We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Ranked #23 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel is locate close to main attractions including the fortress and adjoining market for souvenirs, Mozart's house, Mirabell Garden etc . Its convenient to reach as there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. If travelling by train, its possible to take a direct bus from the train station.

Rooms are spacious and neat. Pretty much value for money. Staff was helpful and you can expect a good service and a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Rezeption at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
many thanks for answering the evaluation.
We try to satisfy our guest any time of the day.
Kind regards,
Velimir Mijatovic - Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 647 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at the Star Inn in Salzburg and found it to be a very clean, comfortable hotel. The rooms are nicely appointed and the bed comfortable. The location is the best part considering it is only a 5-10 minute walk to Old Town Salzburg. The parking is expensive, so we parked about 5 blocks away in a residential neighborhood where there was obvious free parking and we would not receive a ticket. We found a great secret web deal on booking.com I would stay here again. The breakfast was also too expensive. Just go to a local grocery store and get a croissant and coffee for cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montanafirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, rezeption at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Gast,
Danke das Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben uns zu bewerten. Selbstversändlich können Sie auch in einer unserer Tiefgaragen mit 61 Garagenplätzen parken.
Alternativ steht Ihnen die Altstastgarage und die Mönchsberggarage, beide nur 1 Minute von uns entfernt, zur Verfügung.
Unser reichhaltig ausgestattetes Frühstücksbuffet offeriert für jeden Geschmack genau das Richtige.
Wir freuen uns Sie bald wieder in unserem Haus als Gast begrüßen zu dürfen.
Mit freundlchen Grüßen,

Velimir Mijatovic - Reuzeption

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Very good location. 150 meters from old city. Nice view from window. It is a shame to pay 40 € for a night without breakfast and 15 € for garage/a day. Location beats all negatives. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us a map and thety showed us where to go and is good to visit.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank HungryJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, rezeption at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
many thanks for your evaluation.
Nearby to our hotel our guest also have the opportunity to park in the "Altstadtgarage" or in the "Mönchsberggarage".
Both are less than a minute away from the hotel.

Kind regards,

Velimir Mijatovic, Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed two nights just before Christmas. Overnight, day and evening staff all very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Business Double room sizable enough, clean and quiet on 2nd floor looking up Neutorstraße away from the tunnel. Wifi fine in room and down in lobby. Few restaurants and cafes nearby - you'll want to spend time in Old Town through the mountain ridge walkway about a block from the hotel. Tunnel carved through rock pops you right into Old Town. It's a quick ten minute walk and you're on cobblestone with hundreds of shops, restaurants, cafes, churches and historical sites. Bus stop virtually in front of the hotel on Neutorstraße gets you into town too, to the train station and to all other points. Front desk staff gladly held onto my luggage all day after checkout while I further explored Salzburg. Unfortunately, there was nowhere to charge my mobile phone and laptop in the small lobby as their Christmas tree lights and another powered ornament occupied both receptacles by the seats across from the check-in desk. Saw no receptacles by the chairs and tables opposite the bar at the off-hours restaurant entrance. Ended up relaxing for a few hours across the street by the piano in the spacious, comfy lobby of the Hotel Neutor, fully charging devices: very friendly and accommodating staff there. Would stay at this Star Inn again but would look for hotel of same value in the heart of Old Town or right over the river embedded better in the thick of things.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Inkly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your kind review to our hotel.

It's very nice to hear, that you had a good time with us.
Just ask our staff to help you charging you phone or laptop.
It would have been no problem, to unplug the Christmas tree lighting :-)

We would be pleased to welcome you again and send lovely greetings from Salzburg

V. Rosenmayer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed over Christmas for three nights. Great location just a short walk from the old city centre via the underground tunnel through Monchsberg. There were trams running past the hotel frequently, though we didn't take any of them. For those who prefer cabs, it's about 15,00 Euros (with tip) by cab from both the airport and to the train station, though you could walk to the train station in about 25-35 minutes.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful when making bookings and calling to check on opening times for us. Rooms were basic but clean. A slight annoyance was that there were no toiletries such as shampoo available in the room or at the front desk - only really a problem though if your airline leaves the bags at the flight origin as BA did to us.

Wi-fi was free and a quick, steady connection. Breakfast was 12,00 extra per person. There were scrambled eggs which is often a pleasant surprise at Germanic breakfast buffets.

Would definitely recommend this hotel, particularly if you want quick access to the old part of town without paying higher prices for a hotel in this area. The tunnel through the mountains felt very safe at all hours of the night, as did Salzburg in general.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcnamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your nice review and for recommending our hotel.

It's very nice to hear that you had a good time with us.

We would be pleased to welcome you again and send lovely greetings from Salzburg

V. Rosenmayer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for three nights as Salzburg was basically sold out. It was a great location and everything was in reach. Rooms were good size and bed comfortable. Hotel was clean, common areas needed updating but rooms were great. Wifi was included and was fast. Breakfast was really good and better than expected for 3 star. Smoked salmon, cereals, pastry selection, several juices, and eggs.

Hotel staff were lovely and helpful.
Lots of families were staying here, I think there were several types of rooms available lad.
Easy to get to from the train take bus 1 outside the train station takes about 10 mins and costs €2.40.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Tracy,

thank you for your lovely review to our hotel.

It's very nice to read, that you felt well with us and had a good time in Salzburg.

I would be pleased to welcome you again and send lovely greetings from Salzburg

V. Rosenmayer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Enjoyed the stay at Star Inn. Hotel room was small but we only used it to sleep as we where sight seeing during the day. The hotel offers breakfast Buffett for extra charge. It is very good and well balanced. Staff very friendly and helpful. Walking distance to the city center and other points of interest. Lovely time with the family.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank familiaSpaulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time for such a nice review.

It's very nice to read that you had an enjoyable time with us!

We all would be pleased to welcome you again and send lovely greetings from Salzburg

V. Rosenmayer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.7 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,645 reviews
1.2 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#37 of 132 in Salzburg
914 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
892 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort

Address: Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#35 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $100 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is located right in the heart of the city of Mozart, only 300 m from the Playhouse and the famous Getreidegasse. Here the birthplace of the musical child genius is situated. Easily reached from any direction, our hotel offers you the ideal starting point for conducting your business. Or for an unforgettable weekend stay: A wondrous environment, a city centre with incomparable atmosphere and culinary delights at every turn are waiting for you there. The hotel has 61 covered parking spaces available, and the two large public garages under the Monchsberg offer many more only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing