We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel; especially if can you can find a "competitive" tariff!”
Review of Der Salzburger Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Der Salzburger Hof
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We are an elderly retired couple who are unashamedly travelling on our children's inheritance. We prefer to travel by train where we can, and therefore we prefer to stay in TA-recommended hotels close to rail stations. So, weighing up the above, this Hotel fitted our bill. We booked for three nights in mid-October via Rates2Go, because they offered a better deal than (our once-preferred option of) booking.com. Our advice is, do your homework!

So, what were the Positives?
1. The staff all spoke English and were very helpful - not only did they post our letters and ring up to reserve restaurants, they advised us to purchase the Salzburg Card. This card, for E35, gives unlimited travel on Salzburg buses as well as free admission to many of the Mozart attractions, including the funicular cable-car to the Fortress and the cable car to nearby Untersberg. This card is a bargain and highly recommended!
2. Breakfast was included in our tariff and provided a wide range of choices, including hot scrambled eggs and bacon; juices, cereals, meats and cheeses, and various breads.
3. Our room on the first floor was, by European standards, very spacious. It offered an Espresso coffee machine, a small fridge, and a very good en suite. WiFi speed also was very good.

What was not-so-good:
1. The weather was surprisingly mild in the third week of October, to the extent that our room became very stuffy and we were dismayed to find that the Air-Con didn't work. On querying why with reception, we were told that the hotel had switched off the cooling function for the winter, and individual rooms could not be turned on. OK, we can open the windows can't we? Well yes we can, except that being on the first floor traffic noise becomes obtrusive. This results in a poor night's sleep, and by golly, this makes us grumpy because we love our sleep!
2. The bathroom exhaust fan ("ventilator") didn't work so we reported this (twice!) to reception. Hopefully the next occupants of our room will have it working...

Summary: A good hotel, especially if can you can find a "competitive" tariff. Biggest plus is the staff, though it's a pity for us that a service technician couldn't sort out the air-con and exhaust fan issues. Despite this, yes, if we had a choice we'd stay here again - but I doubt that we are going to live long enough!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the car park, nor the busy adjacent street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnceBittenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 893 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed a night after getting off the train from Vienna. Great that it is so close to the train station. Staff were super friendly and helpful. The family room was fantastic! it was very clean, large and had great facilities. We slept very well. Loved the Mozart theme everywhere :) Breakfast also excellent and the place was quite full. Probably a bit too far out from the old town for the family to walk but still very easy to catch a bus there. Nothing bad to say about this hotel at all. Just a minor point -the train station was quite ok inside, but a lot of renovations happening outside when we arrived. A few dodgy characters hanging around outside the station and it was rather dirty with rubbish etc. due to the construction work. Otherwise, we loved Salzburg!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank botak67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was conveniently close to the train station and other good shopping areas. The rooms were spacious enough and clean. The workers in the restaurant were kind and the food was good. The people at the front desk were always nice and so very helpful with answering questions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_Conley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I only stayed one night in this hotel. The front desk was friendly and helpful providing information we need. The breakfast was great. The room was clean and bright. It's not very close to the old town but a bit of walking can still take you there. That also saves a lot of parking expenses around the old town. There is no shower curtain in the bathroom (only a small glass panel which isn't big enough to prevent the water coming out.) Other than this, nothing to complain about the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliverYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed with my family in the hotel for a weekend. The room was very clean and well equipped. We had our own coffee machine and an iPhone dock. The hotel seemed to be freshly renovated. They tried hard to get a fresh styling and in most places that worked.

We had aroom to the main street and while that was no problem with the window closed, I still prefer to sleepwith an open window but forthat the street was too loud.

The hotelis close to the main train station and the sourrounding is not very attractive.

The reception is extremely friendly and triesto make every guest happy. Even rude guests were served with absolute politeness and friendlyness.

I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Driving into the part of Salzburg where Der Salzburger Hof is located, we were skeptical about the hotel. However, we were pleasantly surprised with our accommodations. Each floor has a theme from Salzburg (Mozart, The Sound of Music, and the city itself); the rooms were spacious with air conditioning; parking was for free. Each room had a binder of over 100 blu-ray dvds to rent from the main lobby for free. The staff, though, was the reason I was so impressed with this hotel. The gentleman who work the desk at night spoke English very well and patiently provided directions to different restaurants in Old Town. When we asked where a confectioner who would be open on a Sunday was located, he wasn't exactly sure. Upon returning from dinner, the gentleman provided us with a list of Salzburg confectioners, their hours, and a map with directions! Truly outstanding service; the staff couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in Sept’13. Only 800 m from the main train station. It is an older hotel with excellent larger rooms than expected. Very friendly and helpful reception. Superb breakfast and selection – filled to the very last minute, what a feast! Slow internet in the room. We recommend this hotel to all travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMR092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
1.2 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Salzburger Hof

Address: Kaiserschuetzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $98 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Salzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Der Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Salzburger Hof Salzburg
Der Salzburger Hof Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing