We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Ranked #24 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location, to a walking distance to Salzburg Old town. The parking, not free, is limited, but very handy in winter. Ask when you reserve to get an spot.

The room was good, but it has a big problem in winter. Don't go to the rooms of the other block (602 per example), it has a whole glass wall window to access an internal garden, but with -5 C or less outside, the heating wasn't enough.

Room Tip: Don't go in winter to the rooms of the other block (602 per example), it has a whole glass wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fer-Macca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Our hotel's underground car park is offered to our guests for EUR 15.00 per night and vehicle. Especially in the winter, this is very convenient because you do not have to scrape ice.

If it is too cold in the room, you are welcome to borrow one of our electric radiators. So it will make the room more cuddly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you with us again and send warm greetings from Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 656 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just wanted to cheap place to rest our heads after our skiing holiday and before the following day's flight. This place was ideal. The rooms were new and roomy. The Bathrooms were clean and the breakfast was good. The only frustration was that the rooms were a little too warm and we could cool without opening the window.
However, this hotel is all about location. After a short feww hunder meteres walk through the tunnel, you are into the center of the Old Town which was charming.
The Hotel also had it's own underground parking which was useful to us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear guest,

It is very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our hotel is realy a perfect starting point to explore the city of Salzburg, as it is walking distance to the old town of 5 minutes.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and remain with kind regards from Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Star Inn hotel is not a luxury hotel by any stretch of the imagination. The budget rooms are very very small and the bathrooms are strictly functional. It has more of a feel of a budget hostel than a 3 star hotel. But the rooms while small are very functional. The heating in the room was wonderful (not something that is common in many hotels in Europe in the winter, it would appear), the breakfast very nice, the staff of the hotel great. And the location is just amazing. The hotel is just a short walk from the old city. But it is not cheap at all though so I am not sure we shall stay here again if we are in Salzburg one more time. All in all, a functional hotel, but at the price, not a great one.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AnimalLover111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time and have evaluated our hotel.

It is nice to read that you felt comfortable with us.

During the lower season our rooms are much cheeper. So maybe visit us during the spring time where we offer you our rooms from EUR 89 at the standard category.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your family with us again and send warm greetings from Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

very nice location, u can just take a walk to the old town.. really worth the price. the cons is the traffic outside the hotel is pretty busy. so have to be careful when u about to cross the road, i have a toddler with me, so its kinda scary. but other than that it is a nice hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time and have evaluated our hotel.

It is nice to read that you felt comfortable with us.
In our hotel there are also rooms that are aligned to the backyard.
These rooms are wonderfully quiet and offer a beautiful view of the Mönchsberg.

To walk to the city, leads a pedestrian tunnel through the Mönchsberg which is separated from the road. So it is much more pleasant to go into the city.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your family with us again and send warm greetings from Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

this place is literally a stone's throw from the city centre and all the scenic locations of Salzburg. the room was large and well appointed and the bathroom modern. the staff were courteous. we were happy with the room and the amenities provided. wifi was free, though had to request for and enter a new password every 4 hours (online). would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prashantkataria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comment about our hotel.

We are pleased that you have felt comfortable with us.

To explore the city, our hotel is a really good starting point.
300 meters separates the hotel from the old town and thus from all the attractions of Salzburg.

We are pleased to inform you that we have updated our WIFI system and it's now much easier to log on.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Salzburg with us and remain with kind regards from Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is in a good location in Salzburg - just a couple of minutes walk and you are right in the centre of the Old Town. The hotel itself is modern, clean and tidy. Staff are very helpful, even making a phone call on our behalf as we couldn't communicate in German - thank you Daniel. Rooms were again modern and clean but basic 3 star - a kettle with tea/coffee facilities wouldn't have gone astray. The hotel had car parking which was convenient when you are a foreigner driving on the wrong side of the road! Overall satisfactory stay for the price paid.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank TopEnder5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review and that you have taken the time for it.
We are very pleased that you have felt comfortable with us.
We are particularly pleased at the praise of our employees, which we refer, of course.

We would be delighted to welcome you back with us (we will then borrow a kettle) and send warm greetings from the city of Mozart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The room was clean, and utilitarian. No frills about it. Breakfast was slightly overpriced. Pretty close to the city center and the sound of music hop on hop off bus. The internet sign-on was complicated every single time you logged on, you had to run through a verification process.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f1999308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Sorry, you have found the registration to WIFI as complicated.
For this reason, I am pleased to inform you that we have been working on that and we have now made ​​the sign up for the free WIFI much easier.

We would be happy if we can welcome you back with us and send warm greetings from Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
1.1 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#38 of 132 in Salzburg
930 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#42 of 132 in Salzburg
675 reviews
1.2 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#15 of 132 in Salzburg
897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort

Address: Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $110 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is located right in the heart of the city of Mozart, only 300 m from the Playhouse and the famous Getreidegasse. Here the birthplace of the musical child genius is situated. Easily reached from any direction, our hotel offers you the ideal starting point for conducting your business. Or for an unforgettable weekend stay: A wondrous environment, a city centre with incomparable atmosphere and culinary delights at every turn are waiting for you there. The hotel has 61 covered parking spaces available, and the two large public garages under the Monchsberg offer many more only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing