We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair price for nice Hotel in the worlds most beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Ranked #21 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Salzburg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fair price for nice Hotel in the worlds most beautiful city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Star Inn Salzburg Zentrum is just a 5 minutes foot walk away from the city center of Salzburg. You will find many Hotels in this city but just a few in this location and for this price. If you book short before your arrival the Hotel will always tell you that they have no more Standard rooms available but only business rooms. This only means that there is a leather chair in the room which the standard room doesn't have. But selling a business room they will charge you EUR 10,00 to 20,00 more than the standard room. Whenever I booked this hotel, the standard rate was never available but even the business room rate is OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelllllerSalzburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your feedback!
On our website or triadvisor you can always find good offers. Of course our standard rooms are the first sold out.

I am welcoming you again in Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    343
    84
    16
    3
See reviews for
161
246
32
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights and it was good. very good location, just a few minutes to the city center. 2 bus stations in front of the hotel. nice room and nice service staff. i can really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Florian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you yery much for your feedback and recommendation. At the trolly bus station in front of the hotel stop the bus line 1, 4 and 10. There are direct connections to train stadion or airport.

Best regards from Salzburg

Christian Doppelhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is not a luxury hotel by any definition. It is strictly functional. BUT it is VERY functional. The rooms are small but very warm (this is a very rare feature in hotels in Europe in the winter). The heating is fabulous. And the staff really friendly. The bathrooms are small but good. The hotel is BRILLIANTLY located. And there is a bus from the station that drops you right at the hotel entrance. The breakfast is also very good - one of the best we had in 2 months in Europe. It is not an inexpensive hotel but given how convenient it is, I will surely book here again - particularly if I am in Salzburg in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InfiniteOceanFilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your through and through lovely and good rating.

We are very pleased to read that you have a comfortable time with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Advent this year.

We send greetings from sunny Salzburg and are looking forward to a reunion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is definitely not a luxury hotel but a good, clean and functional hotel. The rooms were ideal though the beds were a tad bit hard. The wifi interner was super fast but the only catch was the loggin in very half an hour or so. The breakfast did not have a lavish spread and had the basic essentials like cereals, bread, cold meat and eggs.
The location however was very good. Its a few minutes walk to the old town and the other attractions.We were visiting during Christmas and the whole area seemed very dead. There was a Chinese restaurant bang opposite the hotel which we enjoyed a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaterShadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. Nice that you felt well with us.

I'm happy to announce that we have fully equipped our hotel with new and thicker mattresses in September. This makes your sleep even more comfortable!

In Salzburg there are many excellent restaurant. Let our staff at the reception give you a recommondation for your dinner in Salzburg .

We would be delighted to welcome you back with us and remain with kind regards from the city of Mozart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos aires
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location, to a walking distance to Salzburg Old town. The parking, not free, is limited, but very handy in winter. Ask when you reserve to get an spot.

The room was good, but it has a big problem in winter. Don't go to the rooms of the other block (602 per example), it has a whole glass wall window to access an internal garden, but with -5 C or less outside, the heating wasn't enough.

Room Tip: Don't go in winter to the rooms of the other block (602 per example), it has a whole glass wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fer-Macca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Our hotel's underground car park is offered to our guests for EUR 15.00 per night and vehicle. Especially in the winter, this is very convenient because you do not have to scrape ice.

If it is too cold in the room, you are welcome to borrow one of our electric radiators. So it will make the room more cuddly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you with us again and send warm greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just wanted to cheap place to rest our heads after our skiing holiday and before the following day's flight. This place was ideal. The rooms were new and roomy. The Bathrooms were clean and the breakfast was good. The only frustration was that the rooms were a little too warm and we could cool without opening the window.
However, this hotel is all about location. After a short feww hunder meteres walk through the tunnel, you are into the center of the Old Town which was charming.
The Hotel also had it's own underground parking which was useful to us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest,

It is very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our hotel is realy a perfect starting point to explore the city of Salzburg, as it is walking distance to the old town of 5 minutes.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and remain with kind regards from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The Star Inn hotel is not a luxury hotel by any stretch of the imagination. The budget rooms are very very small and the bathrooms are strictly functional. It has more of a feel of a budget hostel than a 3 star hotel. But the rooms while small are very functional. The heating in the room was wonderful (not something that is common in many hotels in Europe in the winter, it would appear), the breakfast very nice, the staff of the hotel great. And the location is just amazing. The hotel is just a short walk from the old city. But it is not cheap at all though so I am not sure we shall stay here again if we are in Salzburg one more time. All in all, a functional hotel, but at the price, not a great one.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnimalLover111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time and have evaluated our hotel.

It is nice to read that you felt comfortable with us.

During the lower season our rooms are much cheeper. So maybe visit us during the spring time where we offer you our rooms from EUR 89 at the standard category.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your family with us again and send warm greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
1.2 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#27 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#24 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort

Property: Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Address: Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#35 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is located right in the heart of the city of Mozart, only 300 m from the Playhouse and the famous Getreidegasse. Here the birthplace of the musical child genius is situated. Easily reached from any direction, our hotel offers you the ideal starting point for conducting your business. Or for an unforgettable weekend stay: A wondrous environment, a city centre with incomparable atmosphere and culinary delights at every turn are waiting for you there. The hotel has 61 covered parking spaces available, and the two large public garages under the Monchsberg offer many more only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing