We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“austrian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alter Fuchs

Alter Fuchs
Ranked #22 of 631 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“austrian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had lunch in Alter Fuchs serving austrian dishes. Tasty but too much rich of calories for me. The setting is pleasant: a wooden interior similar to country side restaurants

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    530
    154
    54
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Decent food at a sensible price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I ate here after a long and hot day of site-seeing. The food was definitely sustaining and well made. The only slight compliant was the waitress forgot to bring my second beer for about 10 minutes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank essex-hiker-biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Poor food and service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Went there early evening on recommendation of our hotel. The place is on a thoroughfare with outside tables, a courtyard and a variety of different types of tables in small rooms inside. Looks good, bit like an old inn atmosphere. I had to move as I kept being barged by the staff running through with plates, glasses etc. A lot of the food looked very dry so I opted for a chicken salad. This comprised of a few lettuce leaves, half a tomato, two slices of cucumber and a very unpleasant, watery potato salad with some chicken fried in a crust. The whole thing was tasteless. My wife had a meat dish which was similar. I think the problem is with this place that they are trying to pack dozens of people in at one go and everything is rushed so the food is poor and the service comprises of running with your order and shoving it in front of you as quickly as possible.
I certainly wouldn't recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“OOmm pah pah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great place this quite quirky with the Fox theme we like it a lot the beers good the food traditional and staff friendly it has a rustic apperance inside and out as I say it's an Oooom pah pah !! from me ,,,Enjoy yourself and Visit

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere but poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We wanted something typically Austrian for our first night in Salzburg and Alter Fuchs was just round the corner from our hotel. It certainly has atmosphere and a warm welcome and quick service to start form the waitress. Alas after that things went downhill my wife's goulash was reasonable although no where near as tasty as we have had elsewhere and the bread dumpling nondescript. My pork cooked in local beer was dry and nondescript with some more stodgy dumplings. Not a patch on the stews we make at home. At the end the friendly service had melted away to chat to the barman and it took some time to attract attention to order dessert (OK) coffee and the bill. I found the the thought of a further week in the area having to eat this kind of food quite depressing but fortunately the quality elsewhere was better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indiophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alter Fuchs also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Alter Fuchs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing