We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option”
Review of Der Salzburger Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Der Salzburger Hof
Ranked #17 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

After a short 2 minute walk from the station with our packs we came to the hotel. Easy to find.
Staff were friendly and helpful. We had a good size room, with tea, coffee facilities and a bar fridge. There was plenty of room for three adults. Bathroom was clean, with ample space. Plenty of room to put your clothes and packs away. Breakfast was fresh, with plenty of options. We walked about 15 minutes along the river each morning to the old town. What better way to take in some of the sights of Salzburg. We ate one night at the hotel restaurant which was very nice, having a great curry. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 888 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

After we arrived, the friendly hotel manager told us that our room was across the street in another building. That was strange, because the hotel has an entire floor in an appartement building, where other people do live in the above floors. However, after entering a door with a keycard, there was a corridor that looks like every other hotel around the world.
The rooms were good except for the lack of air conditioned and the shower nozzle/ water barrier need improvement. If you like to sleep under warm water, you will awake with a flooded bathroom.

The breakfast is very good, with a wide range of choices. The staff is friendly, especially Veronika. The Internet is paid, but it's fast. Near the train station, but a 30 min walk from the old town centre.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SpikeBlck82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at 'Der Salzburger Hof' in Salzburg, Austria, from 19.8.12 to 23.8.12 (4 nights). We were two adults and two children at the ages of 2 and 4. The room that we got was very big with two double beds and was more than enough for us. According to our prior request, the hotel management arranged for us a room on the ground floor so it will be easy for us with our little children. The bathroom was big, with bath and was separated from the toilets (which is an advantage IMHO). Although the room was on the ground floor, it was very quiet and all of us could have a good night's sleep after an exhausting day of traveling. The room has no air condition, but there are fans which are sufficient, given the fact that in Austria there may be rain even in august.
The location of the hotel is two minutes walking from the Salzburg central bus station, and from there almost every bus brings you to the old town within 15 minutes.
Breakfast was rich and included diversity of foods, and gave us energy to begin our daily tours.
Reception is manned 24 hours a day, and always ready to help.
We came to Salzburg with a rental car, so the fact that parking is free was very important for us.
All in all, we have had a good time at 'Der Salzburger Hof' and we recommend it wholeheartedly.

Chen and Chanoch Shemesh, Israel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chen_Shemesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is clean, close to the train station and the staff is nice. That being said, it is really far from any of the sights that we wanted to see in Salzburg. The shower was miserable (we had two rooms and both showers were awful). The rooms are stark. There are no real restaurant choices close by. Its not a terrible place, and is not expensive (comparatively) but I wouldn't return.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Small but clean and comfortable hotel located near the train station and a mall far from downtown Salzburg. Mix neighborhood is not representative of Salzburg but there are bus stops nearby and the river is close by. Breakfast is rich with a great latte, expresso machine. Staff is good and friendly. Downside is that the hotel charges for Internet but it is a small amount.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REBECA Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was one of our favourite cities on the trip. Be aware when you get a room here, that there is a main building, and an annex. We were in the annex. I can't comment on the main part of the hotel. Here's what we thought:
pros: good breakfast, only five minute walk to the river, and then a nice stroll (20 minutes or so) to the old town, close to the train station and transit, clean room, tub/shower combo, mini fridge and safe, very helpful staff who were pleasant

cons: annex was a little dull- not dirty, just a little bland in the decorating, no air-conditioning, and the road was quite noisy (I don't care too much about air conditioning, but if the windows are open, you get quite a bit of traffic noise)...keep in mind, I don't know what the main part is like, but the annex was across the street from the hotel, and you had to cross the road for the service desk and breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main hotel, they look much nicer from what I've seen on-line, and you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disneygroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Der Salzburger wasn't our first choice for a hotel in Salzburg - but in the end we were happy to have stayed in this family run hotel. The staff is simply amazing, they couldn't do enough for us, and that made our stay enjoyable. It is a good 20 minute walk to the old town, the hotel provides umbrellas for rainy days/evenings. The hotel is close to the rail station. The breakfast is fine, again the staff try their best to accommodate individual tastes. The themed rooms are simply wallpaper on one wall. The only irritating thing was the bathroom taps - they shut on/off automatically and that made hand washing and brushing your teeth a challenge. We used the bathtub. They do charge a small fee for the internet.
The dining room is privately run in the evening, nothing special better to dine in the Old Town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,049 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Salzburger Hof

Address: Kaiserschuetzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $99 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Salzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Der Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Salzburger Hof Salzburg
Der Salzburger Hof Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing