We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to public transportation and walking distance from some major sites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Der Salzburger Hof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Der Salzburger Hof
Ranked #20 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Close to public transportation and walking distance from some major sites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Nice stay. Room was very clean, staff spoke english and was very helpful. Although parking was at a premium on-site the staff did all they could to provide space for out vehicle. Easy walk to the public bus station and to the Mozart Museum. Breakfast was included and very nice. The restaraunt has a nice menu and prices were very agreeable. It rained a few late afternoons and the hotel offered free umbrellas to use while we walked downtown. The staff called on a taxi for our ride to the old part of town which was very, very helpful. We would definitely use this hotel when coming back to Salzburg.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoverBugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    336
    97
    31
    14
See reviews for
272
263
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

As well known that Salzburg is an expensive place to visit. I searched a long time and booked this hotel and did not expect too much. When we arrived, we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful staff and got a suite converted for our family of four. It's close to the train station and only three bus stops to Mirabella. Actually it's within the walking distance. We had a very good stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Pleasant hotel well priced and close to the old town. Good breakfast included in the room rate. We even watched The Sound of Music in bed before we visited the old city and many scenes from the movie.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hildaPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dxb
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

Firstly do not be misguided by the photographs of the hotel on the internet. This hotel does not deserve 4 stars and best can be called a three star hotel . We stayed in the main Hotel
Minuses-
-Hotel does not have any character - very bad reception with worn out carpets and rooms with ordinary fittings
-While checking in we had to wait for almost 15 mins before someone came to the reception to attend to us.
- Very bad Wifi connection in the room . One has to come to the reception every time to connect though the rates were reasonable
- some floors had the paint peeling off near the lift and it didn't look like work in progress
- Though we had specifically booked for a room with airconditioning , it was off when we checked in. Had to wait for some time before the receptionist appeared again and then it was solved.

Pluses -
Room - We had a suite and so the sizes of the room were quite good. The bathroom was also comfortable large
- The room was neat and housekeeping was quite efficient
-Location - quite close to the railway station though far away from the sights.

While one cannot find any major faults, if you are used to staying in star hotels, one normally expects a certain level of service, elegance and atmosphere which is severely lacking.

Stay here only if you get exceptional rates(We did not and hence the gripe!)

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank visitorDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Der Salzburger Hof is located only a few hundred meters from the main train station (Hauptbahnhof) from where every minute buses leave to the old town (which is a 15-20 minutes walk). The hotel has comfortable rooms, with a large bed, and good bath facilities. On the tv there is a channel showing Sound of Music the whole day! Free internet. Staff is attentive and does know how to get service. Great breakfast too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reparepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

You won't find such an enthusiastic attitude as in this hotel. The staff, the rooms, the breakfast!!! It has added value for its 4 stars, especially if you stay in the annex like me which I think it was supposed to be 3 stars. Breakfast as I said is superb, cheeses, cold cuts, all kinds of bakery, etc. I really enjoyed it. I commented in another website that the coffee set in our room was prepared for two and we were three, and by the time we went to complain we couldn't get a full extra set, but anyway the hotel has recently sent me a very friendly email apologising for the situation. If you go to Salzburg you must stay here, It's great value for its price, it's near the railway station and it's not so far from the historical center.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fercatala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Great hotel, very close to bus and train stations, about 20 mins walk to old city and tourist attractions of Salzburg, our room did not have air conditioning which is essential in Salzburg in summer! Hotel not great fro young children as there is noting for them to do on site and no where for the family to chill out if everyone tired/ too hot. Great hotel for business or older children and adults .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigridcalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#22 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#14 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Salzburger Hof

Property: Der Salzburger Hof
Address: Kaiserschuetzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Der Salzburger Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Der Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Salzburger Hof Salzburg
Der Salzburger Hof Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing