We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$266
View deal
Expedia.com$281
Hotels.com$281
eDreams$266
Priceline$281
CheapTickets$281
Travelocity$281
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveler rating
439
199
48
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
439
199
48
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art hotel rubber duck stone steps perfect location old town historic building front desk staff over christmas large room breakfast buffet is getreidegasse city festspielhaus birthplace furnishings cheese corridor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 712 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2019

It's really hard to know how to rate this hotel. On the one hand, it's location is excellent. You can walk anywhere through the old city and it's surrounding attractions. This hotel is a unique establishment featuring all types of quirky art work and room designs. Our room was a semi-suite with an extremely small bathroom. Some rooms have two sink bathrooms and others are very small and in need of updating. Our room was clean and quiet. However, there are some serious problems with this hotel that will definitely drive me to search for another hotel on my next stay. First--it is very hard to find personnel at the front desk. Check in took 15 minutes--15 minutes for anyone to show up at the front desk and it was only 6:00 p.m. Rarely was there anyone at the front desk. Give yourself 10-30 minutes at the front desk with any request or need. The cleaning crew left the vacuum in the hallway throughout the day and never refilled our refrigerator. Our room did not have a coffee machine. Please read other reviews. Safety at this hotel is an issue. Parking is complicated and located in a parking garage a good distance from the hotel. There is no valet to help with your luggage or parking so be prepared. The breakfast was okay, but once again the staff was minimal, slow and frequently forgot to bring us the food we requested. If you want to eat an evening meal at this hotel, be sure and make reservations. They will turn you away without a reservation--rudely turn you away. Sorry Blaue Gans, but you need to do some work.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenhD5112JQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2019 via mobile

Stylish design hotel with super comfy rooms, really nice bathrooms and delicious food. Perfect location right in the city center. Just make sure you ask for directions on how to arrive by car and where to park as it can be tricky given that the hotel is located in a pedestrian area. It is easy though as one can arrive from the back side by car and then use a parking place nearby.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank SL444
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Marketing Assistant at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2019

Hello SL444,
thank you for your kind words! We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay in our stylish design hotel Blaue Gans and enjoyed the short distance to the Altstadt Garage next to the hotel.
We hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel & very cozy restaurant to have a great dinner.
Best regards from Salzburg,
Johanna Bacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

My first trip to Salzburg was about 10 years ago, and I also stayed here at Blaue Gans. On this most recent trip, the staff were exceptionally welcoming and friendly and very helpful in answering our questions and making sure that we got all or the information we needed to find our way around and to also ensure we were comfortable during our stay. I really like the boutique feel of the hotel and that the rooms are designed in a way that's modern, but comfortable.

If you stay in this part of the city, take note that it's a very busy tourist area. However, I also find this to be something which does not take away from the charm of the area - not like other cities. Getting back to the safe, quiet haven of the Blaue Gans was perfect.

There isn't much that I could fault with the hotel at all. The only thing that all 3 of us had issues with, was the connectivity of the internet. It kept dropping off. Even thought I was on holiday with my family, there's always work to be done and I would it a little difficult to get things done. They might consider looking into improving wifi connectivity throughout the hotel.

Room tip: Getting to some of the rooms is a bit of a maze. Mr room overlooked the Getreidegasse, but double windows kept it absolutely quiet.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank antoinjstrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Marketing Assistant at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Dear antoinjstrachan,
we are really happy that you stayed in our hotel again after 10 years and came back to your perfect "quiet haven of the Blaue Gans".
It´s nice to hear that you had a wonderful stay in Salzburg and enjoyed our very personal, welcoming and friendly staff, which gave you all the necessary information about your trip.
Our hotel is situated in the very heart of the old town of Salzburg, oppoosite the Pferdeschwemme and the Festspielhaus. It´s a silent place and feel-good oasis in the middle of Salzburg´s "hustle and bustle" for guests like you.
Hope to see you again soon in our cozy restaurant & Boutique hotel to welcome you in one of our modern-traditional rooms.
Best wishes from Salzburg,
Johanna Bacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019 via mobile

Excellent hotel in super excellent location. Great rooms, service and bathrooms. Very boutique and modern. And you are in center of all the action. Very nice breakfast and a nice bar and restaurant.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank HKG122
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Marketing Assistant at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2019

Dear HKG122,
we are glad to hear such a kind feedback and are happy that we met your expectations.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon to offer a quiet place in the center of all the action and offer you a comfortable stay.
Best regards from Salzburg,
Johanna Bacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

Stayed for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. Check in was a breeze and the young lady at the front desk was amazing (personable, warm, and bubbly). Our room was spacious and great for unwinding after days of exploring the city. Breakfast was yummy and plentiful. Can't beat the location.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank ktjmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Marketing Assistant at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2019

Hallo ktjmitchell,
thanks for your lovely feedback. We are really happy that you had a good time in Salzburg and enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards from Salzburg,
Johanna Bacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews