We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality and friendly service”
Review of Blaue Gans

Blaue Gans
Ranked #46 of 646 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: History proves that you'll be well looked after: people have been gathering here for centuries, ever since 1350. The old walls with their vaulted ceilings and cosy nooks have seen plenty in their day; nothing can shake them these days. Smokers are welcome: there is a smoking lounge in the Schanigarten (pavement cafe), while everywhere else is non-smoking. The new Salzburg cuisine Take the courtly, bourgeois cuisine of Vienna, mix in some alpine produce and the easy ways of the south, all seasoned with a pinch of innovation and there you have it - attractive and modern Salzburg cuisine. Authentic. Simple. Regional. "Classic Austrian dishes", meticulously prepared offal, forgotten recipes, underrated cuts of meat, interesting vegetable dishes and the great imperial tradition of desserts as preserved by our confectioner Karl-Heinz - that's how we cook. Our Wine Archive (Weinarchiv) used to be a jazz cellar with vaults that are centuries old. It now stores our precious stock of wines. We open it up for festivities from 8 to 50 people, and call it "La Tavolata" which means something like: "Let's all have a great evening together at this long table." You can be sure that whatever we serve up has been home-made at our food manufactory and presented on an array of dainty plates and bowls. Everybody gets stuck in, helping themselves and their neighbours. Sharing is caring! We're flexible We are no strangers to allergies, food sensitivities and alternative dietary habits. Just let us know and we'll be able to cater to you and your requirements.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good quality and friendly service”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We popped in early in the evening and managed to snaffle a table on the proviso that we had to be out in ninety minutes so that the folks who'd reserved the table from 8pm could come in. No problem for my wife and I, we don't linger over our food. The cuisine was traditional Austrian - we both chose the fried chicken which came with a delicious potato and cucumber side dish. Yes, it's pricey, but this is Austria, what do you expect! Yes; we'd go again.

Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Restaurantmanager at Blaue Gans, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your nice rating. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    120
    50
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kempten, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very good food, great service but a bit expensive...”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This restaurant is very nice, the food is delicious and the service is great. However, after having eaten at another place (the restaurant from the Elefant Hotel), the Blaue Gans seems to have the same quality but at a higher price; because of this, I decided to rate it with 4 out of 5. Nevertheless, a great place! If you go, dont miss the Salzburger Knockerln, simply delicious!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smashing79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Restaurantmanager at Blaue Gans, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We love to hear that you have enjoyed the meal in our restaurant. I'm sorry that the price seamed to you a little bit too high. Please be aware that we offer only seasonal and freshly cooked products from the nearest region. We would be glad to see you again for your next time in Salzburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Willing to give it another go!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Having heard a lot about this restaurant in Salzburg, four of us made a reservation to have dinner there on January 1. We had enjoyed a snack and wine in the bar at lunch-time on New Year's Eve, and had a very good first impression. Fortunately, smoking is only allowed in the bar here, and doesn't seem to permeate the restaurant.

The restaurant is quite small, and it was buzzing when we arrived creating a very nice atmosphere. Service was friendly, efficient and helpful. I was disappointed that the goose was no longer on the menu, and had been replaced by duck. I'm not sure if it was due to the time of year, but I have definitely had better duck with red cabbage and potato dumplings for a lot less than I paid here. Nevertheless, my husband who ordered the deep-fried carp was very pleased with his choice, and even more so with his desert which is an Austrian speciality, especially at this restaurant. The wine was reasonably priced, and on the whole we had an enjoyable evening. I would definitely give it another chance at a different time of year!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service and Food Outstanding”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly and although we attempted to speak German, both the manager and waiter were able to converse in English. The Menu (available in English) was interesting and with a minimal yet varied choice of dishes. We had a starter and main, with both both being superbly presented and outstanding flavour. The restaurant was not the cheapest and if on a budget, be careful. However, it was well worth the visit and I would most certainly go again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“A Special restaurant with very good food.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A lovely modern restaurant in the heart of Old Salzburg but which also includes Austrian delicacies but in a nice, light environment.
The service was excellent and very attentive even though the place was very busy.
They offer three set menus to chose from BUT you don't have to stick to them, so in reality you can pick and chose anything you want.
Presentation was excellent and the quality of the food was very very good.
It is not your usual tourist eatery and the prices reflect that but I would highly recommend it.
It also has an interesting wine list with reasonable prices to go with your meal.
It's a well loved place so it's always busy so you must book before you turn up.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OTT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blaue Gans also viewed

 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Blaue Gans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing