We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go local food”
Review of Gasthaus Zwettlers

Gasthaus Zwettlers
Ranked #12 of 642 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Austrian, Diner, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The "Zwettler's" is located in the city center of Salzburg and is run by a new and young team since June 2011.We offer typical austrian classics as well as seasonal changing dishes.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Go local food”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This restaurant was a trip advisor recommendation and boy was it worth it. Went on Saturday evening but could not get in so made a reservation for Sunday and we found ourselves at a lovely table at the back of the premises.
The lederhosen costumed staff were jolly and helpful especially when recommending drinks. We elected the house red which was delightful.
We selected pork filet and the Goulash with dumpling a very traditional hearty meal. Both were so tasty.
We both agreed that we would have been very happy to come back on a second night.
Top tip, make a reservation and don’t be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    451
    89
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I went by myself but I was looking for a place to eat beyond the (also nice) Christmas market goodies. Turned out to be a great choice as prices were not so high and food was really hearty (hello, first snow of the year) and portions were big. I had a very nice meal made with a fried egg over potatoes, bacon and meat with a local beer and was utterly satisfied. I almost wished I had left some space for an equally traditional dessert, which looked great in the other tables.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lebarrueto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very nice place, very typical, the restaurant is very full of tourist at any hours, but the staff is friendly and fast. I like the beers but autrian food is not my favourite so I can not make a valid judgment but overall it is very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adventureswithnarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hearty Austrian fare and a great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This restaurant had such a great atmosphere that we ate here twice. Popular with locals and tourists alike, it serves traditional, hearty Austrian food and good beers with a great, buzzy atmosphere. The front of the restaurant has a bar, where smoking is permitted and it was bit smoky if you want to eat but the restaurant at the back was very comfortable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved the attmosphere.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We ate at this restaurant after reading reviews from Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.
We ate at a table with other people that we did not know, but were fine with it since most people were doing the same. WE had traditional schnitzel and it was delicious. The bar is smokey, but the restaurant was fine. We had a waitress that spoke English so were able to understand the menu a bit better. A must go when in Munich.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlsz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus Zwettlers also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Gasthaus Zwettlers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing