We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Star Gem !!! - Great location, friendly service, comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Ranked #23 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Three Star Gem !!! - Great location, friendly service, comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked 3 nights at Star Inn Zentrum and were very pleased with our stay. The rates are reasonable, the hotel is well kept, the staff is very welcoming and helpful.This hotel is located right behind the Monchsberg - only a few minutes walk to the city centre (via pedstrian tunel through the mountain).
The hotel has a storage room for the luggage, what was very convenient as we arrived early in the morning. We were very pleased to be accommodated in the Annex – separate building at the back of the hotel. Our room (605) was modern, very clean, quiet and had a comfortable bed.
The optional buffet breakfast was good and well presented with plenty of food choices. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The only inconvenience was the lack of kettle. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enigma_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much that you have taken the time to rate us so nice.

I'm happy to read that you have with us as comfortable.

On your next stay with us, we are happy to lend you a kettle that you can use during your stay in the room.

I would be delighted to welcome you with us again and send you warm greetings from sunny Salzburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    294
    71
    12
    3
See reviews for
126
208
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, ON., Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for five days. It is close to major attractions, you could have a nice walk to the market, however, I cannot compare it to the Star Inn Vienna as the latter was extremely clean, with excellent and friendly customer service. When it was time to sleep, found out some kind of hair on the bed, presumably pet hair. I hope they will pay more attention to the cleanliness of their room. They claim you could watch one English channel, but it wasn't available.

Overall it is a good value considering its location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azmar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am very sorry that the room was not cleaned properly!
Of course I will inform our maids about the incident and in this respect trained.

I would be delighted to welcome you back with us and we can convince you, that we are improving our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the city itself is great. Having stayed at the hotel for one night we had limited time. The staff were extremely helpful and gave us detailed information about where to go
Hotel itself is good. Its a chain so obviously doesn't have quirks that family owned places but its a great place to stay
Very close to the centre a couple of minutes walk through the tunnel
Parking costs 15 euros a day but other parking charges are high so we didn't mind paying for the ease of it.
Breakfast was great with plenty of choices

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mirza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your nice review.

I am very pleased to read that you have felt so comfortable with us
and you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg.

We look forward to welcoming you maybe once again with us and send warm greetings from sunny Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

When we arrived to check in I realised I had booked our family room for the following day. The staff were wonderful and sorted it out for us without any angst. The room was clean and well appointed. The staff organised our dinner reservation and ordered a taxi for us. They gave us sightseeing ideas and directions. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsT205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us so nice.

We are pleased that you have felt comfortable with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel and send warm greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hey, the place isn't mind blowing expensive. The room/beds are clean, no frills The Manager was a little standoffish when queired for directuon, but I guess that is a fucntion of a busy place with people asking the same questions over and over. The parking is a little tight in the basement but doable. The breakkies was good, 12 euro. IT was quite busy, I think the whole neighborhood must be eating there for breakfast. Overall, if you need a clean place to pass out while you check out the town .. this is your place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us so nice.

We are pleased that you have felt comfortable with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel and send warm greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is not only a very new hotel with all up-to-date facilities, it is also very well managed by a very friendly staff, speaking English fluently.
It does not have a restaurant, but the breakfast room is spacious and very well equipped with a great variety of delicacies. It even offers free sparkling wine.
Also free is the WiFi throughout the hotel, which helps the internet aficionados.
Its location is very convenient for tourists and visitors, hardly half a mile from the old city centre on foot. But for the athletically challenged one can also take a taxi, yes even for the short distance, as they are very cheap(flag down apr. EUR 3.00), typically costing not more than EUR 6!
There is air conditioning, but this will be switched on only when the staff feels it is hot. It can be a bit arbitrary as it may be cool outside, while the room is still uncomfortable. Opening the window is the expected answer, but then outside noise may disturb you.
The bathroom is very brightly lit, the shower is superb, be careful to control the fierce jet stream!
There is no mini bar, nor room service.
I understand all rooms have two queen size beds, with firm mattresses.
The TV set in the rooms have no English language programs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sliema36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

I'm very happy to hear that you have felt comfortable with us.

In deed we have no minibar at the rooms, but our bar at the lobby is opened 24 hours a day and our staff will serve you chilled drinks whenever you want. Of course you can take them also to your room.

We would be delighted to welcome you with us again and send warm greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It´s a budget hotel but you don´t need more than 5 minutes to reach the historic sightseeings at Old Town. You just walk through a tunnel (very safe) and it´s in the middle of the Old Town. I realize that there´s a lot of hotels (expensives) located at Old Town but it´s very difficult to get some silence to rest because all the day and at night it´s very noise. Our hotel was very silent, clean but with no luxury. We didn´t have any meal or even breakfast but there´s a lot of places just crossing the tunnel to have lunch or dinner. The room was clean, big and quite modern. You can park behind the hotel just turning right after pass the entrance or use the underground garage from the hotel. I would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

I'm very happy to hear that you have felt comfortable with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you with us again and send warm greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#34 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#25 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
1.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort

Property: Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Address: Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#35 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is located right in the heart of the city of Mozart, only 300 m from the Playhouse and the famous Getreidegasse. Here the birthplace of the musical child genius is situated. Easily reached from any direction, our hotel offers you the ideal starting point for conducting your business. Or for an unforgettable weekend stay: A wondrous environment, a city centre with incomparable atmosphere and culinary delights at every turn are waiting for you there. The hotel has 61 covered parking spaces available, and the two large public garages under the Monchsberg offer many more only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing