We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful facilities 4 minutes to old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wonderful facilities 4 minutes to old town”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel was very modern with great facilities. I think it was built in 2008. It is closed to everything and there are 2 bus stations nearby.
If i ever go back to salzburg, i am going to Star Inn!.
I wish the breaksfast was cheaper....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slavica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for taking your time and review us that good.

We are very pleased to read that you had a nice time with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you again and send lovely greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    347
    87
    18
    3
See reviews for
166
248
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 01-03June, 2013, with my family. I did not go through a tour operator (planned everything on my own), and hence was a bit sceptical. Finding the hotel was a bit of a challenge - it is about 10-12 mins bus-ride from Salzburg Hbf station. However, it is walking distance from the main attractions such as Mozart's house, the main museum, etc. There are only 1-2 shops/restaurants nearby - be prepared for this drawback. The family room where I was booked, could have been a bit bigger. The hotel does not provide electric kettles in the room. However, the staff were very helpful and sorted out small glitches. Cleanliness and security were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnirbanGanguly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback, that means a lot to us.
In deed, there are just a few shops next to the hotel but it's just 5 minutes to walk to the old town where a lot of very nice shops and restaurants are waiting for you. If you want any recommendations for luch or dinner, we will gladly help you.

We do not have kettles at the rooms, that right, but just tell the staff at the reception, the gladly will help you and borrow you one of our kettles.

We would be very happy to welcome you again and send lovely greetings from Salzburg

Vanessa Rosenmayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

With this hotel you get what you pay for. Budget hotel. Clean. Good sized room. I found the bed hard, but that's my personal opinion. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment.
It's location is it's selling point. Only 5 minutes walk to central Salzburg. Parking underneath was easy and convenient. Also had free wifi but you had to re-login every 20 minutes. This is still better than the more expensive hotels that charge for wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback!

I'm glad to inform you, that we changed the wi-fi system in our hotel. Now our guests are connected for 24 hours and the procedure to connect is much easier.

We would be very happy to welcome you again and send lovely greetings from Salzburg

Vanessa Rosenmayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

While hard to find and having to park your car a few blocks away, it is well worth it. Very modern and clean. Looks rather new. We really liked it and the location is superb. They need to inform you that to drive to the hotel you need a passcode to lower a pole in the narrow street to enter the area and that there is only one of the few that you can use. It was very confusing.

Room Tip: Talk or email the hotel to get instructions on how to get by the pole to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashevilleguy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your great feedback!
I am happy to read, that you had a well stay in our Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbräu. Obviously you mixed up our two locations in the town. Star Inn Hotel Salzburg ZENTRUM is outside oft the pole area of Salzburg. Always accessibly by car without any traffic restrictions and we are able to offer our guest 45 private parking lots at additional cost of 15 Euro.

I will forward for commend to my colleagues from Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbräu. We will work on it to inform our guest in advance about the car access and parking possibility.

I m looking forward to welcoming you again in Star Inn Hotels.
Christian Doppelhofer, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We've just spent a long weekend at this hotel. For the rate we paid we really couldn't fault the room or location. Just a short walk throught the tunnel beneath the mountain and we were in the wonderful old town. The room was very clean but could really benefit from air conditioning. There is a fan in the room but the weather was quite humid and this made the room unbearably hot. Our rating would be much higher except there was a trainee on reception called Tatijana who was so rude - not just to us but to several other guests too. I suggest whoever is training her needs to monitor her more closely as she has a lot to learn about customer service. She was abrupt and never said please or thank you and did not smile despite wearing her 'smiley' badge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaidenheadCocoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest!
Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for the time you spent to give me feedback about your stay in our hotel.

I am very sorry to hear your stay wasn’t as pleasant you expected it to be. Normally our air conditioning works better, but we had hidden problems. After a thorough check-up last week all the problems are now fixed.

Mrs Tatijaner is a student apprentice and still has a lot to learn. This does not, of course, justify her behavior and I truly apologize for her rudeness. I will see to it that this will never happen again. Your feedback is, however, very valuable for it will force her to think about and reflect upon her behavior and her attitude towards our guests. I assure you that we will handle this matter in a correct and constructive way with her and thank you again for your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Star Inn Salzburg Zentrum is just a 5 minutes foot walk away from the city center of Salzburg. You will find many Hotels in this city but just a few in this location and for this price. If you book short before your arrival the Hotel will always tell you that they have no more Standard rooms available but only business rooms. This only means that there is a leather chair in the room which the standard room doesn't have. But selling a business room they will charge you EUR 10,00 to 20,00 more than the standard room. Whenever I booked this hotel, the standard rate was never available but even the business room rate is OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelllllerSalzburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your feedback!
On our website or triadvisor you can always find good offers. Of course our standard rooms are the first sold out.

I am welcoming you again in Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights and it was good. very good location, just a few minutes to the city center. 2 bus stations in front of the hotel. nice room and nice service staff. i can really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Florian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you yery much for your feedback and recommendation. At the trolly bus station in front of the hotel stop the bus line 1, 4 and 10. There are direct connections to train stadion or airport.

Best regards from Salzburg

Christian Doppelhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
1.2 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
848 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,008 reviews
1.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.5 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort

Property: Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Address: Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#35 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is located right in the heart of the city of Mozart, only 300 m from the Playhouse and the famous Getreidegasse. Here the birthplace of the musical child genius is situated. Easily reached from any direction, our hotel offers you the ideal starting point for conducting your business. Or for an unforgettable weekend stay: A wondrous environment, a city centre with incomparable atmosphere and culinary delights at every turn are waiting for you there. The hotel has 61 covered parking spaces available, and the two large public garages under the Monchsberg offer many more only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing