We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, but noisy depending on your room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yoho International Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yoho International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Yoho International Youth Hostel
Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good hostel, but noisy depending on your room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed in this hostel at the weekend. It's a good location in terms of distance from the train station, the food and drink are good (especially happy hour offers), and it has wifi and shows the Sound of Music every evening.

However, I had a huge problem in regards to how noisy it was. The room I was in was located at the front of the hostel, just above reception, so I could hear very loud groups of people coming into the hostel at 1am, 2am, 4am. I even heard a member of staff telling one group to be quiet. It was impossible to get a good night's sleep because of this, so I would recommend that you ask for a room near the back of the hostel or bring ear plugs. Maybe if the hostel are reading this, please could you ensure that there is better insulation in the front-facing rooms so that occupants will not be woken up by disruptive drunk people?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirandaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great hostel, clean, good price, nice bar and food. After a few drinks watching the sound of music in the hostel (shown every night) was quite fun, but if you do not fancy it then there is a lounge and internet, book swap and free wifi. Not quite in the centre but not far plus about 10 mins walk from train station (tops) and an easy walk you can do it with a suitcase on wheels. Staff v good and knowledgable

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orangemonkey2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Decent hostel. It is in a good location and they give you a great map of the city. The rooms are small and do not have bathrooms attached. There is a decently large lounge area and computer room where you can meet new friends. They play The Sound of Music 24 hours a day in the lobby if that's one of your favorite things.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I am not an experienced visitor of hostels, so it might be a bit difficult to write an objective review. I stayed with my boyfriend, um and sister in a 4-bed room with private shower.
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. You could watch a DVD and read books downstairs. The coffe from the machine was awful! We also had breakfast in the morning which was very worth the money of 3,50:-. Overall we had a pleasant stay even though hostels always makes me feel like Im on a childrens camp.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emelie_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for two nights after a conference to explore Salzburg. Really great, clean and friendly hostel with superb facilities.

A particular highlight was the card swipe lockers - very spacious and secure. The cheap bar was great for meeting people before exploring the city.

Very centrally located and a good map is available for free at reception. Dorms are priced very reasonably and are quite spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurasaurus_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The place is quite easy to locate. It is in a quiet location which can help avoid the drone of vehicles. Although in the winters, it might be easier to stay somewhere closer to the train stations(to avoid walking). I stayed in the 6-bed female dorm. It was very clean, safe (something I was very conscious about as a solo female traveller). I was lucky to not have snoring room-mates :) and enjoyed a good night's sleep. This place is great to meet a bunch of travellers from different countries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayzee_Ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Good location close from the station in a quiet street but far from the old city by foot. With the Salzburg Card and free buses, it won't be a trouble. 4 beds room was just enough large when luggages were too bigs for lockers but new and clean. Some noise from people running in the stairs. Good traditional breakfast. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close from stairs and common lavatories which are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#17 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#39 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
#56 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Auersperg
Hotel Auersperg
#5 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoho International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoho International Youth Hostel

Address: Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Yoho International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoho International Youth Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing