We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Pizza, ask something else if you feel adventure”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Sole

Il Sole
Ranked #297 of 631 Restaurants in Salzburg
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Go for the Pizza, ask something else if you feel adventure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I Try Pizza, my wife try Salmon Tortellini... Pizza was a lot better than her choice.

Service is fine and food arrived pretty quick. They were open late

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    36
    20
    11
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good for a quick pizza.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

If you want a quick pizza then this is the place. Service was quick with English speaking waiter. No English menus, but waiter offered to translate. We were the first ones in there early evening, but it filled up quickly with locals who were grabbing a bite to eat before going to the theatres, which are just down the street. Pizza was good, but canned mushrooms are just a shame on a freshly prepared pizza! Very reasonable prices though. Recommended overall.

Helpful?
2 Thank DoMeAFavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“CHEAP AND CHEERFUL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Difficult to review restaurants like this. It's a standard Italian type trattoria. It's cheap, the food is OK, the staff are quick. The trouble is that most of the other restaurants are better and similar prices. The Chef's Salad for example, you don't have to be a chef to know that lettuce, cucumber, peppers, ham, cheese and an egg will go together in a salad, a five year old could do it. The pizzas were OK. It was all OK. Nothing special, just OK.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bodenseetoggenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Little Pizzaria in Salzburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We took public transportation into the city and my wife felt like Italian, so we asked the bus driver. He said he knew the perfect place “Il Sole” and the bus took us directly there. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Ferdinand who sat us immediately. Everything we ate was great! This little restaurant uses all fresh ingredients and it shows. It was so good; we ate there all 3 days that we were in Salzburg. My recommendation is the lasagna which just melts in your mouth. Thank you to Ferdinand and all the staff of the restaurant which made our trip enjoyable with great Italian food. Romero Family

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R0mer0Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We ate here for lunch on our recent trip to Salzburg. We were just walking by, the food at the sidewalk tables looked good so we decided to give it a try. WOW! We were surprised at how good the food was. I had Tagliatelli Gamberi and it was delicious with great flavour, the shrimps were very fresh. My friend had a Escalope Milanese with side of spaghetti, both also excellent. One of our best meals in Salzburg! We had great service from a very friendly waiter and price was very reasonable for the excellent quality of the food.Try it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DougMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Sole also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Il Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing