We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yoho International Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yoho International Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hostel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Salzburg is Sound of Music mad and Yoho shows the Sound of Music every night.
The rooms are warm, some of the cleanest I've stayed in, and very sensible having a separate shower and separate toilet to the bedroom.

It is close to the station, but be sure to ask directions if you can't find the main exit, otherwise you will go wrong. But it's relatively straightforward once you're out of the station complex.

Hostel has it's own bar menu, which you can have whilst watching Sound of Music, probably nice to do one evening, but there are so many lovely restaurants 5 minutes walk away it's not really necessary.

The old down is a brisk 10 minute walk, and you can discover a wonderful array of cafes and shops along the way.

The staff on reception could be politer, the bar staff were a lot chattier.
The hostel has a huge range of tours on offer, but do check before you book that they are running e.g. in winter.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatLouise89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    283
    89
    23
    17
See reviews for
20
81
215
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Good location and the place is ok but staff was not considerate. We had to figure out ourselves all the essential information concerning the hostel (check out time etc). But yes, clean toilets after all.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saija P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have stayed one night at this cool place, clean and comfortable. I couldn't stay longer because it was fully booked for a second night, but the staff was very nice in trying to find me another place to stay. Close to the train station (really walking distance), easy to find and well located, city centre is nearby. I recommend the place and Salzburg itself! :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaCris1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Me and my friend only spent one night in Salzburg and this hostel was exactly what we needed: clean, very comfy beds, very good breakfast, nice and helpful personnel, relatively cheap. The hostel is located in the proximity of the train station and the city center -- within walking distance. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 24CrisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

friends recommended me this hostel and it was a great place to explore Salzburg from! easy to reach from the railway station, clean and safe. good breakfast, comfortable beds. thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olga p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton-on-tees
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A great hostel with a fairly young crowd. Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights. We were flexible with our stay but enjoyed Salzburg a lot and were happy with the hostel. The bar is nice, cheap food and a lively atmosphere on the evenings. Free wireless internet was fast enough. The rooms were very clean. Fairly basic dorms but that's to be expected for the price.

I think it would have gotten a better rating if it wasn't for having to pay to rent the towels, I accept a deposit to be necessary but paying for the usage is a little stingy.

P.S I would advise those wanting to do the Sound of Music tour to do it themselves, locate the places and go there yourself via public transport etc - you will save a lot of money as the bus tours cost you around 40euro.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamsyn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My friend and I have been traveling around Europe for a few months now. We found Yoho to be one the cleanest hostels we have stayed at. They also have a great youth hostel feeling. With people sharing tables at breakfast and meeting in the evening for drinks.
We highly recommend Yoho.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#21 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#23 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#25 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoho International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoho International Youth Hostel

Property: Yoho International Youth Hostel
Address: Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Yoho International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoho International Youth Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing