We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Der Salzburger Hof

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Der Salzburger Hof
Ranked #19 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
istanbul
Level Contributor
1,206 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and were satisfied in general. Clean and sufficient, nearby main station. Very good breakfast, and brekfast hall. But the hotel has no lobby ( only three tables to seat). Also bathroom was not in conformity with general beauty of the hotel.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suleyman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    345
    100
    31
    14
See reviews for
282
277
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
187 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Well located in town and near the train station.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. They spoke good English.
The rooms were basic, but clean and comfortable. There was a reverse cycle air-conditioner that kept our room at the perfect temperature.
The bathroom consisted of a bath cum shower, toilet and basin. There was a blow heater in the bathroom. Toiletries were basic. I did not like the wall mounted squeeze soap disperser.
However on each floor is a basket with a large collection of shower caps, cotton buds, sewing kits and shoe shine sponges.
There was a fridge with minibar. A Nespresso coffee machine was in the room. Each capsule cost €1.50.
WiFi is free. You get a login and password for each device I.e. smart phone, laptop. The connection was a bit flaky, but hey it is free!
Breakfast - nice selection of cold meats, carved sausage, ham, fruits, eggs scrambled or half boiled, cereals, bread, pastry and more. Coffee is self service from 2 Expresso machines.
Dinner - there is a selection of Indian curries and seemed to attract quite a few Indian diners. I was very disappointed when we asked for a glass of tap water to be told "We do not serve tap water". Yet 50 yards away in the reception are 2 jugs of water for the guests.
Parking is limited.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and compliment the staff on their friendliness. This helped make it a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Pros
-Very Close to main Train station
-Convenient location to old town as walkable
-Free wifi (but sometimes can't access by iPhone)
-Free breakfast with many options
-Clean room with Air con
-Free Car park

Cons
-Limited space (around 10) for Carpark
-WiFi is not reliable as I could not connect to iPhone
-Hot water was not available in the morning for shower and we were late for departure(we were very unlucky)
-Not cheap

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomHattty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

really nice hotel in salzburg .close to the rail station and a nice market with all major fast food joints around the corner . a little away from old town ...but reasonable enough .
the best part - if u travel by car they give free parking which is rare in eu
staff is really friendly and nice
breakfast is not lavish but nothing to complaint .
being an indian ,it was great to see "gayatri mantra" and indian god figure at the restaurant .they also offer indian food ..but nothing indian on the breakfast menu which was a let off .
thumbs up to the hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amankatyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. The Hotel offers free parking space and internet which are great help for traveler. The breakfast buffet was very good with variety of food. The staff was very helpful to arrange a local tour for us.
The hotel is 3 minutes walking from the Train station and main bus stop. There is a shopping centre next to the train station which is good to hang around. Even it is a bit far from the old town, about half hour walking, take the local bus can solve the problem.
The internet was free but not stable. Each device required an own user name and password daily. The room without air-con may be a point in the Summer time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanlohk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The Salzburger Hof is a truly lovely hotel. It is reasonably priced and an easy 15 minute walk to the old town. We had one of the more basic rooms, but it was clean, and we loved that it had an electric kettle and a free selection of tea. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was always friendly and helpful. Thank you for making our stay in Salzburg so enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthWiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent one night here and found all the staff friendly and helpful. The room was large, very clean and comfy. Great breakfast (one of the best we have ever had!). The location is ideal as it about a 10 min walk from the sights of Salzburg.
To be really, really picky the only fault was that we were in the annex and could not pick up the extra TV channels. But, you would have to be quite sad if a couple of TV channels missing spoils your stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.7 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#27 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#22 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Salzburger Hof

Property: Der Salzburger Hof
Address: Kaiserschuetzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Salzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Der Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Salzburger Hof Salzburg
Der Salzburger Hof Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing