We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality, right price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Poseidon - CLOSED

Poseidon
Price range: $10 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good quality, right price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have been there with my family a Friday night of April, without any preliminary reservation. Nevertheless, the staff was quite nice with us, the service was acceptably quick, and, most important, the food was very good, and also generous: none of us was able to finish her/his meal. My children remember the fried potatoes still now.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benedotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst Greek restaurant we've ever been to”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Actually we were in this place twice: at the beginning of our trip from the Netherlands to Croatia and in two weeks – on our way back home. The first time we were rather satisfied with food and service, so we decided to come back. And this was our mistake… I don’t understand what could happen in two weeks! The waiter was the same as the first time, there were little more people than before, but there were more staff as well. So last time our waiter understood English, although he was answering German-Italian-and- I-don’t-know-what other languages. But this time he was like being irritated all the time when we asked him for something. And when he understood that we can speak Russian he asked the waitress who knew Russian a bit to get to know what do we want this time But still he was our waiter, not the girl. The next shock was wine in a dirty glass. And when we asked to change it… the same glass was on our table in couple of minutes We would leave immediately, but we have to feed our baby. So we stayed hardly eating our dishes. I don’t like to wright negative comments, but this time I got really angry, especially by the attitude of the staff and their lazy manner of service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Olenka81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Verry good and typicaly greek cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Also friendly service and good wine...
I´ll come again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value, good food, and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

This restaurant is a short walk out of Salzburg's old city. Greek themed food, lots of variety to the menu, with excellent service. Nice outdoor seating. Complimentary glasses of greek liquor. Waiter was very friendly. English menu available. Try the swordfish!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happycamper_arl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent warm hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

On entering the restaurant we were greeted by a warm welcoming smile and offered Menu cards in English without even having to ask for these unlike many other restaurants in Austria. While we waited for our food we were served a complimentary anise drink. The food arrived quickly. Thee tzaziki a starter was served in a decently large quantity, my husband ordered a suflaki which arrived with interesting accompaniments. I am a vegetarian and ordered a delicious farmer's pan. This consisted of succulent peppers, subscribe and zucchini baked in a heavenly slightly hot creamy sauce. A finger licking tomato rice with potatoes was served. My son had a salmon which he was not too happy with as he complained that it was 'loaded with bones' however the rest of that digs - again beautifully cooked potatoes, rice and tzaziki were more than enough to keep him happy without picking at the bones! The international warm and quick approach to being a service oriented restaurant combined with the fine in-house white wine and really tasty food made this an enjoyable experience. A touch of real breve in our Austrian holiday - an added bonus to the change in food and atmosphere. Very Close to the Astoria hotel where we stayed. For those to make it here - enjoy!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingstarMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poseidon also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing