We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good as gold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Apsley Ski Lodge
Ranked #270 of 3,138 Tirol B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2013

bloody great time here, really loved the fact we were able to watch the convicts get beaten in the 1st ashes test. The self serve honesty bar is great too, although it is easy to get a bit carried away, even when drinking by yourself. It is also essential that you try on a Jimmys famous Vegemite and Cheese toasties, these alone make the trip worthwile, the scenery around the place is also pretty good

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 72 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

The service was second to none with all of the staff going out of their way to make sure that everyone staying was well looked after. The lodge has a great communal atmosphere which instantly promotes a very social environment with a great little bar attached to the dining area. The rooms are great value with the simple necessities.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I only stayed here for a couple of nights during my big summer European journey during the summer season. So it as off peak season which meant that the village and also the lodge weren't very busy. It's a lovely little stop to take if you want to just relax and take a break for as long as you like.
The staff are fantastic and really helpful with booking things for you and giving you tips for the town.
It has a perfect location, close to shops, restaurants and the gondolas.

I would highly recommend staying here if you just want to chill out with some affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Apsley Ski Lodge is excellent value and well located for the Niederau ski area.The English owners and their staff are welcoming and helpful. The highlight must be Steve and his partner Diane who act as 'head cook and bottle washer' but, more importantly, are the most wonderful friendly hosts who create a great convivial atmosphere both in the Lodge and, on occassions, the slopes as Steve is a very experienced skier and kindly coach. We also observed how they both went out of their way to support a young family enabling the children to eat earlier so the parents could relax and enjoy time with other guests. Great.

Room Tip: All seemed to have a balcony and view. Upper floor would probably be quieter but there was very litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamfromBurpham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Apsley Ski Lodge ticks all the boxes for a fun holiday with masses of skiing but without the silly prices of some resorts. An easy flight from Heathrow to Munich which was under £100 (no need to mess around with Easyjet!). And just an hour and 20 min drive from Munich - it was so quick to get to. There is skiing on your doorstep and easy access to huge amounts of other local ski areas. The hosts Tom and Jim were fantastic. They were always on hand to answer our questions or organise things for us. There are great local bars and restaurants within walking distance or stay in and fire up the karaoke machine! A great place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just back from a great weekend at the Apsley. Jim and Tom the hosts couldn't have done more for our group to make the weekend great. As a mixed ability group from beginners to advanced we were all perfectly looked after on the slopes (jim, tom & Matty will teach/guide you if needs be) although the real hosting was done in the après bars. The snow couldnt have been better - fresh powder each night. The skiing at Niederau itself is fine but the real attraction for me is that you smack bang in the middle of a huge amount of skiing with kitzbuhl, ski welt and a load of others just a few minutes ride away in the Apsley bus. Kareoke renditions of sweet child o mine were a particular favourite memory. I will most certainly be back once my knees have stopped aching and my liver has downsized again. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Benji_kt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

What a great place!! Apsley Ski lodge is in an amazing location with access to several excellent Ski areas all under one lift pass. We were there for a week and still have plenty more to explore when we return....which I hope will be very soon! The staff could not have been more helpful, informative and friendly if they tried and the atmosphere at the lodge is fantastic. If your looking for a friendly lodge with a lovely lounge/Bar, great hearty food and relaxed homey feel there is nowhere better!

Thank you for a truly brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LcW90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tirol hotels
18.8 mi away
Apparthaus Hofer
Apparthaus Hofer
#3 of 38 in Zell im Zillertal
14 reviews
73.9 mi away
Haus Alpenland
Haus Alpenland
#7 of 12 in Tannheim
3 reviews
41.6 mi away
Tyrolis Hotel
Tyrolis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zirl
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Biohof Weissensteiner
#4 of 23 in Kirchberg
1 reviews
53.1 mi away
AlpinLodges Kuhtai
AlpinLodges Kuhtai
#6 of 9 in Kuhtai
19 reviews
14.2 mi away
Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apsley Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsley Ski Lodge

Address: Wildschonauerstrasse | Niederau 191, 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 3,138 B&Bs / Inns in Tirol
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cute little 25 person hotel based in the Tirol region of Austria. It has fantastic access to the SkiWelt (the largest interlinked ski area in Austria). The owners offer a fun and friendly atmosphere with lots of skiing and boarding to be had by everyone. In the summer there is no end to the outdoor pursuits that are available to you during your stay at the Apsley Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Apsley Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsley Ski Lodge Austria/Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing