We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveler rating
404
182
43
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
182
43
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art hotel perfect location oldest inn the main shopping street old town great hotel mozart's birthplace sitting area front desk staff loved this hotel easy access hotel is located loved salzburg would definitely stay here again breakfast was included room was spacious street noise
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 654 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2018

quirky hotel,bathroom designer needs to go back to school. Having a shower flooded the bathroom as glass shield had a 1/4 inch gap between the two doors. Unfortunately has polyester duvets which cook you as they do not breathe. Excellent position only 200m from Mozart's birth house

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dpe361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Gästebetreuung at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Thank you Dpe361 for writing down your impressions.
Design vs. Funktion - what shall i say? We will find another solution.
best regards
Iris Niederreiter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2018

Arthotel Blaue Gans is located in the main street of old town, and it has easy access to all parts of town. Location is just great! The staff is super friendly and willing to assist at all times and there was a good variety in breakfast with lots of options. The only problem that we had is the heating in the room. Although we stayed in the hotel in early January, the temperature in the room easily approached 85-90 degrees. There was no thermostat to control the temperature and we basically had to sleep with the windows wide open at night or we would suffocate. We complained to the front desk and a lady came to "turn off" the heating system but she noticed that it was already off, so nobody knew the reason why the room was so hot all the time. In addition to the heat, there were also bugs in the room, the ones that bite.... I guess the bugs thought it was summer time ....

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with controllable temperature
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suely K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Gästebetreuung at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear Suely K,
thank you for your review. In winter our AC is off.
We are sorry that due to the high temperature your stay quality and your sleep have suffered.
Concerning the bugs a test was carried out after the stay by an exterminator which came to the conclusion that no infestation is there.
Greetings from Salzburg, where it is now really warm and the spring has prevailed.
best regards
Iris Niederreiter
Marketing Assistant
and the arthotel Blaue Gans team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2018 via mobile

We arrived on 23rd January to one of the warmest welcomes we have ever had in a hotel. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and it set the tone for a very happy few days in Salzburg. The hotel itself is stylish and spotlessly clean. Our room (215) was generously sized, with a comfortable bed (two singles pushed together rather than a double). We asked for extra pillows and these were provided. The bathroom was lovely, though if you are tall you might want to ask for a room with a walk-in shower. Standing in the bath to use the shower meant that my head was touching the ceiling (I’m 6’2”). Breakfast is an extensive buffet: we particularly liked the delicious freshly baked bread. We didn’t eat in the hotel, but did have drinks in the bar/bistro. We also appreciated the hotel’s location in the Old Town (Altstadt) which made it easy to reach most of the sights on foot. Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank NeilGJ888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2018

Dear NeilGJ888,
you were and you are welcome everytime you are in Salzburg.
Stay healthy and just the best for 2018,
the arthotel Blaue Gans Team
and especially the Ladies and Gentlemen from the front desk- Andreas, Benji, Dietmar, Dubro, Isi, Meli and Verena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

Location is perfect. To be able to walk straight out the front door into the lane ways and passages of the Old Town is great. And taxi and tour pickups at the rear entrance is so convenient.
But the staff are what sets this place apart. So friendly, happy and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. To be always greeted by name is so welcoming.
And breakfast was great, but dinner was amazing. I thoroughly recommend both the hotel and the restaurant. If I’m lucky enough to return to Salzburg, I wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
Thank MerryHell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Gästebetreuung at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Dear MerryHell 2013,
we are honored.
Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2018

If you are going to Salzburg and want to be in a central location at a reasobale price, this may fit your bill. We went there with friends in November for the great Christmas markets. You can walk to them in just a few minutes from this hotel, which is right in the middle of the shopping and restaurant area.

We stayed in a budget room, which was very small and had no view. Room was clean. Bathroom was very small with no privacy. Our friends upgraded to a larger room which they loved. We spend very little time in our room, so we didn't mind.

I suggest getting the breakfast, as it is excellent with many choices of meats, fruits, juices, pastries. The restaurant is very busy and is one fo the best in Salzburg.

They had a place you could do wine tasting next door to our hotel. It was busy and usually yspilled out into the street. Noise level no problem..streets cleared out around 10:00 PM.

Staff at front desk were very friendly and helpful with local transportation and tours. Make sure you go to the castle. We walked to the top..quite a hike, but when we got to the top and looked over the back side, we sere surprised with a "Sound of
Music" view of the Alps behind the castle..I'll never forget that view.

Room Tip: upgrade to a larger oom. Art not that remarkable. Get this hotel for the location!
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RdLsTrvld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Gästebetreuung at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Dear LRdLsTrvld,
what a wonderful tip for the future visitors of Salzburg.
Thank you for the insider tip!
best regards and lots of breathtaking views for you in 2018
Iris Niederreiter
Assistant Marketing Manager
and the arthotel Blaue Gans team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews