We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian food at affordable prices in Salzburg”
Review of Tajmahal

Tajmahal
Ranked #3 of 642 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: IN NOVEMBER 2016 ON MONDAY WE ARE CLOSED! WE COOK VEGAN FOOD WE SERVE HALAL MEAT WE COOK GLUTEN FREE FOOD Just walking distence from Railway Staition, Mirabel Garden,Old Town and Many Hotels Like Hotel Mercure,Crown Plaza, Cordial Theater,Europa, Rennisonce, Bergland, Lasserhof, auersberg, Wolfdietrich, Sheraton, Sacher, Bristol, meininger, Mozart, Motel One, Ramada, Holiday inn, Austrotel, and many more Hotels.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Indian food at affordable prices in Salzburg”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Tajmahal Salzburg's Indian Punjabi food was amazing .. better than what you would find at a typical Delhi restaurant. Per person is approx 15-18 Euro. Great staff & caring owner. For dinner, make sure you place your last order by 930-945 PM latest...else, you might be disappointed. The place is very popular with the local crowd as well...so 930 PM is the peak rush time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajeev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    230
    41
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must visit if you are missing Indian food and warmth”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had visited Salzberg in June 2013 last week with family. Since we have been traveling extensively and were tired if European cuisines we were scouting for a good Indian restaurant. This restaurant was referred to me by a colleague of mine who is a frequent visitor to this part of country hence we decided to visit. Hence we just called directly and restaurant accommodated us and when we reached a table was kept reserved for us. The owner and his associates were very warm and were accurate about the time they would take to deliver the order. Food was good and overall experience was excellent. Also they helped us getting a cab hence we were overall at ease in the new country. It's a must visit place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 29Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice place a little off the beaten path”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were ready for some Indian food during our trip, and Taj Mahal filled the bill quite nicely. It's in a quiet neighbourhood (but within easy walking distance of our hotel). We were quite pleased with all our selections and the owner and staff took good care of us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRSJAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Food !!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Excellent food, normal rates....value for money !!..convienient location..
.........................

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nashkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Indian restaurant”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had tried other restaurants too but found this one to be exceptional. It was located very close to our hotel so we could walk over to it. The ambience was fine, typical Indian, the owner, Mr. Bhushan, was very warm and the meals dished out were just great. We had three meals there, the Punjabi thali, the Rajasthani thali, veg biryani, chicken biryani, rogan josh, butter chicken, dal makhani, mixed veg and rice. The butter chicken was great, very tasty and finger licking. The thalis were very good too but they served only one roti with the thali, that is far too less and so was the rice. The biryanis were great too but best were the wheat, not maida, rotis that they served with cut onions and pickles. The owner was great and talks with him reveals the passion with which he served the food. Would definitely advise to make a visit and not give it a miss. The foreigners too were there in large numbers. Biryani portions were good and so were the butter chicken but the thalis were a bit meagre, could do with increase in quantity. Prices are a bit higher but worth it. Service is a bit tardy but , I guess, there are many people it is inevitable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashray70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tajmahal also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Tajmahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing