We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal, great location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Youth & Family Guesthouse
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great deal, great location!”
Reviewed March 26, 2009

With very little research, my friends and I selected this hostel for the next leg of our trip. The hostel was centrally located, immaculate, and staffed with helpful people.

The three of us were able to stay in a room with three bunks with a bathroom/shower inside the room for around 20 euros a night. Definitely a great deal.

Super clean, no frills, would definitely recommend.

Free parking!

OH! And the Sound of Music Tour Bus leaves from the hostel every morning! Who could resist? ;)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperPaigey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
1
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
202 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Stayed in this hostel for 2 nights with 7 friends.

It was a great hostel - very clean and friendly. there was a massive common area, and free wireless - the breakfast was also really great.

It doesnt have anywhere to party - so dont think you will get a bar or anything - you will get daily screenings of the sound of music though! realistically salzberg isnt really a party city - so this hostel perfectly fits the vibe

other than that the rooms had very little space - no where to put bags if they didnt fit in lockers other than in the coridoor next to the beds.

  • Liked — Location & the hostel itself
  • Disliked — No place to party
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2008

The location of this hostel is great: in the old part of town within walking distance to all the sites and shops and my room had a great view of the Hohensalzburg Fortress. If you want to go further out there is a bus stop at the end of the road.

I was travelling alone and stayed for two nights. The hostel is very impersonal because it's so large - it's more like a hotel really - but I stayed in an 8 bed dorm and got chatting to people that way.

Discounted tours can be booked from the front desk and the tour companies pick you up from the door which was great.

Desk staff were not particularly friendly but they did give out useful information if you really asked.

I would avoid the food. Breakfast was ok and it is convenient to eat in the hostel before going out for the day but I would definitely not buy the meal voucher for dinner. On the first day I thought this would be the easy option but the portions served up were very small and the dessert buffet was almost empty even though I was quite early. For not much more money you can enjoy a lovely relaxing meal at one of the many pavement cafes.

The rooms and bathrooms do need updating. A lot of the wooden bunks had graffiti all over them and the showers a bit hit and miss. However the place was clean and the bedding was spotless.

It was pretty expensive for what you got but then so is everywhere in this city so I would probably stay there again because of the location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cost of everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samfan121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Would definitely stay here again...the location was great, you can see the hohensalzburg fortress when you step out the front door. Play Sound of Music every night and breakfast is included. They have tours which pick you up right outside the door, very convenient. The beds were comfortable, but there was only one outlet for a room of 8, the only downside of the stay.

We had read a couple reviews saying how bad the showers were here, but they must have just renovated them....the showers were the best part!! (They were perfectly clean with great hot water and pressure)

Had lockers which you can rent so safety isn't an issue.

  • Liked — Location and Showers
  • Disliked — Only one outlet in room!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank galwaygal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

I was a lone traveler and stayed in the 8 person dorm room for 4 nights. The room itself was clean, but a little cramped. It seemed fairly new, as I was worried that it would be old and horrible from some previous posts, so maybe they've gone under renovation. Also, you need to pay for a locker (and it wasn't that cheap), luckily I brought along a lock so I just locked my luggage. The bathrooms weren't as bad as I expected, and were mostly clean, except for the showers that didn't drain very well. Water pressure was great though. Breakfast was included, it's not spectacular but enough to start off the day. This place is quite large, so for those people looking to meet other travelers, it's not very good for that. They do show the Sound of Music every night, which was fun. And the location is good, you can probably walk to all the major tourist sites in the city of Salzburg in 20-30 minutes. All in all, it provides the basics in good manner, but nothing is particularly outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank betoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trex01
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2008

Facilties are under construction. Bathrooms are dirty, showers don't work and beds are thin, creaking old floors with people running up and down hallways all night. They nickle and dime guests for everything. Don't complain or they will tell you "if you don't like it - stay home next time!" If it is a choice between a park bench and this place, sleep at the park, you will be happier.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trex01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2007

This was only the second hostel I've ever stayed at, so bear that in mind as you read this. The location was great, 5 mins from the Altstadt (old city) in a quiet area, maybe 30-45 min walk from the main Train station. The rooms were very old, small, and we got two single beds that were separate and built into the wall, so to say, so you had to sleep apart if you're a couple. The room itself was fairly clean, albeit dusty, the main problem was the showers. They smelled of mould or urine or we couldn't quite put our finger on it... No hot water it seemed. The breakfast was nice, nothing special or crappy, no major complaints.

All in all, good location, not so great rooms and the price wasn't super cheap either. I would take it as a last resort, but try to find somewhere else first.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AntigenBand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Weisses Kreuz
Townhouse Weisses Kreuz
#93 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wolf
Hotel Wolf
#76 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Schwarzes Rossl
Schwarzes Rossl
#89 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Pension am Eschenbach
#34 of 61 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth & Family Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth & Family Guesthouse

Property: Youth & Family Guesthouse
Address: Josef-Preis-Allee 18, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Salzburg
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Youth & Family Guesthouse Hotel Salzburg
Youth And Family Guesthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing