We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable close and reasonable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Der Salzburger Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Der Salzburger Hof
Ranked #19 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“comfortable close and reasonable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the annexe across the street. Fine breakfast, helpful staff large quiet room and very nice breakfast buffet. I would stay here again without hesitation.
good wifi and coffee maker in room. tehy supply tea, you have to ask for the coffee

Room Tip: Annexe is cheaper but rooms are fine. It's across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emeritus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    351
    103
    32
    14
See reviews for
290
282
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Arriving by train this hotel was easy to find and easy walking distance. We were travelling with our 2 children and had rooms next to each other but not connecting. Rooms were of a good size and bathrooms with heated floors in winter were a nice surprise. Short walk to the old town but this was easy to navigate and meant we saw more of the town walking past such attractions as the miralbelle gardens. Internal wifi was at an extra cost and if you don't want to pay for it, for the price of a cup of coffee McDonald's is a 30 second walk from the hotel for their free wifi. Also local supermarket in the same vicinity as McDonald's .Breakfast buffet had a good selection. Both rooms had espresso machines and pods for the machines can be purchased at reception. overall would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisafrythompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hotel is just 400m from train station, just because of this 400m you won't be disturbed by the noise of trains at night + enjoying walking distance from the station. Hotel staff are helpful and nice, the breakfast buffet is something you can enjoy during your stay. Meanwhile the old town is just 10 mins walk away!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu2wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel and it was a good quality for price. Located maybe 400 meter from train station, it's perfect for the in-and-out adventure. also from the train station you can take the bus to get to old part of town.

Wifi, room with good dimension and all tv and electronics, just like home. Breakfast is also more than very appropriate

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iogima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just coming back from Salzburg. The hotel is located near the train station and easily reached by foot. It is small but nicely decorated and very confortable. A great breakfast buffet is included in the price and you can also rent DVDs for free.

Taking the bus, the main attractions are located only 10 mn away.

Excellent relationship between quality and price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSMEXBOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were staying with my husband in the Salzburger Hof. The Hotel is very nicely located very close to the Main Station, but the old town is only ten minutes walk. If you are tired from walking around you can take the bus that leaves you outside the hotel. We have been staying in the dependance, that is just across the main building, rooms are spacious and very nicely decorated. Breakfast was very good. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venus672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

The Hotel front desk staff very helpful and fabulously spoke/understood English. The Breakfast was outstanding - one of the best I have had in Europe. We stayed in the Annex across the street - and the room was very clean and it had an elevator -- a rarity in much of Europe. The proximity to the train station was what we needed, but it did cause for a lot of walking to visit the city - but the Staff recommended walking along the River which made it very comfortable. There are buses that come by the hotel, but we chose to walk so we could enjoy the wonderful breakfasts even more. The tour we took picked us up at the Hotel, which was also a plus. Definitely would stay again and recommend you look into this Hotel if visiting Salzburg. We were in a Sound of Music room. We had a hot water kettle with teabags, but not a coffee maker.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Salzburger Hof

Property: Der Salzburger Hof
Address: Kaiserschuetzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Salzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Der Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Salzburger Hof Salzburg
Der Salzburger Hof Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing