We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable clean cordial and convenient”
Review of Der Salzburger Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Der Salzburger Hof
Ranked #17 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable clean cordial and convenient”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Der Salzburger Hof has all of the above. Friendly staff, large comfortable and very clean room and bathroom, about three blocks from the train terminal and bus station, this hotel has everything we look for when we travel. Add to that one of the best breakfasts we have ever had in a hotel but subtract if you don’t want to walk about 20 minutes to the start of Old Town. Since we don’t mind the walk this hotel was nothing but pluses for us.

Room Tip: Don't miss breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    355
    103
    32
    14
See reviews for
295
285
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
des moines
Level Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Traveling with my husband and 2 teenage sons and stayed in a one bedroom "Sound of Music" theme room that had 2 twins pushed together as a day bed and kids bed. The rooms were large including the bathroom that had a nice dressing area/entry. Tea, wifi and shower gel/shampoo included. Shoe shine machines on every floor with amenity kits. DVDs in multiple languages for checkout. Friendly staff, very helpful. Our only complaint is the street noise. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was impossible to sleep with the windows open. Very close to the train station, grocery around the corner. About a mile to Old Town with a pretty walk along the river or through town.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank runread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in the Theme rooms and my kids were pleasantly upgraded to Theme room too at no extra charge! Fantastic location for tourists travelling by train. Staff are very helpful, polite, informative and speak good English. Free Blu Ray DVDs, well appointed king size rooms and bathrooms, clean inviting beds. Sumptuous breakfast! Maximum value for money...one of the best hotels we stayed in our 2 week 4 hotel Europe vacation with family!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shyam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We selected as location near train and car rental pickup, not the closest by good location, but not a chain. Walked into old town for dinner, about 20 minutes, and Look around , to refresh our memories, been 20 years. The hotel staff were friendly, informative and helpful providing maps, brochures etc for our stay. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BMW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I will never forget our stay in this hotel. Everything about it is beautiful.

Location. 10min walking distance from main train station and bus stops. affordable grocery at the train station where you can buy mozart truffles at affordable price.

Reception. They were all lovely and charming and very helpful. Fluent in English. It's very convenient to have a desktop and printer at the reception area where I printed our train tickets and passes. A refreshing welcome drink also available in the area.

Our room. Very very nice and clean with Mozart theme on the walls. So spacious and stylish. With heater and aircon. Another lovely gesture is the complimentary easter chocolate and edelweiss tea placed in our pillows. With lift, although we are just on the 1st floor so we mostly use the stairs.

Food. Breakfast was included in our room rate. A huge variety of cold cut meat, bacon, turkey ham, cheese, breads, cereals, vegetables, eggs, drinks. We always look forward to our breakfast because of its goodness.

Price. Worth the spend given the quality of service and accommodation.

Just a comment regarding the Indian resto of the hotel. We are indian food fans but we were not much delighted with the food we experienced. We had dinner here once. Maybe they can improve better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i_luv_pinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

1. Very conveniently located - 50 meters from Salzburg Rly station.
2. Comfortable stay - don't remember the room number - but was overlooking the entrance of the reception from the third floor
3. Helpful Reception and high-quality internet
4. Good restaurant - breakfast spread was impressive
5. Housekeeping in common areas needs to improve
6. Would recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We travelled to Salzburg for 5 days. We were glad to have chosen this hotel as place was clean, tidy and spacious. Location was a stones throw away from the train station and location was pleasant enough considering it was in the city. No views, but place was peaceful and had a safe feel to the area.
Rooms were lovely, just renovated and themed to either the sound of music, Mozart and one other I can't remember. All done quite tastefully.
The hotel had a real friendly feel, all the staff were happy and recognised you each day, which was a nice touch. I even had my drink of choice brought to me at the breakfast table on day 2 without even asking, try getting that sort of personal touch from a Holiday Inn!
Each room has DVD player and ipod docking station. You can borrow a quite exhaustive mix of DVD's for free from the reception too! There was a small issue with our DVD player, but a quick call and I guy came up almost instantly to fix it :)
All in all I lovely place, would come again.
PS The Salzburg (multi)day card was well worth the value for money. We bought the 3 day card which got us in all the places we really wanted to see, so great value.

Room Tip: Each floor is themed which is a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Salzburger Hof

Property: Der Salzburger Hof
Address: Kaiserschuetzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Salzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Der Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Salzburger Hof Salzburg
Der Salzburger Hof Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing