, which we didn't object too. You turned up late for breakfast and I still provided you with breakfast, so I do take umbrage with your comment about needing to be at breakfast early.

10) In Austria, to make a bed, the duvet is half folded. This is the tradition and I assume this is what you mean by beds not being made properly.

11) There is no Hotel in Niederau that serves a glass of wine for €2.30 and our price is €3.50, not the €4 you claim. So, I'm not sure what you are on about here. We even allowed your group to bring your own wine and we lost considerable money on this.

In summary, i'm sorry you did't enjoy your stay. You do have a few valid points, but to be honest - for what you pay and the fact you aren't keen skiiers, this wasn't the place for you.

I am happy to discuss this further if you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Group of 12 plus infant stayed here over new year. Wonderful time had by all. All of the hosts and staff were very attentive and went above and beyond, had better service here than in any other hotel we have stayed in, including five stars! Rooms were basic but clean and comfortable, food was well above what we expected in the evening and a very adequate continental breakfast in the morning. Very well placed for centre of village and the ski lifts. Definately looking at returning next year. Thank you Apsley.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank kqs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd time at Apsley and are strongly thinking about our 4th stay. All the staff are fun and friendly, food is yummy and the hotel is very clean and also tidy. The location is great, as it is less than a 5min walk to niederau. Also you can catch a free bus to resorts elsewhere, which is just as good! Evenings are always lively and great fun!!!!!!

I would strongly recommend this hotel for everyone!!!!!!

P.S (Story of my life!!)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I spent four days at the Apsley in December and can honestly say it was one the best holidays I have ever had. The staff make you feel completely at home from the moment you arrive, and are always eager to meet your every need. The rooms are large, comfortable and warm with en suite bathrooms and there is a cosy lounge with a TV and DVD player as well as a lovely breakfast room. There is also a bar at the Apsley, which serves a wide variety of very reasonably priced drinks. Dinner is one of the highlights of the ski lodge- a delicious three course meal with fresh, local ingredients, exactly what you need after a tough day on the slopes! Speaking of skiing- the Apsley has access to a huge variety of slopes- including Niederau, Oberau,Aubach and Hofgarten- the furthest a mere 10 minute drive. There is lots of nice runs for all skiing abilities. Apsley also offers guiding on the slopes, which we took advanage of and were very glad to have such experienced hosts to show us the mountains. The Apsley has so much going for it- great location, excellent price, lovely food and amazing staff. I loved my time at the Apsley and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hannah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

If your ideal hotel is one where a smiling automaton in a pseudo-military uniform greets you from behind a big shiny reception desk and you are dead to them the moment they are serving someone else then you are not the kind of person that's going to like the Apsley. And you are an idiot. If, on the other hand, you are not an idiot and like the kind of place run by lovely humans who become your mates in seconds, where you get a lovely breakfast, a comfy bed, a lovely hot en-suite shower and an outstanding evening meal, then you might actually fall a bit in love with the Apsley and its crew. I did. They want everyone to have a great time and they'll do pretty much anything within reason to ensure you do. At this price, unsurprisingly, you don't get deep pile carpet, en-suite steam rooms or a personal butler. What you do get is everything you actually need at amazing value prices. You're not going to get a snooty "is everything to Sir's satisfaction?" or any of that impersonal sucky crap. But then why would you want that? After all, you're not an idiot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spurspants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tirol hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
176 reviews
21.1 mi away
Pension Florian am Park
57.9 mi away
Gastehaus Lienharterhof
Gastehaus Lienharterhof
#9 of 11 in Obertilliach
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Spielmann
Romantik Hotel Spielmann
#3 of 12 in Ehrwald
93 reviews
60.9 mi away
Pension Neururer
Pension Neururer
#7 of 157 in Solden
16 reviews
13.6 mi away
Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apsley Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsley Ski Lodge

Property: The Apsley Ski Lodge
Address: Wildschonauerstrasse | Niederau 191, 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 3,111 B&Bs / Inns in Tirol
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cute little 25 person hotel based in the Tirol region of Austria. It has fantastic access to the SkiWelt (the largest interlinked ski area in Austria). The owners offer a fun and friendly atmosphere with lots of skiing and boarding to be had by everyone. In the summer there is no end to the outdoor pursuits that are available to you during your stay at the Apsley Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Apsley Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsley Ski Lodge Austria/Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing