We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value and location, good bar/hang out facilities, regular screenings of the Sound of Music!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yoho International Youth Hostel
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights here in a 6 bedded room and found the stay to be quite enjoyable. Our room was spacious and fresh feeling with very cute decore. The location is not bad, as Salzburg is a very walkable city. The free map gave great hints and routes for touristy things and cheap good eats. Staff were overall friendly and relatively helpful, the breakfast was good value for money and the regular screenings of the Sound of Music was amazing haha!
Only issue was lack of wifi in rooms and some minor road noise if the windows were left open.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linds_cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 677 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

stayed here from on on 9th & 10th May nights. We got the 6 bedder female room. Pretty ok I must say. However, with the wooden floors u gotta bear with the slight 'tremors' when your room-mates are moving around the room. However, I must say that the hostel was pretty clean, the bed was comfortable. and they provide lockers for everyone in the room and it can be locked with the card to enter the room.
Toilets were clean also. I was a little uncomfortable with the toilets that were for both males & females.
The hostel has a cafe/bar and serves food. Breakfast is buffet style for 3.50 euros per pax. and dinner they have a menu. u can check it out. and there is screening of 'Sound of Music' every evening at 7pm! So u can eat and watch the movie at the same time.

person at the counter was ok, she did point out the places for us to visit in Salzburg.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gin_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 4 nights, and in general it was fine. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and provided a city may and info sheets on nearby towns on request. They can also book tours for you.

The 6 bed dorm I stayed in had a comfy bed, but it was quite cramped. There were lockers, but mine was a fair way off the ground which wasn't easy with my massive rucksack, in terms of putting it in there and getting stuff out. The room, the shared toilets and the shared showers were clean.

The location of the hostel is pretty good; it's about 10 mins walk from the station and 10-15 from the old town.

For breakfast there is a buffet for €3.50, maybe a little pricey? Personally I didn't eat enough to justify spending that much, but I guess it depends on the person. The hostel also has an evening menu which was good value in comparison with other local restaurants.

The hostel also has a laundry room and a kitchen, and it shows the 'sound of music' every evening!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My mum and I stayed here in the Summer of 2012 for one night only as we were just passing through the city. We arrived in Salzburg by train and walked to the hostel. The website gives great directions (and other very useful info) but don't believe the part that says that it takes a couple of minutes to get there. It was more like 15 mins.
The staff at the hotel were great. Very hardworking and helpful.
We had a double room with ensuite and balcony. The room itself was very modern, clean and quite a decent size. The balcony was lovely during the day time and provided lovely views. Different story at night though. It was a hot night and we had to leave the window/balcony door open to cool the room down a bit. There were no fans or air conditioning in the room. The room was at the front of the hostel and overlooked the entrance to the hostel. There didn't seem to be a curfew of any sorts and there were people congregating outside near the entrance smoking, talking and carrying on into the early hours of the morning. The noise and the smoke made it very hard to get a good night's sleep. The free wifi in the room though was great. We also made use of the laundry in the basement. We washed and dried some clothes for about 2 Euro a load.
The Old Town is easily walkable from the hostel. If you are not up to walking there is a bus that runs along the same street as the hostel that will take you to the other side of the river.
We would definitely stay at the Yoho again however would stay in a different room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebe374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The place it s not so central but the hostel it s really big and the room comfortable with lockers and every guest has its own key for its own locker. The staff it s really nice. The hostel it s not so cheap but offers many services as restaurant inside the hostel bar...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara-gossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I really enjoyed this hostel. I loved the spacious dorms with beautiful big comfy wooden bunks and lockers that will fit your entire backpack. They have a good keycard system where the card opens both the door and the locker. Bathrooms and toilets were very clean, at night you might have to make your way through groups of TopDeckers using the WIFI in the hallway to get there though. WIFI was free, great! Cheap meals in the restaurant in the evening. You can order a meal and watch The Sound of Music at the same time :-) Breakfast is 3.50 euros, slightly overpriced, but ok. Location of the hostel is very close to Mirabell gardens, in walking distance to the old town center. Staff seemed a bit rude at first, but get friendlier after a while. When we arrived at the hostel the guy at reception just stared at us, saying nothing, shrugging with a 'what do you want' attitude, but after a while he became friendlier.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marem81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Beautiful room that sleeps 6 women. Very tastefully done up and super clean bathrooms. Of the 8 hostels I stayed in 8 cities during my trip in 2011, this hostel by far was the best. Location was pretty close to all the important places in salzburg, and you can walk to mirabell gardens from here. The tour companies that do Sound of music tours had their booths and buses pretty close to the hostel. Pick up a map at the front desk and you can hit almost all the important sites on foot from this hostel

Room Tip: Not sure how other rooms look, but I stayed in a 6 female dorm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamatha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoho International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoho International Youth Hostel

Address: Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Salzburg
Price Range: $28 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Yoho International Youth Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing