We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel not too far from city center”
Review of Villa Ceconi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Ceconi
Ranked #86 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in a four person room that was a very good size and accommodated four adults no problem.The bathroom was also spacious and enjoyed the radio inside here as well. This hotel was a quick 5 min bus ride to the city center, with the bus stop right outside the hotel. Parking for this hotel is conveniently located right in front, however the check in for this hotel is a block down the street at a different hotel. Was a great space, easy to drive to and easy to get to and from the city center. Would recommend this hotel for someone looking for a place on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALeJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Villa Ceconi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 55 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

They said it was a 15 minute walk to the old city, but it's more like 30, and then you're still going to do a lot of walking, so I'd recommend driving to the parking at the tunnel or taking a taxi (about 6 euro). The rooms are old but decent. The breakfast buffet costs extra (because it's all organic), but they don't have anything hot. It's just bread, cereal, and cold cuts. For a family of four to have beds and breakfast is nearly 200 euros.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleevecoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It is a bit away from the city centre, but there is a public transport that can get you to the down town very quickly, on one side, and to the airport, Red bull arena, IKEA and Design Outlet on the other side.
No central AC, so a bit too hot in the room. When you open the window you can hear the street noise... We were so tired from walking all day long so we still managed to get some sleep anyway. The breakfast a bit expensive and one should go to the Hotel zur Post, about 200 m away, but the staff was very polite and we didn't mind anything.
We had a room on the ground floor, the bathroom had a glass door (I keep wondering wherever I see this, what idiot came up with such an idea in a first place).
We had one double bad and a folded sofa for our children, comfy enough. Parking is free of charge in front of the villa.
Internet signal poor from time to time.

Room Tip: If you get a room you don't like, complain. :-)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OdohVideh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our stay at Villa Ceconi was near enough perfect. Excellent location meant that getting there from the airport was simple (Number 10 bus, 10 minute journey, get off at Schwedenstrasse), and the city centre was just a 20 minute walk. Service was fantastic - staff were very helpful and courteous. The hotel reception is located in the sister Hotel Zur Post - a minutes walk from Villa Ceconi - this meant that our stay in the Villa felt very hands-off and private, whilst also having the security of the staff being a short walk away. The room was immaculate and featured beautiful old wooden furnishings and a very clean and modern bathroom. Overall, we loved our stay in the hotel and Salzburg so much, we intend to come back and stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our first time to Salzburg and Austria. Wish we had booked more time there! The hotel was nicely decorated and very spacious for the 4 of us (2 adults, 2 teens) - a bit odd check in and out - you have to go to another hotel down the street however the staff was so lovely it made up for this. As you need to be aware when booking in old historical type buildings (which I love) there are no lifts so be prepared to haul luggage up the stairs. I would have given this a much higher rating if not for the fact that it was a very hot August and there is no AC or fans so if you open your windows you are welcomed with the lovely loud traffic noise - and it goes all night long! And I wished it could have been a walk to the old town but you have to drive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We are a couple with a 15 year-old son and stayed at Villa Ceconi for 4 nights in August 2012. The villa is administered by Hotel zur Post, which is 200 metres down the road and is were the front-desk (check-in) and breakfast lounge are located. The room was very spacious, newly renovated and very clean. There was a small balcony outside, but only large enough to fit one chair on. Wi-fi was fast and complementary and there was always plenty of parking in the villa car-park. The only complaint that I'd have is that it was quite hot during our stay, so we had to sleep with the windows open (no air-con or fan). Although we were at the back of the villa and hence not on the road side it still got quite noisy early in the morning.
It is about a 20-minute walk into the Old Town, but an unlimited-travel tram ticket can be brought for a few Euros (from the front-desk) and it's single journey into the old town (trams every 10 mins or so).

We opted to take breakfast in the restaurant (for convenience) which was excellent, if not a bit pricey. The hotel staff were all excellent and very helpful and friendly. They helped us arrange tours and tram tickets, provided us with advice and answered any questions we had about Salzburg. I'd thoroughly recommend either Villa Ceconi or Hotel zur Post.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is located in a grand renovated manor with large rooms. The stay was very nice though it got tiring walking the 25 minutes to and from town each time, I'd recommend you catch the number 1 bus to save time. The rooms were very clean and equipped for a short stay, no extras or bath but nice enough to save on the more expensive hotels in the city centre. It often got noisy in the morning with the cleaners, but not too big an issue. As the hotel is located away from the main hotel Zur post you get the feeling of independence which was nice. The staff at the Zur post reception were very friendly. Stay here if you want to get a real feeling of Salzburg and its quaint suburbs other than the typical well known centre but if you don't mind a walk or bus ride into town. Supermarkets and restaurants a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MF585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
#51 of 132 in Salzburg
198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Landgasthof Kohlpeter
Landgasthof Kohlpeter
#45 of 132 in Salzburg
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
2.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
1.7 mi away
Hotel Drei Kreuz
Hotel Drei Kreuz
#63 of 132 in Salzburg
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ceconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ceconi

Address: Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: $96 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ceconi 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Villa Ceconi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceconi Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing