We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...perfect for exploring Salzburgland”
Review of Hotel Gabi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gabi
Ranked #33 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed for a week and simply cannot fault the hotel in any way. The rooms were spacious, clean and quiet, the breakfast was unbelievably varied and the location was perfect for easily exploring Salzburg and vicinity or for simply going for a stroll along the river in the evening - or pop over the bridge and you are in Germany. The staff are all incredibly nice and helpful assisting guests in a variety of languages. This is a really cosy place with lovely views of the mountains. Having a car is useful though. There is not normally a meal available other than breakfast but there are several restaurants walking distance away. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKB-Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gabi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 120 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Me, my wife and our son stayed at the hotel Gabi two nights. The hotel is located in Wals, a small village in the countryside, located few kilometers from Salzburg. The place (a real gem) is extremely quiet and in our opinion is surely preferable to the center of Salzburg.

The hotel is very nice. Rooms very clean and spacious, tastefully decorated. Excellent free wifi. Large car parking. The hotel is exactly as in the web site pictures.
The breakfast is excellent, served in the large dining room (beautiful) or in the garden by the small pool. Really enjoyable.

The hotel owner is really very kind and provides a lot of information and tips for visiting Salzburg.
We booked by phone and confirmed via email within ten minutes! Very easy.
In short: great hotel from all points of view.

The center of Salzburg can be reached within five minutes by car and in our experience the parking was not a problem. The indoor parking are quite expensive while those along the way have a lower cost.
We regret not having dedicated more time to the area because it is really beautiful and full of turist opportunities.

Ours was a very positive experience.

Massimo, Antonella e Matteo

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAX-7591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Jesper S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at hotel Gabi in January and it wasen't a good experience. The room we got had no hot water, the heat didn't work, the tv didn't work and there was a strange pip-sound in the room. The discription sad that you could ski down to the hotel but that was far from the case. We are going to Salzburg again next year but we are absolutely not staying at hotel Gabi.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank michelle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Guests,

Please report any kinds of problems to the reception immediately so that we can take care of them as quickly as possible.

We are not able to relate to your complaints in any way. In the same way, the location of the hotel is stated correctly on the Internet.

Kind regards
Hotel Gabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Myself and family have just returned from a superb break in Salzburg which was made even better because we stayed at Hotel Gabi.
The hotel is located in a village suburb of Salzburg with lovely views. It is so clean,bright and beautifully furnished. The rooms are extremely comfortable and a good size.....the ensuites spacious and adequately equipped.
There is a good selection of foods for the buffet breakfast to suit everyones taste and this is taken in a bright and airy room.
The hotel is family run and both the family and any extra staff are more than helpful and make one feel most welcome. Very helpful with any questions put to them and they seem to genuinely want to be helpful and kind.
Due to its location,a car or taxi is best to get into Salzburg. There is a bus services but is a little time consuming.
The wellness area is brilliant and a real bonus...bath robes and towels provided.....for more exercise one can take some nice walks on level ground.
If you do not need to stay in the centre of Salzburg,then Hotel Gabi is a perfect place to stay and be treated as welcomed guests throughout the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Phlup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Mariamaldaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salzburg
3.0 mi away
Hotel Frauenschuh
Hotel Frauenschuh
#25 of 132 in Salzburg
167 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
3.0 mi away
Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gerl
Hotel Gerl
#1 of 10 in Wals
209 reviews
4.3 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
880 reviews
3.7 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabi

Address: Steinerstrasse 1 | 5071 Wals, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: $146 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing