We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view good food”
Review of Salzachgrill

Salzachgrill
Ranked #124 of 642 Restaurants in Salzburg
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Salzachgrill is famous for its grilled meat and fish and our burgers are especially renowned. This informal restaurant with light wood panelling that gives it a rustic feel is the perfect place to eat some fabulous food and admire the view over the river and Salzburg’s old town.
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great view good food”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

location is fantastic by the river overlooking the oldtown and the fortress, food delicious bit longer to cook.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank miamia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    65
    26
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Cute grill, good fries, great service.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

It was nice to eat lunch in the grill one day in Salzburg. I got a burger, and admittedly, I don't think it was the best burger i ever had, but the fries were delicious. This was where I also had the famed Sacher Hot Chocolate, and it certainly was succulent.

Service was polite and friendly

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jameygamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“some of the best food on our trip”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

it might have been that we were so hungry after our bike trip but this place was fantastic. The setting, right on the Salz Auch was so beautiful and the service was really top notch. Everything was tasty and fresh. We were not expecting great food in Salzburg but this dinner was probably the best on our whole trip. Also, the breakfast is served here and on the terrace overlooking the river, you really can't ask for more. Well done Salzach!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Authentic Austrian Grill”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Sacher and ate here upon our arrival. We were very pleased with the quality of the food and the service staff. My husband had the traditional wienerschnitzel and I had an amazing hungarian goulash with dumplings that tasted like stuffing on Thanksgiving (that was a very good thing!!). Comfort food at it's finest! Being picky eaters, our 9 year old twins thought that the schnitzel (breaded veal) was just about the best 'chicken strips' they had ever eaten!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank OKCTwinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great location with great service!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We had too lovely meals here. The first was on the balcony, one of the best locations in Salzburg and the other inside which was nice and cozy...

The food was lovely, particularly the lettuce hearts salad and the chanterelles with herb cream sauce and bread dumplings.

The service was also great. We are traveling with an 8 month old baby. Not only did they have high chairs but the way they looked out for our little man was very nice. Their young waitress Monika is fantastic!!!

Advice, book an outdoor table on a nice night. We got lucky without a booking and it would have been a shame to miss that location. Also try the fishes beyond the schnitzel and goulash. You won't regret it. Oh and finally the Sacher Savarin was amazing for dessert!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EddyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salzachgrill also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Salzachgrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing