We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yoho International Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yoho International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Yoho International Youth Hostel
Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I am not an experienced visitor of hostels, so it might be a bit difficult to write an objective review. I stayed with my boyfriend, um and sister in a 4-bed room with private shower.
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. You could watch a DVD and read books downstairs. The coffe from the machine was awful! We also had breakfast in the morning which was very worth the money of 3,50:-. Overall we had a pleasant stay even though hostels always makes me feel like Im on a childrens camp.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emelie_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    283
    88
    23
    17
See reviews for
20
81
215
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for two nights after a conference to explore Salzburg. Really great, clean and friendly hostel with superb facilities.

A particular highlight was the card swipe lockers - very spacious and secure. The cheap bar was great for meeting people before exploring the city.

Very centrally located and a good map is available for free at reception. Dorms are priced very reasonably and are quite spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurasaurus_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The place is quite easy to locate. It is in a quiet location which can help avoid the drone of vehicles. Although in the winters, it might be easier to stay somewhere closer to the train stations(to avoid walking). I stayed in the 6-bed female dorm. It was very clean, safe (something I was very conscious about as a solo female traveller). I was lucky to not have snoring room-mates :) and enjoyed a good night's sleep. This place is great to meet a bunch of travellers from different countries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayzee_Ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Good location close from the station in a quiet street but far from the old city by foot. With the Salzburg Card and free buses, it won't be a trouble. 4 beds room was just enough large when luggages were too bigs for lockers but new and clean. Some noise from people running in the stairs. Good traditional breakfast. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close from stairs and common lavatories which are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hostel was clean and close to the train station, though a decent walk from the old city. The bed in the dorm was fine, though there weren't a ton of plugs and it took a little while to figure out the locker. My dorm room had the in-room bathroom and shower, and they were really nice. The breakfast (costs extra) was nice. The bar downstairs also serves dinner. Again, it was extra, but it was cheaper than other stuff around and it was good and convenient with a number of options. The kitchen was a little sketchy, so I wouldn't plan on trying to cook. I also liked watching the sound of music, which they show every evening. A little cheesy, but fun and a nice way to meet people.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

It is closed to main railway station just about 10-15 mins walk and not too far from main sightseeing in town.

The mixed dorm room was very nice and clean. All provided facilities including kitchen are very ok. The staffs were quite friendly and gave good recommendations for interesting places to visit.

Recommended !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Close to the main station. Staff were helpful. The 8 bed dorm was sufficient as somewhere to sleep. Wifi was average. Good in room lockers with electronic locks. Terrible kitchen. It was dirty and looked like a biohazard. The bathrooms and showers were good though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aidan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#22 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#26 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoho International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoho International Youth Hostel

Property: Yoho International Youth Hostel
Address: Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Yoho International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoho International Youth Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing