We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was exactly what we needed.”
Review of Der Salzburger Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Der Salzburger Hof
Ranked #17 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This hotel was exactly what we needed.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is very close to the train station. A good value for the money. Great breakfast. Clean. All in all a very nice 2 night stay. We stayed there in late February. Will return next year with our two girls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wewant2seetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    363
    103
    32
    14
See reviews for
301
292
32
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas Center, Iowa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

It's a good :20 walk to the city center, but it's a good stay. My room was across the street in another building aside from the main hotel, but it was quite nice. The seal along the shower glass was compromised and water poured out of the shower. The breakfast was very good and my room was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-Bugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My friends and I stayed in a triple room for a night. The room was so cosy and nicely decorated with modern design and fixtures. It is very clean, It gives these feeling of warmth and welcoming.The hotel staff were really friendly,accommodating and very helpful especially the reception they are beautiful inside and out. We had to take the train early next morning ealier than the buffet breakfast which starts at 6 am, I informed them of our early check out, the reception gave us breakfast packed for each of us. It was 5:30 am when we finally check out that morning, the packed breakfast were given to us. The reception convinced us to take our breakfast, said that we still have enough to catch the train since the hotel is just about five minutes to the train station. We were allowed to have decent breakfast although we were 30 minutes early from breakfast time. Apart from the our packed meal for breakfast. The staff were really exceptional. Its location was really close just about five minutes away from the train. Everything about the hotel was great except for the clogged drain in the bathtub.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ergentinadalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Three nights at the Der Salzburger Hof. Had three evening meals in the restaurant. Great and with excellent service. Breakfasts were above average.
HOWEVER, on our last morning, we went to breakfast and locked the room (leaving all our items in the room). Returned from breakfast after half an hour, went down to check out and then to catch the train to Budapest. On paying the room tax, however, I discovered that I had been robbed - all notes (both Euros and Hungarian Forints) were no longer in my purse (which was in a handbag). We were left with nothing but a few coins - not even enough to pay the tax.
The desk staff were not very helpful. I had the impression I was not believed. There was nothing we could do, as we had tickets booked for the train, and had to leave.
We did, however write to the hotel and explain the sitution - but no reply was ever received.
Ignoring things do not make them go away!
A extremely disappointing finish to a pleasant trip to Salzburg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusDonhauser, Inhaber at Der Salzburger Hof, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Gillian,

unfortunately, we never received any message from you regarding the inconvenience, so we want to take this opportunity and thank you for your fair feedback to our hotel in the other points.

We take our guests comments seriously and are happy about the chance to improve due to your suggestions and observations. Regarding your comment about your stolen money we really do understand your anger.

We were willing to go to the police with you to press charges against somebody. Also our manager told us to go to the police. However, you had to catch the train and there was not enough time for you to do that. There is no possibility to handle that, because the police need you for your statement.

All of our rooms have a free safe to avoid such incidents. The content of the roome-safes is insured to an amount of EUR 1.000,--. For more we offer a safe at the reception.

We want to apologize once more for bad impressions during your stay and are looking forward to getting another chance to welcoming you at our hotel.

Kind regards from the city of Mozart

Your hosts in Salzburg
Anneliese & Johann Donhauser and the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here at the end of January and were pleased with our choice. Our room in the annex was spotlessly clean, beautifully warm and had modern fixtures and furniture including the bathroom. It was no effort to cross the road for a wonderful breakfast as described in an earlier post. We had some evening meals here too and they were excellent. The proximity to the bus and train station is great for the airport with your luggage or getting about Austria and a 15 to 20 minutes walk into the old town although there are 3 busses which will take you in or out. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We would stay again if we return to Salzburg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janCardiffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a lovely big suite room in the hotel for our family. Room lovely and clean. Reception staff very friendly, accomodating and very helpful for travellers. Fantastic location next to main train station and main bus stop. Served our purposes very well. Cleaning staff were really lovely as well (wish I got the name of the lovely lady with blonde hair who cleaned our room). Breakfast is fine too (only came across one grumpy staff member serving breakfast....don't think she liked tourists!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snooze999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a room for 4 as we were travelling with the whole family. They put us in the annex section of the hotel (across the road) which did not have the most glamerous entry. Likewise, this is not the best area of town, but is conveniently near the station and there are plenty of buses into the city. There is also a laundromat nearby which is welcome when travelling for a long time. The room was clean and relatively spacious. The included breakfast had an extensive selection, with some fantastic cold meat and cheese, eggs and bacon and a large selection of breads and more. A selection of espresso coffee, teas and hot chocolate was nice. All in all very good, although some of the staff we a little grumpy/scary. We had one dinner in the hotel which was good, however, I think the restaurant was under different management for meals other than breakfast. The front desk staff were most helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The annex is cheaper but across the road with a ugly entry. I think the rooms are just as good thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
844 reviews
1.2 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Salzburger Hof

Property: Der Salzburger Hof
Address: Kaiserschuetzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Der Salzburger Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Der Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Salzburger Hof Salzburg
Der Salzburger Hof Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing