We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I hoped for an more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
Ranked #2 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Travelling from Australia with Wife, 2 Daughters (6, 15), 1 Son (13).

I booked the Bloberger Hof based on the Trip Advisor reviews. I had some trepidation with this booking as the hotel appears to be outside the city. This proved to be unfounded.

Our whole family were very happy with the decision to stay at the Bloberger.

The rural location is excellent - it is a short bus or taxi ride to the Old Town and this is more than made up for by the mountain views and much fairer room rates.

The rooms are really very nice. The are clean and very modern with lots of timber a bit like a swish sauna with a bed.

The only suggestion / warning is: if you are 6" (183cm) or more like me and you take a top floor apartment (which were really nice) you may bang your head in the bath room as it is under the roof line. This became a running joke with my wife every time I used the toilet - "Bonk" followed by me swearing. Its not really a problem but if you are over 6 foot maybe ask for a 2nd not 3rd floor apartment.

That reminds me - there are no lifts. So if you have a wonky knee, back or just can't be bothered lugging you bags up stairs ask for a ground or first floor apartment.

The owners the Keuschnigg's are genuinely friendly and welcoming. They looked after us like family.

The food for dinner and breakfast is excellent.

So I ask why stay in an expensive city hotel when you can stay at the Blogberger for half the cost and you wiil experience some true Austrian hospitality?

I travel all over the world for my work and regularly stay in 5 star hotels, in many ways the Blogberger was bettter, I would not stay anywhere else in Salzberg.

Room Tip: That reminds me - there are no lifts. So if you have a wonky knee, back or just can't be bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank derekb070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 813 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2011

We booked this hotel based on the great reviews left by Trip Advisor travellers. This place exceeded our expectations! The staff are extremely helpful and polite. Our room was spacious and clean (we booked a superior) and the breakfast was lovely. Be sure to ask reception for a kettle and cups upon arrival - we only discovered this facility after reading the welcome booklet on our last evening - so pack your teabags! This is a very lovely hotel, only a short bus journey away from Salzburg centre - such an easy journey, so don't be deterred by this!

Room Tip: Superior - great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Max018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Bloberger Hof is a pension or what Americans refer to as B&B. But it far exceeds any expectations one might have of a B&B. The rooms are huge (I stayed in a double bedroom) and prices are very reasonable. The breakfast is delightful, and inclusive in the room price as is wireless Internet. Hotel is clean and there are no weird smells that one might expect in pensions.

The only thing you should concern yourself with is that it is on the outskirts of Salzburg. So you either need a car, or you can take public transportation. Parking here is free so that is a plus.

This is one of the best non-chain hotel experiences I've had and I am happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faisal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We arrived at the hotel which is located in the city´s outskirts by car and were received by Inge (the mother). This is a real family run hotel, even the grandchildren are around the guests! All of the staff was friendly and helpful. The room is very spacious, bath and toilet are in separated rooms. The bed was comfy and linens were of high quality. Kitchen is run by the son, who is a chef. We had dinner one night, and ate German specialties. Really nice. The access to the hotel is easy by car and by bus (we took a bus once coming back from downtown). Parking was really good, considering our big van.
We went on the Sound of Music tour, and had pick up arrangements and tickets managed by the front desk. Values charged on our bill, it was nice.
Cons: 1- breakfast was average, we were expecting more, considering the hotel ambiance and style. 2- Wifi internet was not working in the rooms and the problem was not fixed, despite we had asked them for. Overall, the stay was great, and we recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No lifts. Check the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fer_and_Ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

This was our first visit to Salzberg, we arrived about midday the hotel looked like it came off a postcard it is charming. We went in and met Silvia and Inga,l we went to our room and it was fantastic warm,clean, and very niclely furnished.We went into Salzberg city on the bus it was great,(i hav'nt been on a bus for years) it was easy to get to the centre about 15 minutes.
Breafast every morning was first class,we had one evening meal and that was fantastic.
Silvia and Inga are very helpful and will book any trips for you if you want.
We cant wait to return to The Bloberger Hof and would recommend it to any of our friends.
Thank you Silvia, Inga and the rest of your team.

Room Tip: We had room 18 friends had room 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daddybearHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Glad that we had a rental car and could enjoy the short jaunt from the city center's attractions to the peaceful Salzburg countryside (I'm told the bus service is excellent, too). Rooms, breakfast and suggestions from family were terrific. And, the views from our room was spectacular. Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof is a nice change from the busy pace of a the city - try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigerPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We enjoyed our 3-night stay, just a bus-ride from the hustle and bustle of downtown Salzburg. The room was comfortable and very clean; the staff very accommodating, and the breakfast included in the price was delicious. We rented a car for the remainder of our trip and it was great to have a place to park. We received a 10% discount on the quoted price for paying cash. We enjoyed one of our evening meals in the hotel restaurant and the food was very good.

We did however, have an attack of mosquitoes at night, even in early October. In spite of this, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,131 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
3.2 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
885 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
1,046 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof

Address: Hammerauer Strasse | Nr. 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $109 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small but beautiful family-run 3-star hotel just outside of the Mozart city of Salzburg is surrounded by nature, yet is only 5 km from the historic centre. The main sights of Salzburg can be reached within 15 minutes by bus. Our stylishly furnished rooms offer great views of the Untersberg mountain or the Hohensalzburg Fortress. Enjoy a tasty dinner in our restaurant and let the day come to an end with a glass of wine in a friendly atmosphere. The hotel offers you the chance to relax and recharge your batteries, but is an ideal starting point for many sights as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Bloberger Hof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing