We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
arthotel Blaue Gans
Ranked #7 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and it was the perfect location for our trip. We only had 1 full day to sightsee and this was the perfect starting point in Salzberg. There is off-site parking (actually inside the large mountain) very close to the hotel. My recommendation would be to call or email the hotel ahead of time to find out how to get to the parking garage. It took us about 30 -40 minutes of frustratingly driving around trying to find parking. If you do not call ahead just find a parking spot outside of the city walls, walk to the hotel, and they can then direct you. This is what we ended up doing. Be sure to go to breakfast hungry as there is a very large selection of cheeses, meats, eggs, breads, and assorted juices...it was fansatic! There was so much food that we even skipped lunch we were so full! There is a wine bar downstairs, however, it was closed during our visit. The location is great for starting the walking tour, walking into the new town, close to restaurants and bars! We stayed in a recently renovated room close to the upstairs lounge where tea and cookies were served all day. This was a fantastic stay and we would definitely stay here again if we ever return to Salzberg!

Room Tip: There is an elevator therefore if you have a lot of luggage there is no problem with a higher up roo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gad26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for arthotel Blaue Gans
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 576 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

the positives:
- the location of the blaue gans is perfect, right in the heart of the city center on the main pedestrian shopping street.
- the hotel's common spaces and guest rooms have a contemporary/minimalist decor. it's a very chic looking property.
- my guestroom was nice -- bathroom was recently updated, shower had terrific water pressure. wi-fi signal was strong, and the there was an in-room safe in the closet. i traveled alone and booked a 'regular' double. this room was perfectly comfortable for 1, but it was pretty small -- i would recommend booking one of their larger double rooms if you're traveling as a couple.
- the front desk staff were always very kind, friendly, and helpful.
- the property is kept very clean and neat.

my minor quibbles
- the air inside my room was extremely stuffy, even in late march/early april when it was freezing outside. there is an individual heating/air con unit in each room, but turning that on did little to circulate the air or help the situation. the single, small window in my room faced the hotel's inner courtyard. noise from the hotel's bar and restaurant went on late into the night, so leaving the window open all night wasn't an option. it made for an uncomfortable night's sleep.
- the service at breakfast was painfully slow. the food was totally delicious, but i'm not sure it was worth the long waits, having to get up and track down wait staff if i wanted to order a refill on my espresso, etc. one morning i waited 50 mins(!) for an order of scrambled eggs -- there were only 3 other tables taken in the restaurant so it's not like they were overwhelmed with customers. it's nice that the food was good, but frustrating having to wait so long for it.
- despite hanging the 'do not disturb' sign on my door handle, housekeeping entered my room twice one afternoon. this should not happen ever, let alone 2 times in the same day.

but overall i would recommend the blaue gans -- the location and the value make up for the small inconveniences mentioned in my review.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank ChefsChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Located on the Altstadt's center of activity, Getreidestrasse, a visitor is ideally positioned to explore Salzburg. A short and cheap bus ride from the airport or train station, it is a beautiful, contemporary hotel. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. The included breakfast is staffed, serving the hot drinks you request and omelets. The customary breakfast foods served in Austria and Germany are here, with an especially good variety of breads. Our room was clean and well-appointed; the bath was a highlight. Find the wine cellar and the library; the latter has tea available in the afternoon. The wifi is fast and reliable. We were very comfortable here and this hotel enhanced our visit to this wonderful city. We will stay here again on our next visit.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This arty quirky hotel is great fun. We stayed in the Maison Room - fabulous but difficult to find in this 660-year old building. No one offered to show us the room, just sort of pointed us in the direction. It was a difficult room to find, down narrow corridors, and small steps up to the room - lugging our suitcases. But once we found the room, it was 1,500 sq feet - had a small cooktop, cooking utensils, rooms on multiple floors, large living room, bathroom, 2 bedrooms (one bedroom with fold-out couch. GREAT Breakfast included, discount on nearby parking, poor WiFi but there is a computer near the front desk for guest use. Not a whole lot to do in Salzburg, but some nice walking around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great location on Getreidegasse close to many highlights in the Altstadt.
Friendly and helpful staff on the desk and at breakfast.
Tasteful decoration and some homely touches.
Our suite was unique, and in an older section of the building, revealing some of its long and interesting history - though perhaps the stairs would be challenging for older guests.
Altogether a very enjoyable stay in a unique property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJCowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The room was nice but the air was extremely stuffy. Opening a window was not really an option because of the intense traffic on Sunday night in die Altstadt. Which is strange as traffic is banned, however there is a lot of traffic still. So the front desk advises to switch on the airco on the middle of oktober in Vienna!!! That all for the "special" rate of 200 euro, while the restaurant is closed because it is their "rest day".

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyMichiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great location, but lacks the ambience of a boutique hotel. The check-in/lobby area is extremely small at best...cold and crowded as it is a pass through for other people in the old town. The restaurant is excellent as is the breakfast. The restaurant staff were very good. At the price of a "ROOM ONLY" at this hotel, I would expect a coffee maker in the room as well as international/ English T.V. (I.e. CNN, BBC, SKY). Again, the location is great, but the room isn't special. You don't have the feeling of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kawilliams57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
833 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to arthotel Blaue Gans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about arthotel Blaue Gans

Address: Getreidegasse 41-43, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#8 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#9 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $183 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — arthotel Blaue Gans 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blaue Gans, whose tradition dates back 660 years, is the oldest inn in the city of salzburg. It boasts a prime location opposite the festival hall and in the heart of the historic centre, which has been declared a world cultural heritage site, and is only a short walk from mozart's birthplace.We have carefully combined the historic walls of this inn, which is steeped in tradition, with a modern design and contemporary art. The result is a place that exudes a natural feel, a venue for people who like to pursue their own way. we are pleased to accompany you along a part of this way.artHOTEL: more than just a Designhotel, synonymous with the personal freedom for an individual lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your arthotel Blaue Gans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthotel Blaue Gans Salzburg
Arthotel Blaue Gans Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing