We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean, basic and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Jahn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Jahn
Ranked #58 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, basic and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends for a few nights whilst visiting Salzburg. The room was very basic with a parquet floor but all clean and tidy. The beds were enough to ensure a nights sleep. As others have mentioned its close to the train station and a quick 15 minute walk to the old town. The street outside is fairly noisy with traffic though. Breakfast was basic but more than sufficient. Owners were pleasant and friendly.
Would we stay again? If on a budget, yes

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tubby-lala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    85
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
64
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a room with a shared bathroom. The train station is only a couple blocks away. The location is a little shady, but not unsafe. Also, the road next to the hotel is heavily traveled by busses so you won't be able to sleep in. It's a 15 min walk to Mirabell Gardens and 20 minutes to Old Town, but you don't have to walk far with your luggage. Breakfast includes yogurt, granola, eggs, rolls, bread, cold cuts, and cheese. The owners are very friendly and helpful. It's very reasonable, but I would just caution light sleepers about the road traffic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaSeesTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance (a couple of blocks) of the train station and makes a great base for visiting Salzburg. Ylian, the lady in charge of the front desk and breakfast, was super helpful in acquainting my girlfriend and me with how to navigate Salzburg. We only had two days and she showed us how to get the most out of them.
The rooms are a bit noisy, but it didn't bother me that much and if one wants to shut the window it stops the noise completely. We were advised to ask for a room away from the street side which we did.
No elevator to get your luggage upstairs.
The rooms are a good size and the price is a great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WindwardHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Pension Jahn is basic but good value in an expensive city. Owners are multi-lingual and helpful. We had an ensuited room which was basic but clean. The breakfast buffet was good value. The Pension is very near the train station, so it's good for transport. The immediate surrounds aren't the nicest - but that's often the case when staying near the major transport depot (having said that there are some good restaurants very close by which the owners were happy to point out). The walk to the river and old city takes about 15 minutes. Pension Jahn is a good value, budget hotel. No frills but clean and a good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uqshinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Nearby train station and bus station. But surprisingly quiet. Budget place to stay and so don't expect much. Very basic room. Not stylish at all.
The host is polite but not the sort of "friendly" expected.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aunatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Had been to the hotel after reading the reviews!! Well I have given 4/5 stars only for the fact that it is not as good as I expected but it met all my needs :)..... A 100m walk to the bus n train station....very very friendly staff....lovely people....many restaurants close by...you hv McD too... There are many hotels with big names but this is a compact hotel....

If you are spending just the night to stay at the hotel without looking for any real (spa,sauna,massage etc ;) ) services then this the right hotel. I observed that there was no lift, no refrigerator or a mini bar....but these are not mandatory for everyone....

But as I told you this a true "VALUE FOR MONEY" hotel....

Cheers

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vittalvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife, adult daughter, and I stayed at this hotel for several days in June 2013. Room and bathroom was clean. Room was large. The people who run the hotel, the Mr. & Mrs. Lai, were really great. We had a problem with getting some of our cloths washed and they worked with us to solve our problem. They did not have to help us, but they did. Breakfast was good, with Mr. Lai serving each of us the hot drinks. Location is very good, 1 block from the train station (walk straight out of the station) on a quiet street. We walked about 20 min down the road the hotel is on, to get to "old town". The hotel is multi-floored, with all the rooms on 2nd and above. The hotel does not have an elevator. Our room was on the 2nd floor. I would absolutely stay with the Lai's again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#44 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#32 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#20 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
#34 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.8 mi away
Hotel Drei Kreuz
Hotel Drei Kreuz
#65 of 137 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Jahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Jahn

Property: Pension Jahn
Address: Elisabethstrasse 31, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Jahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Jahn Hotel Salzburg
Jahn Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing