We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveler rating
399
181
42
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
181
42
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart hotelperfect locationoldest innthe main shopping streetold towngreat hotelmozart's birthplacesitting areafront desk staffloved this hoteleasy accesshotel is locatedloved salzburgwould definitely stay here againbreakfast was includedroom was spaciousstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 647 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

The hotel is located on Getreidegasse which is the main shopping street. Room furnishings are minimalist but very comfortable and the double glazing makes the room quiet. Bathroom is compact but very functional and the whole hotel sparkles with cleanliness. Excellent advice is provided by the knowledgeable staff and the restaurant provides a great breakfast with lots of choices.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear Robert,
thanks for the mention of the soundproof windows. We have had them installed in spring and they offer really complete peace in the rooms for our guests.
Once outside, you are in the middle of the action. Perfect for a stay in our city.
best regards
Iris Niederreiter
Marketing Assistant
and the arthotel Blaue Gans team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

We spent 2 nights at Blaue Gans and found it to be a perfect base for a short stay in Salzburg. Located on the main pedestrianized shopping street in the old town all the main sites are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is very quirky with interesting Art installations that provide a good topic for conversation. We had limited contact with staff but those we did see were very polite and professional. The Breakfast selection was great with plenty of options to set you up for a day of sightseeing. The Room was spacious with a good sized bathroom and an air conditioning which was functional but a little noisy. The bed was a little too hard for our liking but OK for just a 2 night stay. The Hotel provides free WiFi but we found the signal strength weak and were not able to access it but this didn't cause us any difficulties. It would be good if there was more information available in the room in English about the hotel and the city itself. Publications were provided but all in German. Overall we would definitely recommend the Blaue Gans and would stay again if we were visiting Salzburg.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DorsetKezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear DorsetKezzer,
great if our location met your needs and expectations and you could experience the best of our city.
During your stay during the Salzburg Music Festival, we have many magazines in the rooms, which are unfortunately only in German. That's right.
Surely technology soon is that advanced,that one can take a pictures of an article and it will be translated for us.
Of course, the internet must work properly then. We are working constantly in out old walls to cover all angles and are confident to have soon caught everyone.
Thank you for your recommandation.
best regards
Iris Niederreiter
Marketing Assistant
and the arthotel Blaue Gans team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018

Our family of 4 stayed at Blaue Gans for 2 nights in July and had a wonderful stay. The room was quite spacious with room for a king bed as well as the sofa bed pull out and additional bed for our younger daughter. The bathroom was also spacious with plenty of space for toiletries. The service was great from both the front desk and the restaurant staff at breakfast. We loved the variety of foods available at breakfast and I can't say enough about the location. We were right in the old part of Salzburg with plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Most attractions were in walking distance from the hotel. Parking is not on-site, however the public parking garage is not too far from the hotel. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and I'd highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amiromanowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Location. Location, Location - HURRAY!!!
Thank you for your recommandation amiromanowski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

Perfect stop off on our way to Croatia.

Amazing location - smack bang in the middle of the main shopping street (but the rooms are as quiet as anything, so you’d never know).

Easy to find and the reception staff were excellent when we were. One of them accompanied my husband in the car to the secure car park( he said the facilities were great - well lit and secure) to ensure he could find his way back.

Room was lovely - simple, alpine and spacious. Nice bathroom. Quite and comfy beds.

Breakfast was delicious and the outside bar/restaurant was nice (we had a free welcome drink).

Given the location and service - highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank lkay444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear Ikay
lovely your words - thank you very very much.
Hope you had a great time in Croatia.
best regards
Iris Niederreiter
Marketing assistant
and the arthotel Blaue Gans team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

I have stayed at this lovely Hotel several times & it never fails to please. If you are looking for something different, unique then book. The building is the oldest inn in Salzburg and turned into a Hotel. All the rooms are different, I’ve stayed in four and I can assure you they are.

The rooms are modern, bright, spacious and decorated individually. Bathrooms are really nice and the rooms are kept very clean.

There are different levels in the hotel decorated in fabulous art work. The hotel is classed as an art hotel and you can see why. It also has a small library where there are discreet tea making facilities. Hot water is housed in a beautiful decorated silver tea urn & tea is self served into white tea cups.

The breakfast is substantial, there is a cold buffet with cereal, fresh fruit, dried fruit, seeds, yogurt, fruit compotes. Meats, cheese, various pickles and fresh bread and croissants. You can also order eggs in various ways and bacon.

The restaurant where breakfast is served has barrelled ceilings which only adds to its uniqueness.

I’ve also eaten dinner and can honestly say you would not be disappointed. Lastly, the staff I have encountered have always been well mannered and professional in their duties.

The Hotel is in the heart of the old town and just up from one of the houses Mozart lived in. A short walk from the river, Opera House the castle and most museums.

To be honest there is nothing negative to say about the hotel from my perspective. Enjoy!!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled on business
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

You give us so many ++++ Neil A - that can only come from a positive person. Stay the way you are and true to yourself, just like us.
Goodbye and good luck until then
Iris Niederreiter
Marketing Assistant
and the arthotel Blaue Gans team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews