We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel not too far from city center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Ceconi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Ceconi
Ranked #78 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice hotel not too far from city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in a four person room that was a very good size and accommodated four adults no problem.The bathroom was also spacious and enjoyed the radio inside here as well. This hotel was a quick 5 min bus ride to the city center, with the bus stop right outside the hotel. Parking for this hotel is conveniently located right in front, however the check in for this hotel is a block down the street at a different hotel. Was a great space, easy to drive to and easy to get to and from the city center. Would recommend this hotel for someone looking for a place on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALeJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mendrisio, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

They said it was a 15 minute walk to the old city, but it's more like 30, and then you're still going to do a lot of walking, so I'd recommend driving to the parking at the tunnel or taking a taxi (about 6 euro). The rooms are old but decent. The breakfast buffet costs extra (because it's all organic), but they don't have anything hot. It's just bread, cereal, and cold cuts. For a family of four to have beds and breakfast is nearly 200 euros.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleevecoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

It is a bit away from the city centre, but there is a public transport that can get you to the down town very quickly, on one side, and to the airport, Red bull arena, IKEA and Design Outlet on the other side.
No central AC, so a bit too hot in the room. When you open the window you can hear the street noise... We were so tired from walking all day long so we still managed to get some sleep anyway. The breakfast a bit expensive and one should go to the Hotel zur Post, about 200 m away, but the staff was very polite and we didn't mind anything.
We had a room on the ground floor, the bathroom had a glass door (I keep wondering wherever I see this, what idiot came up with such an idea in a first place).
We had one double bad and a folded sofa for our children, comfy enough. Parking is free of charge in front of the villa.
Internet signal poor from time to time.

Room Tip: If you get a room you don't like, complain. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OdohVideh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our stay at Villa Ceconi was near enough perfect. Excellent location meant that getting there from the airport was simple (Number 10 bus, 10 minute journey, get off at Schwedenstrasse), and the city centre was just a 20 minute walk. Service was fantastic - staff were very helpful and courteous. The hotel reception is located in the sister Hotel Zur Post - a minutes walk from Villa Ceconi - this meant that our stay in the Villa felt very hands-off and private, whilst also having the security of the staff being a short walk away. The room was immaculate and featured beautiful old wooden furnishings and a very clean and modern bathroom. Overall, we loved our stay in the hotel and Salzburg so much, we intend to come back and stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our first time to Salzburg and Austria. Wish we had booked more time there! The hotel was nicely decorated and very spacious for the 4 of us (2 adults, 2 teens) - a bit odd check in and out - you have to go to another hotel down the street however the staff was so lovely it made up for this. As you need to be aware when booking in old historical type buildings (which I love) there are no lifts so be prepared to haul luggage up the stairs. I would have given this a much higher rating if not for the fact that it was a very hot August and there is no AC or fans so if you open your windows you are welcomed with the lovely loud traffic noise - and it goes all night long! And I wished it could have been a walk to the old town but you have to drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We are a couple with a 15 year-old son and stayed at Villa Ceconi for 4 nights in August 2012. The villa is administered by Hotel zur Post, which is 200 metres down the road and is were the front-desk (check-in) and breakfast lounge are located. The room was very spacious, newly renovated and very clean. There was a small balcony outside, but only large enough to fit one chair on. Wi-fi was fast and complementary and there was always plenty of parking in the villa car-park. The only complaint that I'd have is that it was quite hot during our stay, so we had to sleep with the windows open (no air-con or fan). Although we were at the back of the villa and hence not on the road side it still got quite noisy early in the morning.
It is about a 20-minute walk into the Old Town, but an unlimited-travel tram ticket can be brought for a few Euros (from the front-desk) and it's single journey into the old town (trams every 10 mins or so).

We opted to take breakfast in the restaurant (for convenience) which was excellent, if not a bit pricey. The hotel staff were all excellent and very helpful and friendly. They helped us arrange tours and tram tickets, provided us with advice and answered any questions we had about Salzburg. I'd thoroughly recommend either Villa Ceconi or Hotel zur Post.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is located in a grand renovated manor with large rooms. The stay was very nice though it got tiring walking the 25 minutes to and from town each time, I'd recommend you catch the number 1 bus to save time. The rooms were very clean and equipped for a short stay, no extras or bath but nice enough to save on the more expensive hotels in the city centre. It often got noisy in the morning with the cleaners, but not too big an issue. As the hotel is located away from the main hotel Zur post you get the feeling of independence which was nice. The staff at the Zur post reception were very friendly. Stay here if you want to get a real feeling of Salzburg and its quaint suburbs other than the typical well known centre but if you don't mind a walk or bus ride into town. Supermarkets and restaurants a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MF585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#49 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Turnerwirt
Hotel Turnerwirt
#61 of 137 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
#55 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Junior Hotel
Junior Hotel
#88 of 137 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
#35 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Josefa
Pension Josefa
#103 of 137 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ceconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ceconi

Property: Villa Ceconi
Address: Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ceconi 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Ceconi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceconi Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing