We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and spacious hostel in great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yoho International Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and spacious hostel in great location.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

A short walk from the train station, and great listed directions made it easy to find. Helpful staff on arrival (English speaking), clean and tidy hostel. €5 key deposit which also gives access to a locker in your room. Simple basin in the room and showers &toilets were a short walk away. Very comfy beds! Very reasonable breakfast of €3. Also, the hostel shows 'the sound of music' every night at 7pm

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    321
    100
    25
    19
See reviews for
22
96
241
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lockers in the rooms are very roomy (I could fit my 50 lb suitcase inside), the beds are comfy, duvets are actually clean, and the bathrooms are always available. I stayed in a 8 bed room, and the only downside was that I had to go downstairs and down the hall to the bathroom. (But I'd take a clean bathroom a several feet away over a private dirtier one any day!) The staff were friendly, the decorations very Sound of Music-y, and I could walk to almost anywhere in the city from here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank american_ladki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 4 nights in a sauna of a room. The staff were unfriendly when even asked for the tiniest bit of help. My card for my locker stopped working ad I had to trek to reception sans makeup in my PJs to rectify it and got questioned and then they later came up to check the locker when they "though I'd left". I certainly wasn't happy that they were opening my locker presumably without my presence.
The bathroom were disgusting. Every morning there was garbage and sanitary pads especially all over the bathroom floors.
Beds were comfy, that's probably the best thing about this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sk1bunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

we paid about the same price for this hostel as we did for a hotel in prague which was so much better value but it was what our budget would allow (about 65 euro per night for our 6 week trip).. the room was very small, hot - no aircon- but had a small sink and mirror which was useful. the showers were all very clean and large. you needed to rent towels for the shower. breakfast was 3.50 euro and basic. cheap beer at the bar especially at happy hour. good location 10 mins to old town. would recommend for a short stay. it also got really noisy with doors slamming and street noise. the staff were really helpful though, one guy stayed after his shift to help us which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damore06-233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

There are a few positives about the Yoho Hostel. It's location is fantastic, and it's very clean and affordable. BUT they don't have or enforce quiet hours, and it's extremely noisy... as in... I probably could have slept better AT the train station.

We had hostelers outside our windows until 3 in the morning talking, people coming and going at all hours, doors slamming everywhere, kids crying. I didn't sleep at all. No AC meant you had to keep your windows open, only enhancing the noise from the courtyard.

I would not recommend this hostel for that reason. There are similarly priced hostels in Salzburg, that would likely draw the line for it's guests on when to be quiet and respect others sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvymomtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hostel is in a good location between the train station and city centre and the staff were friendly. The dorm room (bunk beds) was clean with a sink as well which was nice. The showers were good as they locked and there was a shelf and hook to put your belongings on while you showered. However, there was only one female toilet on the entire floor and the showers were on a different floor. There was a bar / restaurant downstairs selling dinner and drinks which we were grateful for (but they were slightly overpriced). Free wifi. You have to pay for breakfast which we felt was quite expensive for what was actually on offer. Also, there is a kitchen in the basement which you are not allowed to use until after 11am! No reason was actually given for this and we felt that it was obviously a ploy to make you buy their breakfast which we didn’t like as we would have preferred the option of making our own.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Strawberry3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao Pessoa, PB
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

this hostel has very confortable beds, and a nice commom area
we stayed there just for one day and I would totally go there again if someday I visit Salzburg again

it's a good place to stay if you are in a low budget trip
just keep in mind it is a hostel, not a hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TacianaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#44 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
1.1 mi away
JUFA Hotel Salzburg City
JUFA Hotel Salzburg City
#2 of 37 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoho International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoho International Youth Hostel

Property: Yoho International Youth Hostel
Address: Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Yoho International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoho International Youth Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing