We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great "Gasthof" in Salzburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schloss Aigen

Schloss Aigen
Ranked #64 of 629 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great "Gasthof" in Salzburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This restaurant close to Salzburg offer atmosphere of local gasthof with wooden floor, but at the same time it offers the first class service with fantastic food. We had tasting menu accompanied with Austrian wines. Everything was perfect, from additional starters, asparagus soup, blackberry sorbet in the middle, beef (specialty of the house) and finally perfect dessert. Wine recommendation by glasses was excellent. Simply, perfect dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    48
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worthy of 2 Michelin stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Following the raves in Tripadvisor, I visited this restaurant with my family. Using a GPS navigator, it was not difficult to find. I agree with what nearly everyone says about this place so let me add a few things which may not have been mentioned:

We were told by the waitress that this restaurant was frequented by the parents of Mozart! It has plenty of history.

Going to the restaurant, we passed by Georg Von Trap Strasse. Sure enough, it turns out that the original Von Trapp estate is very near the restaurant. As a cheap thrill, we took pictures at the estate later that evening.

As I left, I shook hands with the owner and sincerely told him that the restaurant deserves 2 Michelin stars (it currently has none). The food, service and ambience are that good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Streetsmart88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Salzburg restaurant not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Schloss Aigen is a family run restaurant serving traditional food in very fine surroundings. A warm and friendly welcome precedes delicious food, perfectly prepared and presented. Local organic beef is a speciality but not to the exclusion of excellent vegetarian dishes. Herr "Scloss Aigen" recommended a wonderful Grünerveltliner wine to accompany our meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AABCtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I'm going to echo what most other reviewers posted regarding Aigen. Yes this place is a little hard to find even with GPS. We visited solely based on TA reviews and I can definitely say we were not let down.

Service was excellent despite the fact that we were dressed like tourists and the other patrons were clearly dressed way better. Aigen specializes in Austrian boiled beef and their portions were generous. Even though the prices on the main entrees were a little bit higher than the norm, the prices for their side dishes were quite reasonable (e.g. 2.60 Euros for soup).

Like another reviewer stated, the waitress is quite proud of their number 1 spot on TA. While I haven't been to that many restaurants in the Salzburg area, I will definitely be visiting this place if I ever find myself in Salzburg again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EricWai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

One of the best meals my husband and I have ever had. The chef and his team are truly amazing. While we waited for our appetizers, we were served a delicious 'amuse-bouche'. The service was also excellent. We dined outside in the garden, which was very romantic. Every table was booked and everyone else seemed to be locals.

They are very proud (and so they should be) to be currently rated #1 on tripadvisor -- for about 6 months now apparently. We highly recommend dining here. It was a short drive from the Salzburg centre and easy to find with our navigation system.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kacenka_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schloss Aigen also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Schloss Aigen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing