We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Salzburg hotel exceeds expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
Ranked #2 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Massillon, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint Salzburg hotel exceeds expectation”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Spending 4 nights at Bloberger Hof to begin our European vacation set the standard for our entire trip this year. It's wonderful location, on the edge of town, was peaceful and relaxing for all of us. Traveling with 8 people is challenging, but our stay was met with accommodating staff who arranged for taxi's and gave advice on bus travel as well. We used both modes of transportation and were able to navigate into the city and back in a timely fashion. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. I loved the bed and individual comforters. I can't say enough about the excellent breakfasts that are included in the room rate. We were fortunate to begin our stay on a Friday evening and enjoyed a dinner of goulash, the aroma which greeted us at the door earlier in the day and beckoned us to give it a try ! The staff also was skilled in making reservations for us to attend various events. We took advantage of a dinner/concert at the fortress and was most impressed. I love Salzburg, and believe it exemplifies what a perfect European vacation is all about. Especially, if you stay at the Bloberger Hof. It was great !

Room Tip: Each of our four (4) rooms for family members was different. We were all more than pleased with ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    149
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
248
424
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here mainly based off Trip Advisor reviews. It was me, my wife and our two small children. We had been to Salzburg before and were looking for a hotel better suited for a family. This place was great for children, the family that runs it was very accommodating. We had a suite on the 2nd floor, it was a nice size and very clean. However, in typical European fashion the "double" bed was just two singles pushed together. The hotel provided us with a pack and play for our son but charged us 7 Euro night for it. Kinda cheesy I thought.

As you may heave read the mosquitoes are terrible here. As with the rest of Europe they don't believe in or understand the concept of screens on windows. We live in Germany and every house is the same way. Here they were really bad, we got eaten up pretty good. I would recommend some bug repellent if you are staying here in the summer. I did fine the source of the mosquitoes while walking to dinner. About 200 yards away adjacent to the main road there is some type of stagnant creek/runoff and that is where they are all coming from. Also, there is no AC but that is pretty typical. They did provide us with a few fans and were comfortable.

Aside from the rest of the stay was very nice. The restaurant is very good, breakfast was exceelent. It is closed Sundays for Lunch/Dinner but we walked a few blocks and found another very nice place to eat. The location is great, 20 min drive to downtown Salzburg.

If you are driving in (we did from Germany) the road leading to the hotel is insanely narrow. I don't think it's dangerous but it can be a little disconcerting as the locals who know the road come flying by. Also, free parking. That's big deal in Europe.

Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and if we go back to Salzburg this is where we will stay.

The Good:
Great location
Great Breakfast
Free parking
Kid friendly staff
Staff speaks excellent English
Large rooms

The Bad:
Mosquitoes (bring some bug spray)
Beds (typical of Europe)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markbahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
571 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at Bloberger and had an excellent time. I reserved a single room, but had the large apartment on the first floor. The room was large, clean, modern, and had a large comfortable bed. My friend had a very large and nice room on the second floor, also with one large bed (especially for normal rooms in Europe). The hotel is a few miles from the center of Salzburg in a nice country setting with good views. It is an easy drive or bus ride to the city. The bus stops a block from the hotel and we decided to take it back and forth after our first drive to Salzburg. We purchased an all day pass for 4 - 5 euros. The buses run every 20 to 30 minutes. There is free parking at the hotel. The rooms had flat screen TV's with English channels to watch. The breakfast was good and they made eggs to your order. The restaurant at night had excellent food. The night it was closed we walked to a nearby restaurant and had a good meal. The only hard part was trying to find the hotel from the autobahn. It was not far, but we had to drive on narrow roads and were not sure if we were on the right track, but we were. By staying at the Bloberger you get a country feel and service and are very close to the city too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time spending 6 nights in this hotel. The staff were extremely welcoming and always offered to help or asked if we needed anything. They have a lovely breakfast out each morning and bring out coffee, tea, and eggs to order. I never experienced anything below exceptional service. They arranged our cab to the airport, provided us a corkscrew, and did a batch of laundry for us. They helped us figure out the best buses and trains for getting to our destinations and even offered us an umbrella to borrow on a drizzly morning. We could not have asked for better accommodation or better service. The internet worked the whole time and the decoration is beautiful. Everything is clean and well kept, and dinner in the restaurant was exceptional as well. You cannot go wrong staying at this beautiful location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBomh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Cold and unwelcoming hosts. They claim to have Internet but it's never available - when complained they just showed me their iPad connected to LAN and said there were too many guest using it. Dirty dog running amok on the premises and grabbing stuff of patrons' bags. Rude service at the restaurant: asked for coffee and strudel, got two small cups of lukewarm coffee and no strudel for about 30 minutes - how long does it take to warm up a plate? When I canceled my order of strudel after waiting all that time I got an earful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vlad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

This time we had a standard room instead of a junior suite. It was quite large and just as nicely decorated. The place is solidly built, so that there is no noise from adjoining rooms. There are pretty Austrian details everywhere, including beautiful tile stoves. Furniture is charming and functional with many practical built-ins. Breakfast and dinner are delicious and served in lovely rooms. Free wifi all over the hotel is much appreciated. We had a car and appreciated free easy parking, even returning late in the evening. We found it very easy to drive to Altstadt parking (under the mountain!) for town visits. We would not look further for a place to stay in this area and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallpinesCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opfikon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful time in this hotel. Just outside the main city so you have real peace and quiet. There is free parking. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel which were as good quality as you find in some 5 star restaurants(only less in variety) . Our room junior suite was spacious,clean and had a good view. Amenities provided were very good for the price. Only one negative thing to note is there are not many restaurants near by but we were happy with the Indian restaurant ashoka on moostrasse towards the city.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArKiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,106 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
439 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,030 reviews
3.9 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
869 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof

Property: Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
Address: Hammerauer Strasse | Nr. 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small but beautiful family-run 3-star hotel just outside of the Mozart city of Salzburg is surrounded by nature, yet is only 5 km from the historic centre. The main sights of Salzburg can be reached within 15 minutes by bus. Our stylishly furnished rooms offer great views of the Untersberg mountain or the Hohensalzburg Fortress. Enjoy a tasty dinner in our restaurant and let the day come to an end with a glass of wine in a friendly atmosphere. The hotel offers you the chance to relax and recharge your batteries, but is an ideal starting point for many sights as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Bloberger Hof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing