We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$103
Hotels.com$103
Priceline$102
eDreams$102
Orbitz.com$103
Travelocity$103
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
86
10
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
86
10
2
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 99 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile

Greeted at door beautiful modern rooms spotless quiet. Great character perfect view of mountains. Bus stop to Salzburg right out side door highly recommend this amazing place can't fault anything.
Nice quiet location about 4 kilometres from town

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jacquinandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2017

My wife and I stayed at Pension Ballwein for two nights during our driving tour of Bavaria. I can honestly say that this was our favorite place to stay during our entire 9 day trip. Upon arrival we were greeted at the door by the smiling owners, Daniela and Simon (and their adorable baby daughter, Teresa). We were given a map of Salzburg and then Daniela told us how the local bus system works, the times it runs, and even gave us a suggestion for dinner ideas in town.

Our room was spacious, modern, and sparkling clean. We had plenty of room to unpack our bags, a balcony, and an umbrella hanging on the coat rack (which came in handy due to the rain we had that night).

Breakfast was downstairs in the bright, modern dining space where music softly played in the background as our attentive hosts poured our tea as we gathered our food.

The morning we left, Daniela even checked the traffic report for us (we experienced a lengthy stau at the border on our way in) letting us know that the road was clear for our drive back to Munich.

If you plan on visiting Salzburg (and you should) do yourself a favor and book your stay with Daniela and Simon at Pension Ballwein.

1. The bathroom is equipped with a rain shower (which feels wonderful compared to some of the cramped showers we used along our travels).

2. There is plenty of free parking. Take advantage of this and then use the bus to go into the old town.

3. The 21 bus stops directly in front of Pension Ballwein. You can buy a 24 hour bus pass on board from the driver for a little over 5 euro. On the way back, you will want to get off at the Gsengerweg stop.

4. Berchtesgaden is an easy 30 minute drive from this location.

5. There is a lift available (the only one we saw at any of our stops) for those who need it. The stairs are wide, well made and open onto a large landing.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view of the green fields and mountains in the back... It's breathtaking!
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R4Hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile

Truly recommendation for this charming place to stay few days, enjoying Salzburg but also fantastic Tirol...be aware that with booking this B&B you will chosen the best place for short vocation: clean, comphortable, warm, quite...and only few minutes from the marbtles Salzburg city centre ..."value certainly above the money"..

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Pecurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017

This pension on the outskirts of Salzburg is relatively new (2 Years) and is really well and thoughtfully done. The breakfast is fantastic and Daniela and Simon are very gracious hosts. The view of the mountains from our small porch is beautiful and the area is quiet. You need to either have a car or take the bus (about a 10 minute ride) to the old city, but the bus stop is right in front of the hotel. If you purchase the Salzburg Card, transit is free. We are budget travelers and this hotel is definetely above what we generally get from our hotel dollar. We would stay here again if we come back to the area.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2016

Pros:

1) The owner Simon, his Wife, and the lovely 5 weeks old Baby Teresa.
2) Room is good, spacious, and clean.
3) It is a family owned entity.
4) Really good value of Money.
5) Free Parking.
6) A nearby public bus stop. A bus every 30 minutes can pick you to the center of the city.
7) Good Location.
8) A water heater with bags of coffee and tea in the room.
9) A refrigerator.
10) Breakfast is basic but lovely and fresh.
11) Free Internet.

Cons:

1) The water kettle in the room wasnt good.
2) The slowest elevator in the world. However, you don’t need it much unless you have many luggage.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJYami
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews